We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Venue for a Carlisle wedding by Matt Lowry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Venue for a Carlisle wedding by Matt Lowry”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We recently attended a friends wedding and they had the evening reception at this hotel. I found the service to be excellent and the day was fantastic. The food was fantastic and service was prompt. I was expecting a hefty bill at the bar and the drinks were reasonably priced. The rooms were clean and the hotel had a modern feel. Lots of room to park your car and to be honest places to visit. A great hotel who I would recommend to anyone for a special occasion. It was a shame to return home to Carlisle after a night here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattlowrycarlisle143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Cheers Mat, appreciate you taking the time to post up your thoughts. Carlisle surely isn't all that bad is it Mat? Anyway, you've been once now , we're just one junction up the road so no excuses not to come back. all the very best, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    300
    165
    74
    41
See reviews for
352
671
13
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We got married at the hotel - was amazing, the food, staff where great would highly recommend this hotel, our family really enjoyed there stay and could not fault, they made our day really personal which is great considering how many wedding they over see

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayleylavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Hayley, thank you for the review, I enjoyed reading it as did my team. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bursa, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We ended up at this hotel because it was what we found just by the motorway and thought it would be a nice and decent stay after a hard work's day.
Well, apart from the story about that hotel we heard over there; we really enjoyed the steaks at hotel's restaurant and rooms were just fabolously decorated.
Breakfast area is not lit well, however this is the only bad critisim I can make about this hotel. Everything was just alright.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ersinyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thanks ersinyx, always nice to get feedback fro the business traveller and im pleased that your stay was so enjoyable. if you're back this way on the same stretch of motorway , drop in again. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelmersdale
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

went to renew our vows with our three children. Ladies who booked it all on the phone were very helpful and polite. Were upgraded to private cottages opposite the blacksmiths shop. You use the hotel for breakfast, dinner, wifi etc, it is 1 minute walk away. Yet you are by were you are getting married, and the local restaurants and gift shops. The cottages were amazing, really high standard. Champaign and flowers were waiting in there for us when we arrived. And it has everything, even left dishwasher tablets ready to use!

When we went to the blacksmiths and asked were we go the next day for the vows etc, they explained it all and let us all in the museum for free! Really nice, small museum of the history of Gretna. Must say you really can feel the romance when you are there!
The day went really well, lovely service, just us and the kids. But the blacksmith who renewed our vows was lovely, made it feel really special. And like I said, the blacksmiths itself really has an air about it, must be from the 1000s of lovers who have been married there over the centuries!!
Thrown in was dinner at the 5 star restaurant. Food was very good quality, but quite a small menu. Bar drinks were high, but what you expect for 5 star. Staff were helpful and polite.
One small let down, the wifi was very weak and slow. But unlike most hotels who charge, it was free, so cant complain too much.
On the site are some lovely shops, a love maze, amazing statues etc, well worth a visit. Nice pub down the road, cant remember the name, but the locals even put backstreet boys on for my wife as it was her day!

One thing they need to improve: When we arrived we had to find out what happens the next day at the service etc. This should be explained to you asap, a small point, but will stop the brides worrying. I think this was missed for us as there were only 5 in the party and they probably though how much do we need organising really!

Overall - would recommend, good service, good site and good ceremonies! Kids loved it and I am trying to talk the Mrs into doing it again next year!

PS use Colin Carpenter for your pics. What a nice man, took so many more than we paid for. spend ages with us, set up great shots, great value for money and so friendly. The pics were amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trfc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Many thanks trfc (Tranmere?) for such a comprehensive review, really appreciate it. It goes without saying that I enjoyed reading and sharing it. The cottages are superb aren't they, very happy with them and the feedback we get. Do sort out another visit, be more than pleased to see you back. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hailsham, east sussex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just back from a two night break at Smith's at Gretna Green Hotel for the wonderful wedding of my son to his beautiful bride. From start to finish it was absolutely perfect in every way. Upon arrival after a very long day and cancelled flight we were greated with a smile and made to feel very welcome and special. All of our rooms were amazing - each one different from the rest. My husband and I stayed in Room 2, overlooking countryside and a quiet road. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable, luxurious, spacious and had a good bathroom and very comfortable king size bed. Food on the Friday evening in the lounge was superb and good value for money. The happy couple married the next day at The famous Blacksmiths, which was a short walk over the road from the hotel, and very romantic. Back at the hotel again for the wedding meal and the wedding party had a private room to ourselves for the dining experience. Professional and friendly service, another superb meal, and didn't feel rushed. We were able to stay as long as we wanted - right into the small hours. Just the eleven of us! Breakfast on both days was served in a modern yet cosy environment and there was everything you could wish for and more. Only one complaint - we didn't want to leave! There were other weddings taking place on the same day but never once did we feel that their parties were intrusive. The hotel has a way of making every bride and groom's experience unique. It was amazing. A good hotel for a break too for anyone attending a wedding. Hope to be back one day. Thank you all so much to all concerned for making Daniel and Penny's wedding so special.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel overlooks the motorway, although the rooms are still excellent. Good soundpro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thanks Sue, glad your sons day went so well and indeed that you had a good time to boot. You know where we are, feel free to come for that leisure break anytime. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Myself and partner stayed at smiths on 21/11/13 until 23/11/13 for our wedding on the 22/11/13 along with thirty eight guests who had travelled from all over the country, all I can say is from the minute we all arrived we were made to feel extra special, we all ate together on the Thursday night and sat and chilled in the bar until early hours and the staff were all lovely, on the Friday myself and bridesmaids visited the lush beauty saloon for our hair and make up before returning to Rosé suit which was fabulous, there we opened my champagne and chocolate from smiths and relaxed while the rest of guests visited the historic surrounding and local shops, mid afternoon myself and ten bridesmaids changed and waited to be picked up by our horse and carriage, Lynn are wedding co ordinator kept me up dated step by step of what and when to do things, after our beautiful romantic wedding we returned to Smiths for our reception and all I can say is everything was perfect from food, staff and disco, all my family and friends loved every minute as did we and we will be returning as soon as possible and then every year on our wedding anniversary, so I would like to say a massive thank you to all staff and management at Smiths especially Lynn for a wonderful time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Michele, reading your review makes me want to check into one of my own rooms, eat chocolate, drink champagne and just have a merry old time. absolutely superb post, thanks very much. Lyn will also be delighted with the personal mention, cheers. Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We got married in The Old Blacksmiths Shop and had a very small reception (4 people) and two nights stay in the Smiths Hotel. If you are thinking of booking a wedding here I would book without hesitation. Our whole experience from arriving to leaving was so fantastic we didn't want to leave. The wedding planner and all staff at the hotel couldn't do enough for us such fantastic customer service. The hotel is modern, clean, warm and inviting and the food is excellent. Thank you so very much to all the staff for making our wedding, reception and our stay with you so special and one we will remember always.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Lilly, great review. You didn't have to leave, we would happily have let you stay for as long as you wanted, no problem. all the very best to you and I look forward to a quick return. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
940 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
397 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing