We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Have visited Smiths regularly to eat since it opened with family and friends that live close by, we've always been delighted with the food. On Saturday night we were initially interested to find a very different menu. The food was very well presented and service was excellent. Our disappointment was related to pricing £14 for two scallops, £20 for an extremely small piece of sea bass. We have eaten in many different restaurants here and abroad,enjoying quality food not looking for quantity but sadly we won't be venturing back due to the over pricing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mag191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thanks for the review Mag, appreciate your feedback reference the pricing and indeed the positives about service. The scallops do i admit seem expensive at £14, certainly for a starter and believe me ive had many discussions with the chef and team in relation to this particular dish. Now the scallops themseves really are the very very best you'll get and actually quite some size, but unfortunately they are also extremely expensive to buy in, hence the menu price. I certainly dont want to take scallops off the new menu (released in 2 weeks time) as they are so popular, but again agree, its a fair old price for a starter. I will look at reducing this dish down a little (as much as is possible). Thanks again for the feedback, Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    290
    161
    71
    41
See reviews for
333
651
13
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We chose to stay at Smiths hotel on the eve of our wedding very relaxed atmosphere & we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived,hotel very clean rooms were to die for amazing attention to detail room 44 lush!
A lovely start for our wedding and location perfect as just across the road from our wedding venue at the famous blacksmiths shop.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you Kay - good luck to you with married life. Do come back and stay with us in room 44 again soon (or a suite perhaps) . Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Dear Darren, I'll be honest, what's the point in writing this if I'm not going to be! When my fiancée and two children (5 and 7) arrived at your hotel, it was somewhat of a ropey start as it became apparent that the hotel had not had us down as a 'wedding package' so flowers, chocolates etc were missed off the welcome package. This was rather frustrating for my partner as she organised it all and she felt she'd let us down. I went down to the reception desk and although I got an apology I felt it was all said rather flippantly and they can arrange it for after the wedding "if we like", and then I was told I would see one of the 'wedding organiser staff'. Subsequently, a lady came out and took me to the bar, and after no introduction, pointed out a print out of an internal email, and I quote "we did our bit'.... you could have knocked me down with a feather! I asked her if what she just said, she deemed as acceptable? She then got who I believe was the manager of the wedding party organisers... This lady, and forgive me for not remembering her name was superb, after initially offering to refund the difference of the flowers etc..(and I hope for Smiths sake still meet there obligations) I still aired my concerns how disappointed my partner was. The lady fully appreciated this, also acknowledging responsibility, and after various offers of, and I don't like to use the word, but compensation, we agreed a room upgrade would be amicable. Well this was the turning point of our stay. We were fortunate enough to use your Bensmoor Suites, I'm sure you've been in them so you can imagine how pleased I was, not to mention my kids and future wife. Also came the champagne, chocolates and all the other 'trimmings'. We ate in the restaurant that night, and yeah, it was a touch on the pricey side, but I, sorry, we, appreciated where that extra few quid went.... the meal, the service, the surroundings... all 'A' game. The next morning, breakfast, great... yeah, it's a buffet service but I like that idea, more of what you want and less of what you don't, especially when it comes to 'picky kids'... and I'm certainly not one to turn my nose up at having to wait 2 minutes for the toast 'machine'.... which the kids found incredibly fascinating! The wedding went fantastic, thanks also to the two witnesses from your staff, and also if you could pass a thanks to the lady who took the pictures in the Blacksmiths, she was great. The meal we'd booked in the restaurant that night, I felt the staff went above and beyond the call of duty as we were, unexpectedly, shown to a private area which was the icing on the day from yourselves. Food again was excellent, I hope my compliments to the chef made it through also. All in all, I feel you should be proud of your staff for the way they handled our misfortune... I believe everyone makes errors, it's how you deal with them is what's important, and your team excelled and you should be, again, proud. Thanks, Andy

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy3736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Andy - thank you so much for this. I am sorry that there was a glitch with your arrival package - it simply didnt pull through on the system. I can fully understand how such a thing can impact a stay, especially a wedding stay and can appreciate your initial reactions. I was fully aware of events and am so pleased that we turned it round for you on such a special occasion. Andy, i thouroughly enjoyed reading this review knowing that you left happy and hope that you will come stay with us again soon at which time do pop into my office and say hello. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I wrote a review early in the year commenting not only on the pleasant accommodation, but the quality of the room service dinner. I'm sure not many people do that for hotels!
We stayed again recently and enjoyed a night in a splendidly appointed balcony room and since it was a Sunday and the full dining service downstairs was restricted, we ordered a meal in the room to see if lightning would strike in the same place twice, and it did!
The quality of the food and the quirky presentation was absolutely first class and a credit to the chef.
The staff generally were pleasant and helpful, breakfast was good and well presented.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry_Horace_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thanks for this second review hungry horace, really good stuff. im so pleased that your room service matched last time. Room service food is so difficult to consistently get right, what with it having to be cloched, arranged on a tray and then transported upstairs avoiding all sorts of obstacles and losing temperature - bit of a nightmare to be honest, but its perfect when you just want to crash in your room and watch some telly in your Pjs hey. Thanks for all of your comments, really appreciate them. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Not only is this a luxurious hotel, fantastic staff but the food is amazing - try the Venison, Cherries and White Chocolate - yep its a savoury main meal that will rock your taste buds but Dessert - a Twist on the Seaside or a B52 - Just go for the desserts if nothing else

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treasurechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Great review treasurechild, thank you so much - we are about to change the menu again for the winter - its sublime, really - best jump on a plane and get back here. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

loved this place went for our wedding anniversary room could lovely and the bed never slept as well in a hotel we will be back loved it we had cocktails on arrival newspaper to our room excellent breakfast and loads to choose from and fantastic price

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellie7175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thanks Shellie, see you back here for your next anniversary then!!. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a fabulous time - the hotel staff were so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us - I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - we had a fantastic time and stayed here for 4 nights - the food is gorgeous too

Try the mega cocktails!

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Debbie. Thank you so much for the review and for the fantastic email you sent me - what a joy it was to read and share. Do come back and see us again when back in the UK. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing