We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would reccomend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

went to renew our vows with our three children. Ladies who booked it all on the phone were very helpful and polite. Were upgraded to private cottages opposite the blacksmiths shop. You use the hotel for breakfast, dinner, wifi etc, it is 1 minute walk away. Yet you are by were you are getting married, and the local restaurants and gift shops. The cottages were amazing, really high standard. Champaign and flowers were waiting in there for us when we arrived. And it has everything, even left dishwasher tablets ready to use!

When we went to the blacksmiths and asked were we go the next day for the vows etc, they explained it all and let us all in the museum for free! Really nice, small museum of the history of Gretna. Must say you really can feel the romance when you are there!
The day went really well, lovely service, just us and the kids. But the blacksmith who renewed our vows was lovely, made it feel really special. And like I said, the blacksmiths itself really has an air about it, must be from the 1000s of lovers who have been married there over the centuries!!
Thrown in was dinner at the 5 star restaurant. Food was very good quality, but quite a small menu. Bar drinks were high, but what you expect for 5 star. Staff were helpful and polite.
One small let down, the wifi was very weak and slow. But unlike most hotels who charge, it was free, so cant complain too much.
On the site are some lovely shops, a love maze, amazing statues etc, well worth a visit. Nice pub down the road, cant remember the name, but the locals even put backstreet boys on for my wife as it was her day!

One thing they need to improve: When we arrived we had to find out what happens the next day at the service etc. This should be explained to you asap, a small point, but will stop the brides worrying. I think this was missed for us as there were only 5 in the party and they probably though how much do we need organising really!

Overall - would recommend, good service, good site and good ceremonies! Kids loved it and I am trying to talk the Mrs into doing it again next year!

PS use Colin Carpenter for your pics. What a nice man, took so many more than we paid for. spend ages with us, set up great shots, great value for money and so friendly. The pics were amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trfc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Many thanks trfc (Tranmere?) for such a comprehensive review, really appreciate it. It goes without saying that I enjoyed reading and sharing it. The cottages are superb aren't they, very happy with them and the feedback we get. Do sort out another visit, be more than pleased to see you back. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

947 - 953 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just back from a two night break at Smith's at Gretna Green Hotel for the wonderful wedding of my son to his beautiful bride. From start to finish it was absolutely perfect in every way. Upon arrival after a very long day and cancelled flight we were greated with a smile and made to feel very welcome and special. All of our rooms were amazing - each one different from the rest. My husband and I stayed in Room 2, overlooking countryside and a quiet road. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable, luxurious, spacious and had a good bathroom and very comfortable king size bed. Food on the Friday evening in the lounge was superb and good value for money. The happy couple married the next day at The famous Blacksmiths, which was a short walk over the road from the hotel, and very romantic. Back at the hotel again for the wedding meal and the wedding party had a private room to ourselves for the dining experience. Professional and friendly service, another superb meal, and didn't feel rushed. We were able to stay as long as we wanted - right into the small hours. Just the eleven of us! Breakfast on both days was served in a modern yet cosy environment and there was everything you could wish for and more. Only one complaint - we didn't want to leave! There were other weddings taking place on the same day but never once did we feel that their parties were intrusive. The hotel has a way of making every bride and groom's experience unique. It was amazing. A good hotel for a break too for anyone attending a wedding. Hope to be back one day. Thank you all so much to all concerned for making Daniel and Penny's wedding so special.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel overlooks the motorway, although the rooms are still excellent. Good soundpro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thanks Sue, glad your sons day went so well and indeed that you had a good time to boot. You know where we are, feel free to come for that leisure break anytime. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Myself and partner stayed at smiths on 21/11/13 until 23/11/13 for our wedding on the 22/11/13 along with thirty eight guests who had travelled from all over the country, all I can say is from the minute we all arrived we were made to feel extra special, we all ate together on the Thursday night and sat and chilled in the bar until early hours and the staff were all lovely, on the Friday myself and bridesmaids visited the lush beauty saloon for our hair and make up before returning to Rosé suit which was fabulous, there we opened my champagne and chocolate from smiths and relaxed while the rest of guests visited the historic surrounding and local shops, mid afternoon myself and ten bridesmaids changed and waited to be picked up by our horse and carriage, Lynn are wedding co ordinator kept me up dated step by step of what and when to do things, after our beautiful romantic wedding we returned to Smiths for our reception and all I can say is everything was perfect from food, staff and disco, all my family and friends loved every minute as did we and we will be returning as soon as possible and then every year on our wedding anniversary, so I would like to say a massive thank you to all staff and management at Smiths especially Lynn for a wonderful time.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Michele, reading your review makes me want to check into one of my own rooms, eat chocolate, drink champagne and just have a merry old time. absolutely superb post, thanks very much. Lyn will also be delighted with the personal mention, cheers. Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We got married in The Old Blacksmiths Shop and had a very small reception (4 people) and two nights stay in the Smiths Hotel. If you are thinking of booking a wedding here I would book without hesitation. Our whole experience from arriving to leaving was so fantastic we didn't want to leave. The wedding planner and all staff at the hotel couldn't do enough for us such fantastic customer service. The hotel is modern, clean, warm and inviting and the food is excellent. Thank you so very much to all the staff for making our wedding, reception and our stay with you so special and one we will remember always.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilly0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Lilly, great review. You didn't have to leave, we would happily have let you stay for as long as you wanted, no problem. all the very best to you and I look forward to a quick return. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Lovely staff, lovely food, great location, I would recommend it to anyone if thinking of getting married at Gretna. Very helpfull in making arrangements. Nothing too much trouble. Visit W Glendinning and son in Annan for kilts etc. Fitted me out 2 hours before the wedding. Lovely chap. Stayed open over lunch for me and was very reasonably priced. Way cheaper than the outlet over at the blacksmiths. 01461 202763

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannybook45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Cheers for the post Danny, much appreciated, best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We got married at The Famous Blacksmith's shop and had our reception and two nights stay at the hotel. Throughout the whole wedding planning process, the staff were constantly helpful and dealt quickly and happily with any queries we had. They made the process as relaxed as possible. Ours was a package offer yet every aspect of our wedding was given excellent care.

Staying at the hotel itself was a lovely experience. The bar had a great atmosphere, good variety of drinks and very tasty food. We stayed in the Rose Suite and were over the moon with the room. The view from the large balcony was gorgeous. The bathroom was wonderful, a large double ended bath, colour changing lights to set a nice mood and two sinks - perfect for the bridal party getting ready in the morning. The shower was easy to use and roomy too. The bed was comfy as were the chairs in the living room area. The inclusion of a dining table and chairs was a nice surprise too. There were certainly no complaints with regards to the cleanliness of the room, it was spotless. The hotel was lovely and quiet, making us wonder if the rooms were soundproofed, making it a very serene atmosphere and making us feel as though we were the only two in the whole place at times. We ordered room service whilst there too, which was quick, delicious, not too expensive and the staff were happy to help. There was a fridge in the room too which was very handy.

As for our wedding reception, we were also made very happy. The staff were quick to help, very polite and thorough. The hotel were kind enough to upgrade our room due to there being less bookings that day, giving us a larger room with a dance floor. The staff were also very helpful in accommodating our guests and their requests. The only teeny tiny complaint I would have is that the hotel seemed surprised when we and the guests arrived back there for the reception, however they dealt with the situation very well and more than made up for it. The food was spectacular, our menu being vegetable soup as a starter, roast chicken for the main and sticky toffee pudding for the pudding. All three courses were delicious and very generous portions - so much so that I didn't even come close to finishing them! The snack buffet later in the evening (bacon rolls, sausage rolls and chips) was amazing too. Our flower girl was 1 year old and the staff were quick to offer extra attention if needed with regards to catering needs, high chairs, etc. At the end of the night, the staff happily allowed us to push the tables together too.

Overall, we were amazed by the service and are dying to return. We are already half-planning a renewal of our vows just as an excuse to relive the experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose suite and the view was lovely. However, the double rooms are lovely too as man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you Kirsty , what an exceptional review. Good to hear everything went so well for you and you enjoyed the hotel so much. I very much look forward to your return. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed at Smith's hotel for my friends wedding in June. The rooms were nice, clean and tidy. The restaurant was very good and was very comfortable to sit down and chill out with a few beers later.

The outside looked a little bit like a travel lodge and was probably overpriced but this was because it is a popular wedding venue.

I was a little disappointed to find out there were no leisure facilities as we were told there was on their website.

The wedding reception room was fantastic and we had a great weekend to celebrate our friends wedding.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thanks for the review Michael, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We don't unfortunately have leisure facilities, this is correct, I'm not quite sure where you would have seen this as it definitely isn't on our website. anyways, thanks again for the post, appreciate it. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
467 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: £84 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing