We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Just returned from smiths hotel, we went to get married in the blacksmiths shop,and had the Stay and Marry package) the whole experience from start to finish was amazing, our room (we had the Rose Suite) was superb, champagne, chocolates, flowers everything was perfect. We ate in the bar on our first night and the food was lovely and plentiful. The hotel and staff were absolutely fantastic and made our wedding stay very memorable. Thank you again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24pollyperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thanks for the post Polly, great feedback. We have just this week finished a few alterations to the Rose Suite, it is now papered all round giving it an extra cosy , luxurious feel - It seems as though you're going to have to come back and enjoy it all over again. all the best Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

970 - 976 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

TV in the room continually went off and back on again whilst watching. Ordered breakfast for the room for 6:30 per the breakfast card in the room due to an early start. Card never collected from door. When complained told they don't do it at that time - "that's just the card". Considering the above, £116 was way more than was merited by this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _davidthorburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

I agree David, it is just not good enough that you didnt get breakfast at the time you wanted and i apologise for that, no excuses., We have night porters on all throughout the night and the chef is generally on site at 6am so really no reason why we couldnt have sorted this. Im a little surprised that the card wasnt actually taken from your door to be honest as this would be the true reason that your breakfast wasnt delivered. My apologies again Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in October as part of a wedding package and 12 guests also stayed in the hotel. The rooms were lovely and spacious, the quality of furnishings throughout were very high. The food was amazing and our wedding breakfast was loved by all our guests and we also ate together the evening before and even though we could only order from the lunch menu we were more than satisfied. The bar area was lovely and the bar staff even made me a cocktail that wasn't on the menu. Finally I must give mention to the staff. From the bar staff to wedding organisers and our master of ceremonies, all were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Overall a lovely hotel and we will most certainly return for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahS1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

What a fantastic review Sarah, thank you so much. Everybody here at Smiths will be delighted to hear that your day went so well and to hear of your praise. I look forward to your return, best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Have visited Smiths regularly to eat since it opened with family and friends that live close by, we've always been delighted with the food. On Saturday night we were initially interested to find a very different menu. The food was very well presented and service was excellent. Our disappointment was related to pricing £14 for two scallops, £20 for an extremely small piece of sea bass. We have eaten in many different restaurants here and abroad,enjoying quality food not looking for quantity but sadly we won't be venturing back due to the over pricing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mag191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thanks for the review Mag, appreciate your feedback reference the pricing and indeed the positives about service. The scallops do i admit seem expensive at £14, certainly for a starter and believe me ive had many discussions with the chef and team in relation to this particular dish. Now the scallops themseves really are the very very best you'll get and actually quite some size, but unfortunately they are also extremely expensive to buy in, hence the menu price. I certainly dont want to take scallops off the new menu (released in 2 weeks time) as they are so popular, but again agree, its a fair old price for a starter. I will look at reducing this dish down a little (as much as is possible). Thanks again for the feedback, Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We chose to stay at Smiths hotel on the eve of our wedding very relaxed atmosphere & we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived,hotel very clean rooms were to die for amazing attention to detail room 44 lush!
A lovely start for our wedding and location perfect as just across the road from our wedding venue at the famous blacksmiths shop.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you Kay - good luck to you with married life. Do come back and stay with us in room 44 again soon (or a suite perhaps) . Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Dear Darren, I'll be honest, what's the point in writing this if I'm not going to be! When my fiancée and two children (5 and 7) arrived at your hotel, it was somewhat of a ropey start as it became apparent that the hotel had not had us down as a 'wedding package' so flowers, chocolates etc were missed off the welcome package. This was rather frustrating for my partner as she organised it all and she felt she'd let us down. I went down to the reception desk and although I got an apology I felt it was all said rather flippantly and they can arrange it for after the wedding "if we like", and then I was told I would see one of the 'wedding organiser staff'. Subsequently, a lady came out and took me to the bar, and after no introduction, pointed out a print out of an internal email, and I quote "we did our bit'.... you could have knocked me down with a feather! I asked her if what she just said, she deemed as acceptable? She then got who I believe was the manager of the wedding party organisers... This lady, and forgive me for not remembering her name was superb, after initially offering to refund the difference of the flowers etc..(and I hope for Smiths sake still meet there obligations) I still aired my concerns how disappointed my partner was. The lady fully appreciated this, also acknowledging responsibility, and after various offers of, and I don't like to use the word, but compensation, we agreed a room upgrade would be amicable. Well this was the turning point of our stay. We were fortunate enough to use your Bensmoor Suites, I'm sure you've been in them so you can imagine how pleased I was, not to mention my kids and future wife. Also came the champagne, chocolates and all the other 'trimmings'. We ate in the restaurant that night, and yeah, it was a touch on the pricey side, but I, sorry, we, appreciated where that extra few quid went.... the meal, the service, the surroundings... all 'A' game. The next morning, breakfast, great... yeah, it's a buffet service but I like that idea, more of what you want and less of what you don't, especially when it comes to 'picky kids'... and I'm certainly not one to turn my nose up at having to wait 2 minutes for the toast 'machine'.... which the kids found incredibly fascinating! The wedding went fantastic, thanks also to the two witnesses from your staff, and also if you could pass a thanks to the lady who took the pictures in the Blacksmiths, she was great. The meal we'd booked in the restaurant that night, I felt the staff went above and beyond the call of duty as we were, unexpectedly, shown to a private area which was the icing on the day from yourselves. Food again was excellent, I hope my compliments to the chef made it through also. All in all, I feel you should be proud of your staff for the way they handled our misfortune... I believe everyone makes errors, it's how you deal with them is what's important, and your team excelled and you should be, again, proud. Thanks, Andy

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy3736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Andy - thank you so much for this. I am sorry that there was a glitch with your arrival package - it simply didnt pull through on the system. I can fully understand how such a thing can impact a stay, especially a wedding stay and can appreciate your initial reactions. I was fully aware of events and am so pleased that we turned it round for you on such a special occasion. Andy, i thouroughly enjoyed reading this review knowing that you left happy and hope that you will come stay with us again soon at which time do pop into my office and say hello. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I wrote a review early in the year commenting not only on the pleasant accommodation, but the quality of the room service dinner. I'm sure not many people do that for hotels!
We stayed again recently and enjoyed a night in a splendidly appointed balcony room and since it was a Sunday and the full dining service downstairs was restricted, we ordered a meal in the room to see if lightning would strike in the same place twice, and it did!
The quality of the food and the quirky presentation was absolutely first class and a credit to the chef.
The staff generally were pleasant and helpful, breakfast was good and well presented.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hungry_Horace_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thanks for this second review hungry horace, really good stuff. im so pleased that your room service matched last time. Room service food is so difficult to consistently get right, what with it having to be cloched, arranged on a tray and then transported upstairs avoiding all sorts of obstacles and losing temperature - bit of a nightmare to be honest, but its perfect when you just want to crash in your room and watch some telly in your Pjs hey. Thanks for all of your comments, really appreciate them. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: £74 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing