We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty towers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Booked an executive room at this hotel with jacuzzi in room. The tv packed in, the light in the bathroom stoped working and the toilet water kept running all nite!! As we had our 6 month old with us at half 2 in the morning i decided enough was enough! Got moved rooms and to be honest the niteshift reception staff couldnt be more helpful . In the morning i went back to reception and they offered me £30 off my bill and 2 cooked breakfasts but as id paid £85 there was no way i was accepting that. And again i cant fault the manager who refunded me the whole amount. Maybe i was unlucky but certainly wouldnt stay here again!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k44ldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2010

We arrvied very late without a reservation, the lady on the front desk was freindly and helpful even given the late hour. We were given a room upgrade which was a pleasant bonus. The room itself was as expected comfy bed, clean, ensuite bathroom etc. Just wht we needed right beside the motorway and on a long journey south.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassiepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

I stayed here due to me working very close by, it was one of the cheapest i could find on a net search. I called the hotel to book a room & was given an even CHEAPER rate for contractors! The room was very clean, spacious bathroom, plenty of towels & WARM! The tv has basic channels, i believe they are upgrading the system to include digital? I picked up a wifi connection no problem (without paying), the only downside really is part of its upside too, the upside other than the cost is that it is right on the motorway on a service area, excellent access & convenience, the downside is that there is absolutely zero to occupy you at the night time due to it being a motorway service area & the food available consists of a Burger King & KFC. I would stop here again for short stop overs, it has to be great for tourists travelling further north into the glens & Galsgow/ Edinburgh. I was informed by my bosses that i had to be here for a 20 day stint so i found a local pub in Gretna that does b&b & moved there, soley due to the amount of time i was staying in the area & the variety of options open to me regarding food & things to do. Would i recommend the Days Inn?,,, for very short stays yes most definately, the only reasn i say for short stays is because of the lack of options you have once your on the services, if it was in the town i would of stayed here very happily for all of my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discoveryv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Stayed for two nights to attend a wedding. The rooms are very similar to Travel Inn but not quite as good. They basically could do with decorating and updating, and the bathrooms replaced. Bathroom out dated and limescale in between tiles. Shower very powerful but if you are over 5ft 4" its a struggle!
Please be aware that the hotel is on motorway services and has no cafe or restaurant. You have to walk over to the shops for breakfast which is only a minutes walk but when its raining its a pain! You can get 10% vouchers for breakfast which was ok but by the time you had paid, got you knives and forks etc had started to go cold.
Basically if you are staying over while travelling or on a budget as we were its ok but basic. If you are looking for a hotel for a special occaision such as an anniversay or special birthday then look somewhere else. Other guests stayed at The Gables hotel and that is where the wedding reception was and where we had our evening meal. The food there was lovely and so was the hotel but talking to other guests a lot said the beds were unbelievably hard!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsh2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Paid just under £40 for a family room on a weekend night. Big clean room, plenty of bedding. Staff friendly, microwave in reception for baby's milk and plenty of tea and coffee in the room. Quiet night's sleep, good shower in the morning and on our way feeling refreshed. Also turns out that you can have pets in your room for no extra charge - we left the dogs at home this time but useful to know for the next trip. We usually avoid travel-lodge places like the plague but this was a great find and we will definitely use Days Inn in Gretna again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The staff is wonderful here. We spent almost a week here and the rooms were very clean, we had a fridge and micro in the room. We had a problem with the alarm clock not working, called the front desk and it was replaced right away. We travel from Ny to Atlantic City quite a bit and will return to this hotel again...

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindybear25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 23 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.7 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.7 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
202 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
0.9 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gretna
926 reviews
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Gretna Green M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: £39 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Days Inn Gretna Green M74 Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing