We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Wedding packages but not so for special events”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for Wedding packages but not so for special events”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

First it must be stated that this hotel caters for weddings at the nearly Blacksmiths Shop, and they do this brilliantly. It is a slick, well run enterprise that I would recommend to anyone. The price reflects the type of venue and short term wedding guests it caters for. They also lay on a number of events over the duration of the year, one of them being a New Years Eve event advertised as a Gala dinner. I am afraid to say this year, they missed the mark by a long way on this even, laying on a buffet and uncoordinated entertainment during the essential midnight hour. We have been here on numerous occasions and whilst the hotel is of a high standard, the events are below par and not of the high standard they offer from the wedding side. The rooms are very clean and of a constant high standard. Housekeeping is always obliging for the little extras that you may need. If you are thinking of getting married in Gretna and staying at Smiths, I would have no hesitation in recommending you, but for anything else, I would think twice. The restaurant at Smiths is OK, but after a period of time, you will have ran out of choices.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the hotel as A74 runs at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolleygirlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for your comments really appreciate honest feedback like this. The special events i have put on (tributes etc) i did with the intention of encouraging the local residents to come into the hotel and enjoy an entertaining night with a 3 course meal at a low cost (£20 per ticket) - I appreciate the high expectation level here at Smiths and am proud of our high standards, unfortunately at this price it is difficult to reach the high food standards (in terms of dish choice)you would normally get in our A La Carte Restaurant, especially as we are serving 200 guests simutaneously. These events have proved extremely popular with fantastic feedback, but i am further aware that they are not everyones cup of tea. Thanks again, a real talking point this has been in my managers meeting. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    298
    164
    72
    41
See reviews for
345
666
13
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

A fantastic re-visit for our first wedding anniversary. We were very impressed that the reception staff were aware that it was our anniversary and we were even more impressed that we were given a free upgrade. It was lovely to remember our wedding day - which was also a fantastic day made all the more special by the staff at Smiths. For anyone thinking of booking Smiths for their wedding they are first class and the hotel is modern and contemporary.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Cal P - great to have had you back for your first anniversary, one of many re-visits to us i hope. see you again soon, regards, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Just back from this great hotel, staff where friendly, our room had its own fireplace which was a nice touch ,the shower was the best i have ever used in a hotel. Will be back next month and am looking forward to another great stay

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmb61260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Great comments, thank you for taking the time to post feedback, it is much appreciated. Best regards, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

First impressions were mixed - a great welcome from the receptionist was followed by a trip in the lift which had a torn, tatty looking safety notice taped to the wall.
My bedroom was fantastic, with its own fireplace. The bathroom was immaculately clean, and the shower was one of the best I have ever experienced.
Dinner was imaginitive, well-presented, and served by friendly and enthusiastic staff. I loved the warm bread served in a flower-pot which came with an array of condiments.
For a hotel that emphasises its food provenance and quality of meat, breakfast was hugely disappointing. We arrived at 10am (breakfast finished at 10.30) and several of the empty tables were cluttered with dirty plates. The sausages were of the poorest quality imaginable, and both my partner and I were unable to eat these.
The star of the show at the hotel was the bartender, Barry, whose service was superb, had great cocktail making skills, and really went the extra mile to provide customers with a great experience.
All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VioletViola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Violetviola, Thanks for the review, glad your stay was a good one, dispite your initial first mixed feelings. We are awaiting a sign for the lift that is indeed more aesthetically pleasing, unfortunately we had to put the one you mention up in haste as we have had a few instances of late where 8/10 people have been trying to cram themselves into the lift with predictable results. I will look into the sausages n the days you where here - not a complaint i recall having before. Thanks also for highlighting Barry for his great service, i will most certainly pass on your comments to him. Thanks again, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate my mother-in-law's wedding at the end of November and everything about the say was perfect. The hotel staff were friendly, polite and helpful and the Thistle Suite was superb - complete with it's own christmas tree on the balcony! The a-la-carte menu in the restaurant was of an extremely high standard and breakfast was fresh and plentiful. The wedding day itself went without a hitch - the wedding planners did a fantastic job. Bar staff throughout the wedding reception were polite and worked hard all night!

The standard rooms were also of a good standard and the reception / bar area in the hotel were clean and comfortable. All-in-all I enjoyed a lovely two night stay at the hotel and I would have no hesitation in recommending to future wedding parties!

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room on the front of the hotel - more spacious with less noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDCOOper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
SDCOOper-11, Really pleasing to read that your stay went so well and that you enjoyed the hotel and my staff. the Thistle suite is a very popular room and i am delighted that it suited your needs so well. The restaurant is recieving great reviews of late for both service and food quality, you clearly enjoy the finer things in life. Take care and best regards, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stay here on business occasionally and I'm always left feeling slightly disappointed. The rooms are large, comfortable and contemporary. Service however is only adequate. Buffet breakfast is first class but dinner is a bit of a let down. I wouldn't choose to stay here for a personal break.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Micheal, Dissapointing that you didnt enjoy dinner, sorry about that. We spend a lot of time trying to ensure our menus please everyone, from simple sandwiches to high end a la carte. The menus are scheduled to change in the next two weeks (lounge and room service) with A La Carte end jan - please do let me know if there is anything in particular you would like to see, or indeed contact my Head Chef directly at the hotel, Stephen Myers (stephen.myers@gretnagreen.com) All the best, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed there a couple of weeks ago, and despite the initial hiccup of giving us a room that had not been made ready (solved immediately by giving us another room it was lovely. We ate in the bar that night and that was not so good. The salad was salty (unwashed?) and the pizza was a frozen one rather than ready made. We did have a chat with the waiter, but he didn't bother to come back to us.., well there was a wedding on. We also had a chat with Michelle the Duty Manager who also promised to get back to us. That was 17 days ago...

Room Tip: The rooms all seems to be of really high quality. Just eat out if you are not part of a wedding part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Stephwill, Maybe a little communication oversight here as Michelle, after sitting with you and hearing your comments about the salty salad (not got to the bottom of that one im afraid!) and pizza (yes, bases are frozen, we dont make our own, toppings are all fresh though!) mistakenly thought that the matter was dealt with. Extended apologies if you were awaiting further contact. That aside, glad you enjoyed the room. Regards, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
923 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
388 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing