We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wedding, Spoilt by Smith's.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My wedding, Spoilt by Smith's.”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I got married on the 24th January at the Old Blacksmith’s and had 10 rooms for two nights including the Rose room.
I would like to start by discussing the ‘Rose Suite’, on the telephone I had been told it was recently renovated. To me it just looked tired, there were marks on the carpet and the four posted bed had paint chips missing. The bathroom was hidden in a cupboard which I was not impressed about when I was desperate to pass urine. The bathroom doors did not closed easily from the inside as they did not have a handle, just because I married my husband it does not mean I want him to watch me open my bowels! The bed left a lot to be desired, I would have been more comfortable sleeping on the couch as the mattress was hard and the quilt rustled loudly (simply irritating when you are sharing with your 17 month old). The room had a fancy coffee machine (in my little boys reach), kettle, tea caddy full of various teas/coffees/hot chocolate and six cups and sauces. Unfortunately there was no spoon but luckily for me I had a weaning spoon. The shape of the bath was stupid and made it difficult for me to lie on my front to soak my armpits ready for shaving. When I wanted the shower head only to work I wound up getting soggy from the overhead shower, some instructions would have been useful. On the balcony were other fun things that attracted my infant’s attention including a box of screws, exposed electrical wires and sharp edges from the lights that were possibly being installed. I know this room is not designed to be child friendly but I feel it lacks common sense to have dangerous items so low down.
In the restaurant I was surprised to find no dishes specifically catered to the appetites of children, my 7 year old nephew got a fish finger sandwich with eight fish fingers! The food was expensive but nice. However some of my guests complained they had ordered some cocktails on an offer but because they did not order two of the same it was not honoured. When I requested a high chair it did not have all the components required to strap my child in so he managed to get himself onto all fours on the food trey! I asked for another highchair and this one had a nice cut in the plastic which meant my infant had fun pulling stuffing out and trying to decide if it should go in his mouth. At breakfast time it was not uncommon to see dirty tables left for over half an hour and getting additional cutlery proved problematic again.
I have only ever stayed in cheaper hotel chains so I was extremely shocked when I was asked for £50 from my card. Another guest explained it is not actually taken from my account unless needed. Reception staff did not explain this correctly to any of my guests and my in-laws were subsequently too scared to drink the tea and coffee in case their card got charged. I wish I had been informed of this prior to arriving at the hotel so I could explain it to be people. This started my visit on the wrong foot because we arrived the day before my January pay day and I did not have £50. The reception staff irritated me further when I asked them for a travel cot on the first and asked “how long will it take” I was told they were doing it now. I did offer to take the cot up so I could have it in the room as I needed it but this was declined by reception staff. An hour later my 17 month old was asleep on the bed so I cancelled it. The next night I knew I really wanted the cot bed, it took four hours and three requests to get it, with the most frustrating thing being told it was coming now.
Meeting the wedding planner left an awful lot to be desired. She read out very basic information and did not wait to talk to the groom. She also did not warn me that I would be receiving a phone call 15 minutes before the wedding to ensure I would be on my way. As it happened I was on time and the Old Blacksmith’s shop was five minutes’ walk away, in heels. I wish she could have said useful information like “Your photographers name is …” I would have also liked it if she had told me what my main meal was going to be as it will always be remember as rice with mystery veg.
The main reason I am so upset is because of the wedding reception. I had no idea where I was meant to be going as the wedding planner didn’t see fit to physically show me where it was. I saw two other brides in the lobby. When the main meals came out I was presented with chicken, I do not eat meat. I had booked two vegetarian meals and they did come out but it is part of the wedding experience having your meals first. The bride in the room next door had a band, and her band was set up next to the wall of our room, so in addition to our music we also got the base from next door. It was so loud we turned our music off in the end. We were offered the room next door, so I went to check it out. I discovered this room was almost as noisy as they shared bar space. So I opted not to switch. But why should I have to swap rooms on my wedding day? Surely a member of staff should have simply said “you cannot set your band up there because we have another wedding next door”. The wedding I am discussing had a hog roast in the lobby and the smell was extremely strong. As mentioned before I do not eat meat, somebody else’s hog roast is NOT what I want to smell or see on my wedding day! I complained about the noise to a member of staff stating it is not good enough the music was so loud and I shouldn’t be expected to move rooms on my wedding day, she was very apologetic but did not do anything and did not escalate the matter further.
One of my guests sustained a head injury and needed to go to hospital. Reception were helpful phoning 999 and giving me the correct address. I was told I needed to fill out an incident form, not asked if I could. An incident form did not arrive to be completed. The look of disgust I got when I asked for a sick bucked was actually quite comical (side effects of large volumes of alcohol- every unit sold by the hotel and head injuries is often vomiting). Some drunken idiot from the loud wedding kept pestering us, big fun. Back in the hotel room I wanted to plug my mobile phone in close to the bed as the member of my wedding party was admitted to hospital, there is not a plug close to the bed.
The noise in the hotel was generally unacceptable, the people in the room above us kept running up and down the stairs on the first night. On the second night there were children playing ‘knock a door run’. Why do members of staff not think it is within their role to approach other guests and tell them to make less noise? I did not book an 18-30 holiday and so I do not think I should simply have to accept it as a fact. The staff may have been a bit laxadaisy on my wedding day, they did however have the chance to make four Facebook statuses that day.
Finally onto Spoilt at Smith’s or as I will now be calling it, Spoilt by Smith’s. The file and polish was poor, the nails were not filed into a shape of any kind and the one coat of nail polish was different colours on different nails and there was some gloopy clump on one nail. My hair was bad, I wish I had said something at the time because it looked bad on the day and worse in pictures. I am specifically saying I do not like the method of hair curling using hair straighteners.
There were many nice things like two working televisions, two bottles of champagne and a cute teddy bear. Ultimately I would have sooner had somebody to advocate for my wedding instead of having a “what will be will be” attitude to the weddings. I know that Smith’s probably have over a thousand weddings a year but that was my ‘special’ day and I will not be getting another. I am very upset and though some of these things may seem minor I spent a lot of money and expected more. I would like to add that this review was not written maliciously, I am really upset about my wedding.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Ok folks , I'm not even going to apologise for my response here as fortunately you can all read how absolutely ridiculous this review is. - how on earth can you complain about the wedding planner courteously phoning you 15 minutes before to check on you!!. The rest really is laughable as I'm sure you've all already figured for yourselves. The bathroom hidden in a cupboard?, bath the wrong shape? 8 Fish Fingers in a sandwich!! Shocked that a pre-authorisation was asked for on check in (what hotel doesn't?), mystery veg?, passing urine and emptying bowels? I mean come on. For those of you panicked by this review, do go on the website and have a good look at the Rose or indeed the pictures on Facebook - its far from tired, its in fact just been refurbished, the mattress is brand new and probably far more comfortable than the couch. I have to say this is probably the most inappropriate review we have ever had here at the hotel (and you do get a few dodgy ones on this site) and has caused quite a stir around the departments today. Im sure you will all take it for what it is. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    305
    170
    74
    41
See reviews for
359
686
13
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We our first visit here for a friends wedding and in one word! Faultless . Food was stunning. Staff attentive. And hotel and outbuildings are lovely..... no complaints whatsoever ... well worth the money... o apart from weather...... but hey outwith anyones control well done u all x

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank terricampbell36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thanks for the great feedback terricampbell, most appreciated. Yeah, sorry about the weather, its been awful lately what with all the rain - best to just stay comfy in the bar and lounge area with a glass of fizzy until the gloom passes and spring arrives, then we can all sit outside with our glass of fizz instead. Happy days. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here as we wanted to have a 'nosey' at this hotel as it was a possible place for us to stay after our wedding (which is in July). The room we stayed in was a double deluxe, it was comfortable, well designed, lighting a little dim for me but otherwise perfect. We could have eaten in the ´A la carte restaurant but we chose the good old bar menu & we weren't disappointed. Some other reviews mention about the hotel been quite expensive - it is! but... It is worth paying the extra & there are no other hotels like this in Gretna Green. We are now staying here on our wedding night in the thistle suite & have booked our family double deluxe rooms. Inside is very well decorated, friendly staff, a relaxed environment as well as good food. I suggest booking early as we could only get our family booked in for one of the two nights in July. Looking forward to coming back to this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
glad you came for a nosey beccajd and I look forward to you coming in July. The bar/lounge menu is indeed superb, as is the A La carte so whatever your preference and price point we try to accommodate all. Thanks for putting up your feedback I do appreciate it. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

booked this hotel as advertised on website if you were attending wedding fair on the 26th then your room would only be £80 however I was charged £145! Only paid the extra because I thought we were being upgraded, when I confronted the woman at reception she didn't have a clue about it and dismissed the conversation. Once we got into our room it was not as described on website it was cold, dark and very noisy really wasn't worth £145, travelled a long way with high expectations and was totally let down!! Was planning on having our wedding here but not any more glad we came for a visit before booking anything!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daviddarrenshedden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
This is disappointing reading daviddarrensheddon and I'm sorry that you wont be having your wedding with us, but pleased that the visit was worthwhile to ascertain that we are not quite for you (I would always recommend a visit beforehand as we may not be everyone's cup of tea) and probably vice versa, knowing the facts behind the room booking. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelfordshorty
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Smiths at Grenta Green what can i say that hasnt been said .We arrived 16th Jan all 24 of us for our daughters wedding Staff on reception very welcoming We were all checked in very quickly and off we went to find the rooms all lovely and clean i did have a problem with the smell of paint on first floor no problem moved us with no fuss to second floor we all met up in bar area later and all wanted to eat no problem we had a bit of a wait but all came out very hot and staff that any hotel could be proud off .The morning of the wedding we had make-up done in the hotel and they did a good job The wedding planning gave all the help we needed .The meal after the wedding was fantastic very hot and very very nice Jordon on the bar was a star he joined in with us brilliant bar man Idont know what i was expecting but a grenta wedding at smiths is fantastic one of the best weddings i have been to so thank you smiths i must also thank simon and zowie from tartan carrages they made the wedding very special and the horses are beautiful and also Grenta Flower Basket beautiful flowers and chair covers that really made the room look beautiful thanks to all that were involved for such a small place you certainly are all fantastic at your jobs
Lovely 2 night stay

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a front view we were on the back and you could hear the motorway but it isnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelfordshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
many thanks for the review Chelfordshorty and indeed the personal mentions for planners and Jordan. Glad to hear the reception staff reacted and moved you to another floor. The smell of paint was us keeping on top of rolling maintenance, ensuring the public areas remain tip top. thanks again for the post, best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had the most fantastic time and every one made us feel so special every thing was amazing and we would love to return many thanks every one we would highly recommend this to every one the hotel was fab the food was excellent the wedding was out of this world

Room Tip: Penthouse is amazeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank juliebrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Julie - Out of this world hey? , wow , what can I say, other than thank you for allowing us to be part of your big day, absolutely delighted I am. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I booked what was described as a deluxe room with fireplace however on arrival was allocated a family room which was not very welcoming and did not have the features described on the website for the room I had booked. Had a terrible nights sleep as hotel is situated next to the very busy and extremely noisy motorway. Took me 4 hours to get to sleep and was woken up continually throughout the night. I attempted to discuss the situation with the duty manager the following morning however found her to be extremely condescending and ultimately unwilling to refund any of the cost of my stay. My concerns were dismissed and I was left feeling conned out of money. As a frequent hotel user I found this to be one of the worst hotel experiences I have had to date.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank j_glasgowuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
iglasgow - I am sorry you feel this way. The Duty Manager you spoke with, Angela did inform me of the conversation she had with you, actually in anticipation of this review and the concern in motive behind the conversation - again I'm sorry that you thought it condescending. I must however disagree with your comment of the room being substandard, as this simply isn't the case as can be clearly substantiated by the other genuine reviews on this very site even when full rack rate was paid, as opposed to the heavily reduced best available rate paid on this occasion. I don't want to be overly dismissive as I am fully aware of the hotel location, Gretna Green unfortunately (and some ways fortunately) sits next to the M6, this I cannot change. I guess as many hotels similarly suffer from some sort of locational noise, be it city hubbub, side road, A road , carriageway, motorway etc even with the improvement in glazing we will always have the occasional comment in relation to noise, whether to the severity outlined in your narrative, I'm not too sure, but do rest assured that every effort to make our guest stay as comfortable as we can is forever on going. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
409 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing