We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place,excellent food ,great service would highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place,excellent food ,great service would highly recommend”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic wedding the venue was great the staff fantastic and couldn't be anymore attentive , our party had 25 and the food was superb commented on by all . Everybody thoughly enjoyed themselves and Much thanks to all the management on our special day. p crossland

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Cheers Madnev, great review. good to hear that all 25 of you had a good time and enjoyed our food and staff. All the very best to you, regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    831
    298
    164
    72
    41
See reviews for
345
665
13
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here the day/night that my dad was married in August.

We were told our rooms would be ready for 1pm, which we thought would give us plenty of time to get ready for the wedding at 3pm. So we arrived a little earlier and spent some time with the family in the bar area. At 1pm we were told our room, and also my sisters room (who had arrived shortly after us with her OH), were not ready and to check back with reception in about 20 mins.

At 1.30 we were told the rooms would not be ready until 2pm - giving us only 1 hour to get ready and get over to the Blacksmiths shop for the wedding! Needless to say we weren't happy, but what can you do???!!!

It was gone 2pm when we got in the rooms & we didn't have enough time to get ready properly.

The wedding breakfast meal was amazing - the sticky toffee pudding was to die for!

Our room itself was lovely & had a fire in the corner - ideal for those wintery Scottish nights, although luckily we didn't need it during our stay.

We paid £100 per night as we had a special deal as part of the wedding party. Breakfast was great - lots of choice!

Lovely hotel & ideally located for a post-wedding night for guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amiee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Amiee, many thanks for the post, appreciate it. Sorry we couldnt get you in any earlier, we do try our best, but its just not always possible im afraid. Glad to hear that everything else went so well and i do hope you'll be back to see us again some time soon. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Thanks for making our day soo special. From the moment that we booked it over the phone, our wedding co ordinater Sophie has been great answering any questions we had and my husband had lots ha ha. Nothing was too much trouble the rooms were great and the food on the day was brilliant.

There was two other wedding parties on the same day, however you would have never known the service was professional, quick and no one was waiting around anything on the day. Thanks you so much Carly for all your help on the day you were great and an asset to the hotel. If you are thinking about getting married in Gretna Green, then look no further than Smiths you will have a great day just like we did

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great, however if you can stretch to a suite you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thanks for the review Jacqui and for choosing us to host your wedding. It is always so pleasant to have staff members singled out for exceptional service delivery as you have done with sophie and Carly, so thanks for this also, they'll be delighted with the mention. All the very best for now, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Rooms were tired , look good on pic but not for what your paying , we went with a wedding party , was told we was paying a special rate , when we got there they said we had only our word for it and made us pay full wack not good for every one in the same party to pay a different price for same standard of room , would I stay there again ... No

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Emma. The truth behind this is we do offer special rates for block wedding bookings , yes of course. There was a reduced rate set for the party you attended which was readily available to you for a sufficient amount of time, however you chose to book via a different channel paying best available rate at that time. To then turn up at the hotel and expect the difference to be refunded is ridiculous and then to describe us as tired and extortinate because we didnt refund this difference is unfair .What a shame, as the party had such a good time at the hotel. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Large error on our final account- £404 but rectified when pointed out
Some items in lounge looking a little tired but a lovely hotel
Staff all very pleasant Our evening party was very well served
Family room very well laid out

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avrilmccrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thanks for your pleasant comments avrilcrum, appreciate them enormously. Sorry about that posting error to your room - that would've been a big ole' bar bill wouldnt it. Do come back and see us again. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We arrived on Thursday 3rd October & stayed in the new self catering cottages that are located next to the famous black smith shop where we got married on the Friday.
When we checked in we were very impressed with the hotel & our cottage. Everything has been decorated to the highest standard & the hidden kitchen area is a brilliant idea.
However we had a few problems with our stay, that I must admit were rectified straight away. There was no telephone list in the room so we had to ring the main hotel number (which took forever) to find out the extension, which was a good job as it felt like we rang them a lot! Our door lock had broken just after we got married so couldn't get back into our room until it was fixed. There seemed to be an ants nest under the bathroom that we disturbed when having a bath/shower. The first time there were only a few. The second time however they were everywhere, flying ants as well. We contacted reception who came over immediately. The first time I believe they just cleaned them away as there was no sign of any powder etc. The second time they said we could switch rooms (luckily the next door cottage was available). This was our last night in the hotel so we didn't mind moving & quite fancied checking out the other cottages since ours was so nice. The one thing I did notice in there was the dressing gowns & slippers which must have been forgotten in our original room.
All in all we had a lovely wedding & enjoyed every minute! The staff were so helpful & gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne to apologise for the slight glitches! I would definitely recommend this hotel & type of wedding!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B-raggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thanks B-Ragget for the review, so glad that everything went so well and that you enjoyed the cottages. Those flying ants a mystery hey?, we told off the gardener for disturbing them whilst cutting the hedge LOL. Anyway, all the best to you during this exciting time as newleyweds. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We got married 23rd Sept 2006 and stayed at Smiths in the Penthouse for 2 nights, we had a fantastic time then and we go back at least once a year round our anniversary and Smiths never fails to make our stay welcoming and relaxing. Staff are friendly and professional, food was fantastic, rooms are spacious, beds comfortable and very big! What else do you need. Thank you Smiths for yet again another great stay we will be back was nice to see Michelle and Sharon again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laineyp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thanks Lainey, good to have you back again. The two characters you mention Miichelle and Sharon spoke so warmly of you after you departed and were delighted to have been able to catch up. Until your next visit, all the best Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
923 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
388 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing