We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My last night of miss and first night of mrs spent in smiths!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Stranraer, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My last night of miss and first night of mrs spent in smiths!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at smiths.
The room was gorgeous! Very clean and well presented. Necessities : Beds were comfy and bath was full size!!
The service was fantastic, especially the new barman (not sure of his name)
The food was lovely too...But pricey!

We stayed here as part of our wedding package,on arrival we received champain the whole experience was brilliant! We thourgly enjoined ourselfs.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBurrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you Mrs Burret, how very kind of you to post up a review. Im absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay and do hope you'll return in the near future for a little more Champers. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    299
    165
    74
    41
See reviews for
351
671
13
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here on valentines night as part of a stay & marry package at the famous old blacksmiths. From the moment we booked I was well looked after (via email) by one of there wedding planners. Whenever I wanted a question answering and believe me there was many, she always got back to me promptly & reassured me about any queries I had. Having never been to Gretna on arrival we were very pleased with the hotel & the excellent location for our ceremony at the blacksmiths (literally a stone throw away). The room was set up lovely champagne, candles, roses etc. the staff couldn't help enough & the food in the restaurant was lovely. I also had my hair & makeup done in the hotels salon which I couldn't fault, listening to exactly what I wanted. Anyone looking for a stress free, personal wedding then this is your answer. Will definitely return for our anniversary ;)
The jones'

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsjoneslfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Ahhh thank you Mrs Jones (a Liverpool fan from Birkenhead, as am I) for the great review. Our valentines package did go very well and im thrilled that your experience with us will remain , as it rightly should, such a positive memory. Thanks for allowing us to be part of your day. all the best Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

I was in the area in a nearby hotel with my wife and visited the bar area for a few drinks. It was impressive being waitered from our seats considering how busy it was. We would have eaten there too but the restaurant was fully booked so I sampled the beers while my wife attacked the cocktail list. Drinks were expensive but acceptable for the standard the hotel presented itself in. The staff were very friendly and helpful even considering how busy it was. Next time we stay in the area we may very well stay at the smiths.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thanks for this Micheal. Yes, isn't it superb when you don't have to go up to the bar to re-order, I love that myself when out.. We try as much as possible to offer table/floor service, its not always possible due to sheer volume, but we endeavour to deliver - that's what you want when you go out and certainly when paying £5 or 6 quid for a cocktail, that's the service you should get. pop in for a few more drinks next time you're in the area. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a terrible journey up to Gretna on the 12th February and in fact had to stop in Cheshire overnight and finally arrived at Smiths on the 13th at 10am for our 2.30pm wedding ceremony. We unfortunately missed out on one night at Smiths due to the awful weather resulting in closed motorways, floods and branches in roads etc. which was a great shame but being out on the roads really wasn't safe. However the staff at Smiths and Spoilt beauty salon soon helped us to relax. The location of Smiths hotel adjacent to The Old Blacksmiths shop make it a perfect destination for people marrying. Super friendly and helpful staff. A modern hotel ticking all the boxes for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room at the front of the hotel which wasd perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Nice one Chris, glad you got to us safely and were able to relax and enjoy the hotel and service - weather was awful that week. Thanks for taking the time to post up your review, its much appreciated and I will hopefully see you back here again in the near future. all the best Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Smiths is a fantastic hotel..the atmosphere is relaxed and warm...the rooms are lovel. .service..excellent. .food is delicious ..nothing is ever a problem ...we love it there and had our wedding reception in 2008 and have bewn back many times to stay. Woul highly recommend it...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missyelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Missyelly - superb review, thanks for your continued support and custom. You keep coming, we'll keep looking after you. All the best Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at Smiths whilst attending a wedding as a guest; Very nice comfortable warm room, (Needed as the weather was inclement during my stay) All the usual things included, tea/coffee making facilities, iron, free wifi, I did not use the restaurant, as in my opinion was a little overpriced. However the bar menu was more competitively priced.. The breakfast, which was included in the price of the room was very good, (buffet style as most of them are these days) nevertheless, well cooked, and good choice.. The staff were very professional, nothing to much trouble, pleasant and welcoming.. Talking to other guests at the aforementioned wedding, left me in no doubt that we'd chosen well by booking with Smiths..
Gretna and its surrounding area is a lovely place to visit, if you're in the area, check into Smiths and explore the area and view its history..

Room Tip: If you have the chance, book a room at the front of the hotel, the rear of the hotel faces a busy ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie_bullmastiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Alfie, thanks ever so much for reviewing the hotel, I really enjoyed reading your words, all very sensibly balanced in opinion. if you're in the area again, do pop in. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had a great stay and an even better meal. The food was wonderful had the biggest steak I've ever had and the passion fruit brulee was to die for. Staff first class. Booked our wedding Reception before we left. Cannot wait till next year!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire_r_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
That's great news Claire, I'm so pleased that you've chosen us to host the big day - roll on next year. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
938 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
396 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Solway Lodge Hotel
Solway Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing