We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Taster Menu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here on the 6th of May to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had a really good time . We had the taster menu which costs £50 per head but is well worth it in my option as is was superbly cooked and presented with recommended wines. The room was great being large, clean and well decorated.
I had two niggles in the form of a delaminating bathroom and the hot breakfast items being rather on the cold side.
Other than that it was spot on and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Cheers Frank , great review. The taster menu is superb , i agree. The best meal i've had here (and i've had a fair few!!) was one of the taster menus. Look forward to seeing you back again, regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

We were staying at Smiths on Friday 14th June 2013 for our daughters wedding.
We had previously requested an early check in as the wedding was being held at the Anvil Hall at 3.00pm with the reception at the hotel after that. On arriving at the hotel at 12.15pm, we were told our room would be ready in about 10 minutes, so we decided to have a drink in the bar while we waited. We went back to the reception after about 20 minutes to see if our room was ready, we were told it would not be ready for another half hour so we returned to sit in the lounge and wait, we also met up with other family members who had arrived and had got the keys to their rooms. We returned to the reception and were told our room still wasn't ready and it would be about another half hour. I explained to the receptionist that we were the brides parents and that my wife was getting quite stressed as the time for the wedding was getting closer. The receptionist abruptly stated that normal check in was at 3 o clock and that the early check in was just a request. We returned to the reception after another half hour to see if our room was ready, the receptionist tried to phone housekeeping, who weren't answering the call, so she went upstairs to check if the room was ready. After about 15 minutes she came back down and told us it would be another half an hour. only 1 hour to go to the wedding and still no sign of a room to get showered and changed. By this time my wife was in a real panic and really upset. I asked to see the manager who came and seen us and I told her the information we were getting from the reception was totally disgusting and unprofessional. Telling guests their room would be ready on numerous occasions and then letting them down was like a scene from Faulty Towers. The manager was more professional and understanding and let us use a another room to get ready in while our was being prepared.
The wedding reception and the evening function went very smoothly and professionally.
I feel that the reception staff at Smiths let the hotel down badly, with their less than caring attitude and the inability to relieve a problem which took the manager less than 5 minutes to do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thanks for the review Alan, appreciate it. I understand your frustrations in not getting into your room as early as you wanted. Unfortunately however we simply cannot guarantee early check in ever for the very reasoon you describe, we would simply be offering false promises. Our check out is not actually until 11am and like everyone wanting to get in early, nobody wants to leave on time either!!, We get so many early check in requests and do actual manage most as you can read via other reviews, but unfortunately we cant manage them all, its impossible and the rooms just wouldnt be to standard if rushed,causing far bigger cleanliness complaints, which is simply unacceptable. I would always advise to check in the day before the wedding, not necessarily to coax more spend out of people but simply to ensure that you are in a room when you need to be in it, especially if the actual wedding is on or before check in time, it just makes sense. Whereas i again can understand your feelings in relation to the reception staff, it really isnt their fault, but as with most hotels are the easy targets for frustration as they front the check in - i can guarantee that they were pushing for your room to be completed (along with many others probably) and didnt actually mean to mislead you in any way in relation to when your room would actually be ready, im sure they were being as honest and optimistic as appropriate. I do note that you did get into your room 1 hour before check in time, which is pleasing. Im sure this didnt actually spoil your stay, but like i said, I understand your frustrations. Thanks again for the comments regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We arrived in Gretna on the 14th May having booked into a different hotel. For various reasons this wasn't right so we popped over to the Smiths as we had booked our wedding through them for the following day.

Heidi, one of the wedding planners was absolutely fantastic! She got us a wonderful room, at a great price! She made us feel totally at home and relaxed after the stress we had of the previous place.

They even managed to fit my (now) wife in to the salon to get ready for the wedding, all at the last minute!

The food in the bar/restaurant is wonderful and the staff could not do enough to make sure everything was OK.

We had friends come to meet us and Heidi also sorted a room for them at a great rate and the continental breakfast which is included was super!

We returned to the Smiths a fortnight later for a friends wedding and the staff we met during our stay welcomed us back and took the time to speak to us and make sure everything went to plan for them (which was nice as I'd recommended the place to them)!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thanks for the post Carl , greta feedback on all aspects. I will ensure that Heidi is aware of your comments, thanks again, regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed for just one night on our journey north to island hop in the Outer Herbides . Hotel seemed clean and tidy, with a nice bedroom. Had drinks and a nice meal in the bar, followed by a very nice breakfast the following morning. Based on the overall standards and prices throughout our entire holiday, I believe this hotel represented good value for money. Would definitely stay again if travelling through this area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thanks for your review Cheryl. We'd love to have you back with us next time you are travelling through. All the best, Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Myself and my now husband arrived here on 7th June for 2nights stay in the new Bensmoor suites. on arrival we found the reception staff to be very helpful. Arriving at our room we were amazed by what we found, such a large open plan area with a huge bed, great bathroom and even a kitchen area. the room was very clean no faults at all. My now in laws were staying in a 2bedroom Bensmoor suite which again was faultless 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, huge living area and kitchen. We ate in the hotel on Friday in the lounge bar and was not left short of choices. The food was very good and the strawberry daiquires were extra nice!! We found the staff polite and friendly. We got married on Saturday at the blacksmiths and this was amazing. Everyone involved from Carly our wedding planner to the registrar and the photographer were fantastic. The food and drinks served for our reception was again great. We are so glad we picked this place for our special day. We will definitely be returning for our 1st anniversary if not before. Thanks to all for special wedding day.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryanraw1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Great stuff Ryanraw, its so good to get some feedback in relation to the new Bensmoor Suites - they are proving very popular now theyre up and running. Look forward to you rerturning next year, i'd recommend booking early though! all the very best for married life, best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Came here to celebrate a friends wedding and such a dissapointment after what appears to be a really nice place outside.

The first room was dirty. Family room with a bad smelling toilet, hairs in the bath and sink and what appeared to be toothpaste splashes everywhere. Dirty cups, dust everywhere, and snot on the children's bunk bed.

After complaining we were 'upgraded' to a better room and told that there was no excuse for the room to be the way it was.

The next room was no better. Bathroom glasses with old toothpaste in the bottom and mould, bathroom sink was full of hair and the vanity unit top looked like it hasn't been cleaned for a week. Dusty tops, dirty windows, dirty carpet, chunks missing form doors and architrave. I could go on.

We decided to leave the hotel and go elsewhere, not so much as a sorry from receptionist when we left. The whole building inside, once past reception, is tired. In need of a refurb in my opinion. If it was £40 per night I would be disappointed never mind the £175 charged. Ive stayed in London 5 star hotels for the same money, which make this place look like a walk in centre. Seaham hall is similar money to this and is in a different league. It's a machine for making money and taking advantage of the wedding area next it.

Think twice before booking here. Days inn up the road is spotlessly clean and less than half the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMCVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

This review is complete rubbish folks im afraid. The facts in relation to this booking are that this guy made a mistake on a third party agent website thinking he was paying £55 a night whereas actually the rate was as described £175 for that night. Clearly not wanting to now pay this and instead of just saying he'd made an error when booking he decided to say our rooms were filthy, thus his excuse not to stay, really quite embarrasing all told. If only he'd just said a mistake was made and didnt particularly want to spend that much, we'd absolutely understand no problems or issues, even finding or suggesting an alternative, £175 is a lot for a hotel room, i know this, but to fabricate some nonsense in order not to stay, well......what can you do?. Im sure you can all gauge the standards and great experiences guests have here at Smiths simply by reading the reviews. Im somewhat surprised that this guy posted a review to be honest. Anyone concerned by reading this review, do give me a call directly, appreciate there are plenty of you booked in with us already and then to read this, could be a little unsettling. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My partner (now husband) and I stayed at Smith's on the 24th and 25th May this year. We booked the penthouse suite package and married on the 25th. I couldn't have imagined a more perfect day and I should know, this was my 3rd (and definitely last) marriage!
3 of our very closest friends were with us for the beautiful religious ceremony, conducted on the balcony in the glorious sunshine.
I had my hair, nails and makeup done in Spoilt, the spa within Smith's. The ladies that pampered me were busy but professional and skilled in their craft.
The food, drink and service were excellent. Although the hotel is a popular wedding venue, my husband and I felt like the only couple tying the knot.
I thoroughly recommend Smith's!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathyem40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thanks CathyEm, so glad everything went so well for you, everyone here will be thrilled to hear your feedback. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#1 of 5 in Gretna
496 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gretna
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: £73 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing