We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal stopover across the Border”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Ideal stopover across the Border”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stopped twice at the hotel, and although the "odd numbers" hotel rooms are adjacent to the motorway they do not deter a nights sleep. We had one of the hotels family rooms which were the best laid out we have found in our travels. Only criticism is the bathroom needs grab rails for safety and longer shower curtains as they float towards the bath!

Bar meals, restaurant and full breakfast meals were of very good quality and all staff were friendly and welcoming.

Ideal easy walking to all points of interest.

Room Tip: Even numbers for hotel room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcesterDarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Many thanks for your feedback Worcester Darby, they are well received. Good to hear you approved of the family room and I note your suggestion of grab rail. Do visit us again if and when you're back in the area. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    285
    160
    71
    37
See reviews for
324
641
13
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Me and my husband stayed here on the 2nd & 3rd May 2014 when we renewed our vows for our 10yr anniversary, the hotel room was amazing, nice and clean and what a veiw we were on the opposite side of the motorway. The Breakfast is advertised as a full scottish breakfast but I am sorry to say that this is not correct, we eat square sausage and tottie scones not link sausage and hash browns lol but all the same it was nice. The bar staff were very good and friendly (look out for Bear Grylls look alike behind the bar lol) the gardens to the side of the hotel are amazing for your photos if you are getting married or just if you want to take nice holiday photos. we will be going back at some point hopefully sooner rather than later. Thank you Smiths.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel for the fab views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dawn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
A very entertaining review, thanks Dawn. I assume its Stuart whom you say resembles Bear Grylls, ha ha, is that a good thing? Ahh the Scottish breakfast....you are of course correct, but unfortunately the square sausage didn't quite work for us (too much being left, wasted!) so had to go with the link style, likewise with the potato scone i'm afraid - I actually received numerous complaints that we didn't do hash browns, so put them on in place of the tattie scone, I know , I know...sometimes just cant win. Enjoyed your comments though Dawn, do come back and maybe let me know in advance and I will ensure that both lorne and scone are available to you. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here on 2/5/14, as we were travelling onto the west coast of Scotland. We will definitely be back,what a lovely experience. Could not fault anything, from the lovely welcoming greeting we had from the receptionist on arrival to the fab breakfast. Our room was excellent and I have to mention the superb barman Andrew, he was so friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen_dave_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Karen & Dave, great review, many thanks - Andrew will be delighted with the mention. Well now you know where we are, do come back when next passing on your travels. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Invited to a wedding at Gretna and didn't know what to expect. Arrived and checked in and pointed at our cottages. It was a small wedding and we all stayed I the cottages directly opposite the Blacksmith's.

I was on my own so had the smallest cottage. It was lovely and definitely not small. Massive bed, lounge area, a, fold out kitchen and superb bathroom and changing area.

The wedding was brilliant and so much fun. Then had the wedding breakfast in the main hotel. Great food and good service. Followed by a evening of drinking and chatting to my brother's new family. Great night was had by all.

Then to bed. Slept like a log.

I will be back but probably not for a wedding.

Room Tip: All the cottages were fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPH_EastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for the review PPH, glad the cottage was up to par. Sounds like you had a good time with the new family, nice one. all the best Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for one night as we were meeting up with family. This is a contemporary styled hotel which is probably aimed more at the business guest rather than the holiday maker. Staff were friendly and efficient. Our spacious room was on the opposite side from the motorway and was quiet with a pleasant view over the fields. A good sized comfy bed with a sitting area and TV at one end. Tea and coffee making facilities were basic. Very clean bathroom with plenty of towels and toiletries provided. The restaurant was tucked away at one end of the large bar and very comfortable lounge area, which had plenty of room to sit . Breakfast was extensive. Although self service, there were no queues. Good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathBarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks Kath, im so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to a speedy return. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne Wiltshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed two nights to attend a relatives wedding, I travel a lot both with family and for business, this is without doubt one of the nicest well run hotels with the friendliest staff and spotlessly clean.

Nothing was enough trouble for the staff, the food in the restaurant which we used both evenings was lovely.

A thoroughly great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saint123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks Saint, great to have had you here for the 2 days. I'm so pleased all went well and that you've left with good memories. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hotel clean with large well appointed rooms. The staff is excellent although the very pleasant and helpful waiting staff would benefit from training - particularly the younger girls. Food not great either breakfast or dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BJW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for the review BJW7, appreciate it. Our young staff do of course receive training and as with everywhere have to start somewhere, guided by our experienced crew. I'm sure they'll soon be up to the required skill level.
A little disappointed with the "but not if you're a foodie" comment, but I do understand that opinions vary amongst "foodies" as to what is apparently good and bad - sorry we didn't quite meet your expectation on this occasion. Thanks again and best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing