We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Blyth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding!”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate my mother-in-law's wedding at the end of November and everything about the say was perfect. The hotel staff were friendly, polite and helpful and the Thistle Suite was superb - complete with it's own christmas tree on the balcony! The a-la-carte menu in the restaurant was of an extremely high standard and breakfast was fresh and plentiful. The wedding day itself went without a hitch - the wedding planners did a fantastic job. Bar staff throughout the wedding reception were polite and worked hard all night!

The standard rooms were also of a good standard and the reception / bar area in the hotel were clean and comfortable. All-in-all I enjoyed a lovely two night stay at the hotel and I would have no hesitation in recommending to future wedding parties!

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room on the front of the hotel - more spacious with less noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDCOOper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
SDCOOper-11, Really pleasing to read that your stay went so well and that you enjoyed the hotel and my staff. the Thistle suite is a very popular room and i am delighted that it suited your needs so well. The restaurant is recieving great reviews of late for both service and food quality, you clearly enjoy the finer things in life. Take care and best regards, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    285
    159
    71
    37
See reviews for
324
638
13
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stay here on business occasionally and I'm always left feeling slightly disappointed. The rooms are large, comfortable and contemporary. Service however is only adequate. Buffet breakfast is first class but dinner is a bit of a let down. I wouldn't choose to stay here for a personal break.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Micheal, Dissapointing that you didnt enjoy dinner, sorry about that. We spend a lot of time trying to ensure our menus please everyone, from simple sandwiches to high end a la carte. The menus are scheduled to change in the next two weeks (lounge and room service) with A La Carte end jan - please do let me know if there is anything in particular you would like to see, or indeed contact my Head Chef directly at the hotel, Stephen Myers (stephen.myers@gretnagreen.com) All the best, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed there a couple of weeks ago, and despite the initial hiccup of giving us a room that had not been made ready (solved immediately by giving us another room it was lovely. We ate in the bar that night and that was not so good. The salad was salty (unwashed?) and the pizza was a frozen one rather than ready made. We did have a chat with the waiter, but he didn't bother to come back to us.., well there was a wedding on. We also had a chat with Michelle the Duty Manager who also promised to get back to us. That was 17 days ago...

Room Tip: The rooms all seems to be of really high quality. Just eat out if you are not part of a wedding part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Stephwill, Maybe a little communication oversight here as Michelle, after sitting with you and hearing your comments about the salty salad (not got to the bottom of that one im afraid!) and pizza (yes, bases are frozen, we dont make our own, toppings are all fresh though!) mistakenly thought that the matter was dealt with. Extended apologies if you were awaiting further contact. That aside, glad you enjoyed the room. Regards, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed here I expectantly one night, hotel was lovely. Very modern. Large bar area good to sit and watch the various weddings coming & going. Food served in bar area was lovely. Rooms were spotless & very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pammyk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Pammyk1, Superb review, thank you so much - it means a great deal to us knowing that you left happy and that you will one day return to enjoy the hotel and my staff. All the best for now , Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed at Smiths to attend a friends wedding but unfortunately the accomodation didn't live up to expection considering the price tag. Although the wedding itself was perfect if I returned for another wedding I would definately look at other hotels in the area. Obviously Smiths have captured the market for weddings in Gretna but a little more attention to detail to the accomodation wouldn't go amiss.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Rebeccasally, sorry you felt a little dissapointed by your room not being upto expectation. Generally our feedback is positive in relation to room size and provision and cleanliness, but i always appreciate good honest feedback like yours. After now being open for 6 years i am refurbishing all the bedrooms (except suites) with new beds , decor, lighting, art etc. I am sure on your return you will approve. Best regards,Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed there for a night to break up a trip. Very classy hotel. Bar area is amazing and staff attentive. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is a hearty affair and did us well as the next time we ate was at 4 in the afternoon. ! All in all a very pleasant experience

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggers-bounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thankyou Tiggers-bounce for your great comments, so glad you enjoyed the hotel and our hospitality. Best regards, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
232 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

A great building with well designed and comfortable bedrooms but no attention to detail. Tissue box was empty and when I asked for hair conditioner they couldn't supply it. And for a hotel that is a wedding venue the absence of ironing facilities is unbelievable. Food is good though dinner is in a different league than breakfast. This hotel could do a whole lot better with a bit of attention to detail.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theologyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Theologyprof, thankyou for the post, it has been very useful. We do of course have irons and boards aplently in the hotel so am somewhat surprised why you couldnt be provided with one, very strange, apologies all the same. The provisions box we hold at reception has now been fully restocked with anything and everything that a guest has either forgotten or run out of - it had to be honest been heavily utilised and wasnt as it should have been. Glad that you did enjoy the hotel and i look forward to your return. Best regards, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
143 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing