We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little disappointing ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my partners birthday , lovely welcome from girl on reception . I had paid extra for romantic settings so we sat in bar and had our cocktails . Our room was clean and tidy although wasn't a kingsize bed as advertised. We decided to eat out in gretna had trouble getting a taxi as not many work on Monday nights ??? Returned back to hotel for few drinks to be told after 11 pm no cash facility for drinks only a £50 deposit on my card which I wasn't pleased about as the gentleman didn't know how it worked with regards to a refund for what we hadn't used ??? No Buck's Fizz offered at breakfast either which was part of romantic settings - little disappointed in afraid

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Crumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Crumm, how sorry I am to read that you went away disappointed, truly I am. Just to clarify the £50 thing, which is basically a card pre-authorisation for credit should you have wanted to charge anything to the bedroom and then pay on check out. This is common practice in all hotels and is obviously the safeguard needed to stop guests (unfortunately there are some) that may just leave without settling their bill!! As i'm sure you'll remember this pre-authorisation was requested by the receptionist when you checked in along with the explanation that we don't take cash after eleven (this for many operational and licensing reasons) of which was declined in favour of paying as you went. I am sorry that the night porter wasn't wholly understanding of the situation, this I will remedy. Taxis on a Monday night are a little scarce. I guess that there simply isn't that much demand on a Monday in January for small local jobs and the majority of drivers don't see the benefit, I appreciate the frustration you had with this. I'm further sorry that you didn't think the beds up to size, they are however Kingsize, with many of the rooms actually Super King. I do appreciate the feedback and will relay the comments to the team here at Smiths. It is always so disappointing to read that a guest has gone away unhappy with the experience, I can only hope that my response makes sense on reflection of the comments passed. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

926 - 932 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We booked our wedding here and from start to finish the staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever to much trouble for anyone. Slav who I dealt with most off all was the nicest guy he was so so helpful and as a self confessed control freak he made me feel at ease at took control and executed it perfectly. The wedding. Package was such great value the food was just perfect. The hotel is by far the best we have ever stayed in. We thank you all from the bottom of our hearts for making our day so very special.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsmrgru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

That's some headline statement mrsmrgru, thank you very much. Slav will be delighted with the mention, he's a great guy to have work for you and we are lucky to have him. All in all sounds like it went well, im delighted and look forward to your return. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Me and my now husband aloped to Gretna Green. On arrival we had a lovely reception from staff. In the evening we had a lovely meal and all staff very friendly and polite. The wedding planner was helpfull and put us at ease, as we were trembling wrecks just being the 2 of us. All in all i would recomend Smiths. Great Room, great staff, great atmosphere. Thankyou for an amazing night and day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thanks for the positive review Michelle, Im so glad your day went so well. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Complaint to Smiths
Im writing this letter to you express my disappointment with the level of service i recieved on my wedding day. The evening before the wedding 4th December. Me and my partner met with a wedding planner to talk through some details. It was whilst talking to her that a few details weren't what we wanted. These were having drinks and canapés at the bar, we said we weren't happy with that so she arranged a sofa area that we would have. Which seemed ok. And when asking about the photography package and when the photographer would arrive and how long he would stay for we were told wed only booked him for the ceremony, we would have the photographer for about an hour as he had another wedding at 1pm. Possibly a fault on our part as we should have askes sooner but as we had a package for the day we though that included the photographer all day. Even still the planner arranged for him to come back at 2pm to take pictures of us cutting the cake brilliant. She couldn't have been more helpful.
Day of the wedding was fine wedding planner met us to decorate the table for us while we were getting ready.

After the marriage ceremony about 1pm our party (11 people) walked over to the hotel and waited for all the guests to come. We wanted in the lobby area 5 - 10 minutes later a man came out to guide us to the bar, i said we're just waiting for a few more people and he walked off. Finally when all guests arrived about quarter past 1 we sat at the sofa area reserved for us. And waited no one greeted us or welcomed us or even offered or brought over the drinks (our arrival drinks) the groom had to ask at the bar. A lady came over a stood with a tray of drinks no smile no congratulations didn't even hand out drinks or tell people what were in them. And a additional drink was not offered to the child in the group (even with a bill being given, she was just ignored). After waiting with the women still stood with drinks i asked to go to our room (dining area ) the waiter lady said oh no people have canapés out here. To which i went any way feeling completely embaresed by the unorganisation. Same waitress followed us with drinks on tray still where i asked her just to put them down, which she did and then left. Same thing happened with canapés waitress stood at the end of the table holding the tray didn't tell us what they were and didn't offer them out just standing there. The canapés came on a long tray scattered and only 40 and were not 6 varieties as stated and not enough of each variety. When asking another man came over to look, he then told us what each one was, when u asked where was 1 of each variety he said yes thats your canapés. After looking at the confirmation agreed we should have more canapés and brought out another tray which we were very gratful for but embarrassing that we had to check and ask. The starters (menu 2) soup and prawn cocktail was very nice, big portions perfect. However when being served them the ladies struggled as guests had forgotten what they'd ordered the waitress wsdbt particular friendly or helpful but said its because we never made a table plan but we were not offered to make one. The desert was lovely. Chocolate tart and a cheesecake, both looked lovely and tasted delicious. However the main meals were not what i expexted and a let down to the rest of the meal. Roast beef and chicken. the beef and chicken was nice but the chicken meal that was served with fondant potato was actually a combination of mashed potatoes and roast potatoes (is that right?) and the gravy that went with each meal was watery and tasteless with lumpy type bits in.

The bar staff that served us were lovely as were the reception staff checking in and checking out.
I would recommend smiths to any one and already have however i think some issues need looking into, unfortunately the bad things are what people remember and on a wedding day is unforgiving.
I would like to thank our wedding planner as she had aranged and resolved thing's we weren't sure of or happy with prior to day, made me (the bride) feel special. I would also recommend spoilt at smith's, did exactly what i want and even got mt tiara i forgot from the room.

So thankyou smiths but please when booking make this 100% clear, and Prehaps remind staff serving weddings to be contious of there moods and body language wheb serving, after all its a happy occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babysheppd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your review babyshepherd, most appreciated. I will of course take on board your comments and share them with the team. It is very rare that we get negative comments in relation to our service staff and the canapés, but as much as we try I know sometimes things may not be quite up to an individuals expectation and I'm sorry this was the case with yourself with the outlined complaints. Thank you for the positives also , these are again appreciated. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Went for our wedding. Had a young baby with us. Staff were very helpful with everything eg providing equipment and steralising bottles etc. Wedding day was lovely, made to feel special even though they see hundreds of weddings. Lovely surroundings, good food, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms comfy and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyboo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thanks for the post sallyboo, glad to hear all went so well. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed over for two nights as my brother in-law was getting married at the end of December. We had the family room no 15 with a bunk bed on the first floor. The room was nice and good size for a family but look a bit dark even though there were some lamps around. My room was over looking the motorway and this made it very noisy at night, I could have the curtains open as everyone from the car park was looking through the window into the room. There were children running on corridors and on the floor above and we could hear them from early morning to late night. I was told that rooms on the other side (even numbers) are less noisy.
Breakfast was included with the price of the room. It was ok, no many fruit selections, English breakfast items to choose from and some cereal and juices. The restaurant was very dark, it seems they like to economise with electricity.
Staff was fine. Nothing outstanding.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with even numbers as the ones with odd numbers over look the motor way and are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thanks for the feedback meli, appreciate it. Sorry to hear that you thought the hotel a bit dark. We obviously try to balance the whole experience offering various lighting options to create the right mood for whatever youre here for, a bright airy lounge for day business use, a darker ambience for the evening restaurant with candles etc and likewise the rooms have multiple options for varying degrees of light and mood. the rooms at the back are a little darker than the front you are correct, this due to the natural aspect of the building. Thanks anyway for the review, it has all been noted, shared and discussed. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We recently met up with family at Smiths Hotel. It is an equal drive for both so the hotel is very well located. We were delighted with the rooms. We had a balcony room and our daughter and partner had a family room which was ideal for their needs. Our Granddaughter loved the bunk beds and her little TV which was set up at the bed. The food was lovely and we were well pleased with everything. The staff were all very helpful and polite. We will do it again as a family get together.

Room Tip: The balcony room was lovely well worth the extra as it was also more spacious. The bunk beds in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Many thanks for the comments Liz, always nice to read the positive experiences of our guests. We are indeed ideally located as a halfway meeting point from many major destinations and cities and being just off the M6 also helps. glad to hear the kids liked the bunkbeds, its half the battle won when the little ones are happy. Do stop by again soon, best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
469 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: £84 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing