We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We got married 19th jan 2014. Three days before, we was notified that 6 of our rooms had been flooded so those guests was being moved to gretna hall for the saturday night but the staff did all that was possible to make it up to us. After the confusion of who was checking in where, everything went perfectly. Our wedding planner heidi was amazing and nothing was too much for our waiters and bar staff - jordan. Also another member of staff ran out 10 minutes before the wedding to the shop for something we had forgotten. Perfect day and we cant wait to return!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank lh208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thanks for your understanding with those rooms IH208< wasn't an ideal situation that - I honestly thought we'd be hosting you in the Ark we'd started to construct, the weather being as it was, nightmare! Anyways, thank you for posting up such a lively review and for the personal mentions for Heidi and Jordan, they'll be delighted. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

961 - 967 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Used the hotel as a stopover on the way to the Highlands - rooms were superb - good size - great bathrooms - beds large and everything clean Internet access fast and free,

We ate in the restaurant the food was very very good and not too expensive.

Room Tip: There is a little noise from motorway on rooms to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Cheers Stuart a nice , straight to the point positive review, no nonsense, love it. Stop in again when next passing, you'll always be welcome here. All the best Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was a lovely hotel in every way but I have to review the food we ate on New Year's Eve because it was exquisite. It was nouvelle cuisin-eish e.g. the presentation was beautiful but OMG, the flavours! I have to say that the main course (halibut) was one of the most memorable meals I have ever eaten and that's quite a few by now! Somehow the chef managed to make this meal a kind of magical mystery tour of flavours and textures - every mouthful wa a surprise from mild, subtle flavours then every so often s surprisingly intense blast from a caper, say.... melt in the mouth fish...give the chef a medal! HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Robert, Thank you so much for your kind words - Phil , our Head Chef will be beside himself with such feedback. The food at the hotel is carefully thought out, especially the A La Carte dishes with the emphasis ultimately on taste, texture and temperature , with a bit of creative fun thrown in for aesthetic enjoyment. Do come back to us again or contact Phil direct if there is a specific ingredient you would like him to prepare for you. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely Food Lovely Staff Chefs were brill. Tasty food






Would Defiantly Come Again


Friendly Service Quick Service Plenty Of Seating however Bar was a little over priced Altogether Was A Brill Hotel. I am probably another satisfied Happy Customer


Thanks A lot Happy Hotel Chappy!!!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank HappyHotelChappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

A very pleasant review happy hotel chappy, many thanks for posting it up. I can never tire of hearing such experiences. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my partners birthday , lovely welcome from girl on reception . I had paid extra for romantic settings so we sat in bar and had our cocktails . Our room was clean and tidy although wasn't a kingsize bed as advertised. We decided to eat out in gretna had trouble getting a taxi as not many work on Monday nights ??? Returned back to hotel for few drinks to be told after 11 pm no cash facility for drinks only a £50 deposit on my card which I wasn't pleased about as the gentleman didn't know how it worked with regards to a refund for what we hadn't used ??? No Buck's Fizz offered at breakfast either which was part of romantic settings - little disappointed in afraid

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Crumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Crumm, how sorry I am to read that you went away disappointed, truly I am. Just to clarify the £50 thing, which is basically a card pre-authorisation for credit should you have wanted to charge anything to the bedroom and then pay on check out. This is common practice in all hotels and is obviously the safeguard needed to stop guests (unfortunately there are some) that may just leave without settling their bill!! As i'm sure you'll remember this pre-authorisation was requested by the receptionist when you checked in along with the explanation that we don't take cash after eleven (this for many operational and licensing reasons) of which was declined in favour of paying as you went. I am sorry that the night porter wasn't wholly understanding of the situation, this I will remedy. Taxis on a Monday night are a little scarce. I guess that there simply isn't that much demand on a Monday in January for small local jobs and the majority of drivers don't see the benefit, I appreciate the frustration you had with this. I'm further sorry that you didn't think the beds up to size, they are however Kingsize, with many of the rooms actually Super King. I do appreciate the feedback and will relay the comments to the team here at Smiths. It is always so disappointing to read that a guest has gone away unhappy with the experience, I can only hope that my response makes sense on reflection of the comments passed. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We booked our wedding here and from start to finish the staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever to much trouble for anyone. Slav who I dealt with most off all was the nicest guy he was so so helpful and as a self confessed control freak he made me feel at ease at took control and executed it perfectly. The wedding. Package was such great value the food was just perfect. The hotel is by far the best we have ever stayed in. We thank you all from the bottom of our hearts for making our day so very special.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsmrgru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

That's some headline statement mrsmrgru, thank you very much. Slav will be delighted with the mention, he's a great guy to have work for you and we are lucky to have him. All in all sounds like it went well, im delighted and look forward to your return. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Me and my now husband aloped to Gretna Green. On arrival we had a lovely reception from staff. In the evening we had a lovely meal and all staff very friendly and polite. The wedding planner was helpfull and put us at ease, as we were trembling wrecks just being the 2 of us. All in all i would recomend Smiths. Great Room, great staff, great atmosphere. Thankyou for an amazing night and day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thanks for the positive review Michelle, Im so glad your day went so well. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: £79 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing