We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Cumnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money!!!!!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

booked this hotel as advertised on website if you were attending wedding fair on the 26th then your room would only be £80 however I was charged £145! Only paid the extra because I thought we were being upgraded, when I confronted the woman at reception she didn't have a clue about it and dismissed the conversation. Once we got into our room it was not as described on website it was cold, dark and very noisy really wasn't worth £145, travelled a long way with high expectations and was totally let down!! Was planning on having our wedding here but not any more glad we came for a visit before booking anything!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daviddarrenshedden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
This is disappointing reading daviddarrensheddon and I'm sorry that you wont be having your wedding with us, but pleased that the visit was worthwhile to ascertain that we are not quite for you (I would always recommend a visit beforehand as we may not be everyone's cup of tea) and probably vice versa, knowing the facts behind the room booking. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    291
    161
    71
    41
See reviews for
333
652
13
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
chelfordshorty
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Smiths at Grenta Green what can i say that hasnt been said .We arrived 16th Jan all 24 of us for our daughters wedding Staff on reception very welcoming We were all checked in very quickly and off we went to find the rooms all lovely and clean i did have a problem with the smell of paint on first floor no problem moved us with no fuss to second floor we all met up in bar area later and all wanted to eat no problem we had a bit of a wait but all came out very hot and staff that any hotel could be proud off .The morning of the wedding we had make-up done in the hotel and they did a good job The wedding planning gave all the help we needed .The meal after the wedding was fantastic very hot and very very nice Jordon on the bar was a star he joined in with us brilliant bar man Idont know what i was expecting but a grenta wedding at smiths is fantastic one of the best weddings i have been to so thank you smiths i must also thank simon and zowie from tartan carrages they made the wedding very special and the horses are beautiful and also Grenta Flower Basket beautiful flowers and chair covers that really made the room look beautiful thanks to all that were involved for such a small place you certainly are all fantastic at your jobs
Lovely 2 night stay

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a front view we were on the back and you could hear the motorway but it isnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelfordshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
many thanks for the review Chelfordshorty and indeed the personal mentions for planners and Jordan. Glad to hear the reception staff reacted and moved you to another floor. The smell of paint was us keeping on top of rolling maintenance, ensuring the public areas remain tip top. thanks again for the post, best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had the most fantastic time and every one made us feel so special every thing was amazing and we would love to return many thanks every one we would highly recommend this to every one the hotel was fab the food was excellent the wedding was out of this world

Room Tip: Penthouse is amazeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank juliebrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Julie - Out of this world hey? , wow , what can I say, other than thank you for allowing us to be part of your big day, absolutely delighted I am. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I booked what was described as a deluxe room with fireplace however on arrival was allocated a family room which was not very welcoming and did not have the features described on the website for the room I had booked. Had a terrible nights sleep as hotel is situated next to the very busy and extremely noisy motorway. Took me 4 hours to get to sleep and was woken up continually throughout the night. I attempted to discuss the situation with the duty manager the following morning however found her to be extremely condescending and ultimately unwilling to refund any of the cost of my stay. My concerns were dismissed and I was left feeling conned out of money. As a frequent hotel user I found this to be one of the worst hotel experiences I have had to date.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank j_glasgowuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
iglasgow - I am sorry you feel this way. The Duty Manager you spoke with, Angela did inform me of the conversation she had with you, actually in anticipation of this review and the concern in motive behind the conversation - again I'm sorry that you thought it condescending. I must however disagree with your comment of the room being substandard, as this simply isn't the case as can be clearly substantiated by the other genuine reviews on this very site even when full rack rate was paid, as opposed to the heavily reduced best available rate paid on this occasion. I don't want to be overly dismissive as I am fully aware of the hotel location, Gretna Green unfortunately (and some ways fortunately) sits next to the M6, this I cannot change. I guess as many hotels similarly suffer from some sort of locational noise, be it city hubbub, side road, A road , carriageway, motorway etc even with the improvement in glazing we will always have the occasional comment in relation to noise, whether to the severity outlined in your narrative, I'm not too sure, but do rest assured that every effort to make our guest stay as comfortable as we can is forever on going. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

The first thing I'd say is IGNORE ANY NEGATIVE REVIEWS! I'm a very picky traveller & always complain if things are less than perfect. This is an honest review & gives a good idea of what to expect from this hotel. My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights as part of our Gretna Green wedding package. We had booked a balcony room but were given a complimentary upgrade to the Thistle Suite after an administrative error. However an hour before we arrived a receptionist phoned to say the roof was leaking so the Thistle Suite wouldn't be available for our first night. We ended up in a standard double room and it was absolutely beautiful! If anyone is on a budget and worried about staying in a standard room please don't be concerned. The room was massive. Lovely cosy feel with a wall mounted fire and 2 comfy armchairs with lots of floor space and a good distance from the bed. The view is beautiful. The bed was comfortable and the furnishings were modern and luxurious. The bathroom was spacious and spotlessly clean with a good shower. My only criticism would be there isn't enough lighting available which made styling my hair difficult. The next morning we stayed in this room until we were ready to get married, and the staff moved all our clothes, bags etc to the Thistle Suite. This was all done to perfection. We arrived back to our Personal Arrival Package (details on the Smith's site and worth every penny), lights dimmed, candles lit, music playing etc. We were totally overwhelmed! The hotel site gives a good description of the Thistle Suite facilities but honestly doesn't do it justice. It's breathtaking. Total luxury! It's a huge room, opulent furnishings, big corner sofa, well appointed dining area, separate sleeping area with a massive bed. The bathroom has a double shower with jets, huge bath tub, twin sinks, separate toilet room. Again all spotlessly clean and super modern with surround sound system and romantic blue mood lighting above the bath. Every aspect of our stay was perfect. The rest of the hotel is equally modern and luxurious. The food is delicious and beautifully presented with good sized portions and it's really well priced. The bar prices are good too. The staff were polite but friendly and couldn't do enough to help. There was some traffic noise but we expected this with the location being so handy to the motorway. We got married in the Blacksmith's Shop, just the 2 of us, and when we returned to Smith's the staff made us feel so special. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation, not only for getting married but also to anyone wanting a relaxing break with a partner or friend. Pure luxury!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziecinnamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Good stuff Suziecinnamon, such a comprehensive review. As with everything we are always going to get some negative reviews, opinions vary, motives are, dare I say sometimes questionable, but every so often the negative reviews may be warranted if we didn't get it 100% right , so we must take on board this feedback and ensure that we don't become complacent, BUT of course its always nice to read someone saying "Ignore the negative reviews", LOL. Anyway, great to hear that all was good with your day - the weather really tested us that weekend, with us having to put off 6 rooms in total due to the severity of the rain - (all sorted now, don't worry folks). Do pop back when you can suzie. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We got married 19th jan 2014. Three days before, we was notified that 6 of our rooms had been flooded so those guests was being moved to gretna hall for the saturday night but the staff did all that was possible to make it up to us. After the confusion of who was checking in where, everything went perfectly. Our wedding planner heidi was amazing and nothing was too much for our waiters and bar staff - jordan. Also another member of staff ran out 10 minutes before the wedding to the shop for something we had forgotten. Perfect day and we cant wait to return!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lh208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thanks for your understanding with those rooms IH208< wasn't an ideal situation that - I honestly thought we'd be hosting you in the Ark we'd started to construct, the weather being as it was, nightmare! Anyways, thank you for posting up such a lively review and for the personal mentions for Heidi and Jordan, they'll be delighted. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Used the hotel as a stopover on the way to the Highlands - rooms were superb - good size - great bathrooms - beds large and everything clean Internet access fast and free,

We ate in the restaurant the food was very very good and not too expensive.

Room Tip: There is a little noise from motorway on rooms to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Cheers Stuart a nice , straight to the point positive review, no nonsense, love it. Stop in again when next passing, you'll always be welcome here. All the best Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing