We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was in the area in a nearby hotel with my wife and visited the bar area for a few drinks. It was impressive being waitered from our seats considering how busy it was. We would have eaten there too but the restaurant was fully booked so I sampled the beers while my wife attacked the cocktail list. Drinks were expensive but acceptable for the standard the hotel presented itself in. The staff were very friendly and helpful even considering how busy it was. Next time we stay in the area we may very well stay at the smiths.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thanks for this Micheal. Yes, isn't it superb when you don't have to go up to the bar to re-order, I love that myself when out.. We try as much as possible to offer table/floor service, its not always possible due to sheer volume, but we endeavour to deliver - that's what you want when you go out and certainly when paying £5 or 6 quid for a cocktail, that's the service you should get. pop in for a few more drinks next time you're in the area. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a terrible journey up to Gretna on the 12th February and in fact had to stop in Cheshire overnight and finally arrived at Smiths on the 13th at 10am for our 2.30pm wedding ceremony. We unfortunately missed out on one night at Smiths due to the awful weather resulting in closed motorways, floods and branches in roads etc. which was a great shame but being out on the roads really wasn't safe. However the staff at Smiths and Spoilt beauty salon soon helped us to relax. The location of Smiths hotel adjacent to The Old Blacksmiths shop make it a perfect destination for people marrying. Super friendly and helpful staff. A modern hotel ticking all the boxes for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room at the front of the hotel which wasd perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Nice one Chris, glad you got to us safely and were able to relax and enjoy the hotel and service - weather was awful that week. Thanks for taking the time to post up your review, its much appreciated and I will hopefully see you back here again in the near future. all the best Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Smiths is a fantastic hotel..the atmosphere is relaxed and warm...the rooms are lovel. .service..excellent. .food is delicious ..nothing is ever a problem ...we love it there and had our wedding reception in 2008 and have bewn back many times to stay. Woul highly recommend it...

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missyelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Missyelly - superb review, thanks for your continued support and custom. You keep coming, we'll keep looking after you. All the best Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at Smiths whilst attending a wedding as a guest; Very nice comfortable warm room, (Needed as the weather was inclement during my stay) All the usual things included, tea/coffee making facilities, iron, free wifi, I did not use the restaurant, as in my opinion was a little overpriced. However the bar menu was more competitively priced.. The breakfast, which was included in the price of the room was very good, (buffet style as most of them are these days) nevertheless, well cooked, and good choice.. The staff were very professional, nothing to much trouble, pleasant and welcoming.. Talking to other guests at the aforementioned wedding, left me in no doubt that we'd chosen well by booking with Smiths..
Gretna and its surrounding area is a lovely place to visit, if you're in the area, check into Smiths and explore the area and view its history..

Room Tip: If you have the chance, book a room at the front of the hotel, the rear of the hotel faces a busy ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfie_bullmastiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Alfie, thanks ever so much for reviewing the hotel, I really enjoyed reading your words, all very sensibly balanced in opinion. if you're in the area again, do pop in. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had a great stay and an even better meal. The food was wonderful had the biggest steak I've ever had and the passion fruit brulee was to die for. Staff first class. Booked our wedding Reception before we left. Cannot wait till next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire_r_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

That's great news Claire, I'm so pleased that you've chosen us to host the big day - roll on next year. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I recently had some business meetings in the Gretna area, and chose to stay at the Smiths hotel at the recommendation of a colleague. I had a very pleasant one night stay. The room was excellent, the staff friendly and the food was top quality. The breakfast was sight to behold....!

Well done to all of the staff at the Smiths hotel for making my stay comfortable and enjoyable!

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thanks Dean, nice to get a review from a business perspective (which does make up most of my midweek trade) as you guys generally don't post too much up. Anyway, great to hear that everything was to your satisfaction and that the recommendation was justified. All the best Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Well presented and comfortable. A warm, welcoming atmosphere that is enhanced by the standard of the room facilities and comfort of the bed. I had room service as I arrived at the hotel late and the food was excellent (can certainly recommend the pizzas) my only one criticism of this hotel was that the bath had not been cleaned properly. Other than that everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rusel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Many thanks for the comments Russ, much appreciated. Apologies for the misdemeanour with the bath, I've let housekeeping know they missed a bit. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
469 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: £84 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing