We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$77
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunters Lodge Hotel(Gretna)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$129
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graham Arms Hotel(Longtown)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Gretna Hall(Gretna Green)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,537)
Filter reviews
1,537 results
Traveller rating
907
325
180
81
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
907
325
180
81
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthouserose suitewedding packagebar menubalcony roomwedding partieswedding receptionlovely hotelbeauty salonfamily roomwedding nightreception staffanvil hallthe cottagesa la carte menuwedding breakfastamazing wedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,104 - 1,109 of 1,537 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Had a night here before some friends got married over the anvil, nice hotel, large rooms, quite minimalist, not very busy when we were there. Staff attentive and friendly, food was too greasy for me and a bit overcooked, but they make a magnificent Pim's. I wouldn't say it was luxurious like another reviewer but all in all it was good and does what it says on the tin, worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyjazzylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thanks for the review LucyJazzyLegs (im sure theres a story tied into that name somewhere hey!!). Glad you enjoyed the stay. do come back again soon. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We have just returned from a wedding at Gretna Green, and we stayed at the Smiths hotel just opposite the Blacksmiths where people get married. Thehotel was first class , the staff on the desk , behind the bar and restaurant were so helpful and charming. We were a small wedding party , but we're given all the attention as if we had been a large group.
We had the reception in a small intimate room , and the food was fabulous ! The breakfasts were to die for !! Will stay again here on our way up to Scotland again as its just off the motorway .

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and compfortabe , maybe the rooms at the front of the hotel , as the back one we had , you could hear the hum of the motorway , but it wasn't that bad .
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValandBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Val & Bri, thanks for the positive review, really appreciate it. Please do stop in when passing en route back to Scotlans, be good to have you back. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Luxurious hotel with professional and excellent service on all levels. Beds are comfortable, with crisp clean linen, modern hotel with clean lines, but with a warm and welcoming touch. Stayed here with work and the conference facilities are very good. Evening meal was delicious and also a nice choice of drinks. Very relaxed atmosphere with big comfy chairs and sofas. Large car park. Beauty spa for any pampering you require and only a stones throw from the marriage location. Breakfast is a self serve buffet. Have enjoyed both occasions that I was lucky enough to stay here.

Room Tip: suites are extra special if you can afford them, but all rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshlady72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Welshlady, great review. Diolch yn fawr. Hopefully we will see you for a third time soon. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Made a booking with smiths for our wedding. Upon arrivel the hotel was beautiful we thought we had made the best choice. Checked in on time. Didnt get offered our free cocktails we had to ask. We didnt get to meet the wedding co-ordinator (apparently you have to ask to see them). We had a walk over to gretna green to find out ourselves where we would be getting married.
Room was tidy and nice flowers, music. Very romantic! However this was a family room and i had no where to keep my sons milk had to keep it in cold water in our champagne bucket.
On our wedding morning my son 1 year old whos diabetic woke up unwell i rang house keeping for a yoghurt or cereal 30mins before breakfast was due to start. The answer i got was 'sorry no the chefs not started yet??????' When taking this up with smiths they told me i should of come with snacks for my childs illness!! Where was i ment to keep them?? Yes i had emergency supplies good job eh??
When i was due to go down for wedding hair andmake up i asked if they were any chance i could get a dressing gown so i didnt spoil it i was told 'theres none clean' that was that!
However the girls in the salon were amazing,very impressed with my hair and makeup. Lovely personalitys very chatty!!
The hotel itself was lovely, the bar staff were great. Maria made best friends with my sons.
The wedding night we were giving private dining which was lovely and we were very grateful for. Food and drink were fab!
After writing to smiths to explain we wernt happy the letter which we recieved back basically said everything i told them was acceptable and sorry i had a bad experience!! :/

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 888stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post your views Stephanie. As always it is appreciated and your comments have been discussed in detail and responded to accordingly. It is all too easy on these sites to get defensive, start rattling off "our side", disagreeing with yours etc etc, but there really is no point, you have left a little dissapointed with certain aspects and whether i concur or not with your points is wholly irrelevant, you were not 100% happy and im genuinely sorry for that. We are in hospitality and ensuring guests are happy is our priority. I do hope that you will return one day. Best Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Although we only stayed one night we were very satisfied with our experience.Our bedroom which overlooked the front of the hotel was spacious,well appointed and contained everything required to make our stay comfortable.Special mention must be made of the bed which was exceptionally comfortable.Breakfast was A1,the selection being very extensive and good quality.Our evening meal was also satisfactory and decent value for money BUT please put the seafood platter back on the menu!!
We have used this hotel in the past primarily for evening meal purposes but will undoubtedly use the accommodation in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewencrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Thank you for the review Ewen, great to read that you enjoyed the room as much as the food. With notice chef will prepare you a seafood platter, no problem, just give us a call and ask to be put through to Stephen or Phil in the kitchens. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews