We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$77
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunters Lodge Hotel(Gretna)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$129
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graham Arms Hotel(Longtown)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Gretna Hall(Gretna Green)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,537)
Filter reviews
1,537 results
Traveller rating
907
325
180
81
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
907
325
180
81
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthouserose suitewedding packagebar menubalcony roomwedding partieswedding receptionlovely hotelbeauty salonfamily roomwedding nightreception staffanvil hallthe cottagesa la carte menuwedding breakfastamazing wedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,028 - 1,033 of 1,537 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Rooms were tired , look good on pic but not for what your paying , we went with a wedding party , was told we was paying a special rate , when we got there they said we had only our word for it and made us pay full wack not good for every one in the same party to pay a different price for same standard of room , would I stay there again ... No

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Emma. The truth behind this is we do offer special rates for block wedding bookings , yes of course. There was a reduced rate set for the party you attended which was readily available to you for a sufficient amount of time, however you chose to book via a different channel paying best available rate at that time. To then turn up at the hotel and expect the difference to be refunded is ridiculous and then to describe us as tired and extortinate because we didnt refund this difference is unfair .What a shame, as the party had such a good time at the hotel. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Large error on our final account- £404 but rectified when pointed out
Some items in lounge looking a little tired but a lovely hotel
Staff all very pleasant Our evening party was very well served
Family room very well laid out

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avrilmccrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thanks for your pleasant comments avrilcrum, appreciate them enormously. Sorry about that posting error to your room - that would've been a big ole' bar bill wouldnt it. Do come back and see us again. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We arrived on Thursday 3rd October & stayed in the new self catering cottages that are located next to the famous black smith shop where we got married on the Friday.
When we checked in we were very impressed with the hotel & our cottage. Everything has been decorated to the highest standard & the hidden kitchen area is a brilliant idea.
However we had a few problems with our stay, that I must admit were rectified straight away. There was no telephone list in the room so we had to ring the main hotel number (which took forever) to find out the extension, which was a good job as it felt like we rang them a lot! Our door lock had broken just after we got married so couldn't get back into our room until it was fixed. There seemed to be an ants nest under the bathroom that we disturbed when having a bath/shower. The first time there were only a few. The second time however they were everywhere, flying ants as well. We contacted reception who came over immediately. The first time I believe they just cleaned them away as there was no sign of any powder etc. The second time they said we could switch rooms (luckily the next door cottage was available). This was our last night in the hotel so we didn't mind moving & quite fancied checking out the other cottages since ours was so nice. The one thing I did notice in there was the dressing gowns & slippers which must have been forgotten in our original room.
All in all we had a lovely wedding & enjoyed every minute! The staff were so helpful & gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne to apologise for the slight glitches! I would definitely recommend this hotel & type of wedding!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B-raggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thanks B-Ragget for the review, so glad that everything went so well and that you enjoyed the cottages. Those flying ants a mystery hey?, we told off the gardener for disturbing them whilst cutting the hedge LOL. Anyway, all the best to you during this exciting time as newleyweds. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We got married 23rd Sept 2006 and stayed at Smiths in the Penthouse for 2 nights, we had a fantastic time then and we go back at least once a year round our anniversary and Smiths never fails to make our stay welcoming and relaxing. Staff are friendly and professional, food was fantastic, rooms are spacious, beds comfortable and very big! What else do you need. Thank you Smiths for yet again another great stay we will be back was nice to see Michelle and Sharon again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laineyp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks Lainey, good to have you back again. The two characters you mention Miichelle and Sharon spoke so warmly of you after you departed and were delighted to have been able to catch up. Until your next visit, all the best Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My partner and I got married at Gretna Green and stayed at this hotel afterwards. It was amazing. We booked a table for 6 people in the main restaurant and we were given a personal booth which was like our own private room. The staff allowed us to dress the table and decorate our personal space which ment a lot to us. It was like having our own private wedding reception. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. Our room was comfortable roomy and very clean. We loved every minute of our stay here and are planning to return for an overnight stay and take in some sight seeing. Thank you Smiths hotel for adding to our beautiful memories.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

many thanks for the positive review sarah. Those little acloves are superb arent they, im actually just about to order some voiles for them which will ggive an even more private feel. Congratulations to you and all the best with married life. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews