We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel, friendly and great bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Old Basing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, friendly and great bar”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Really cool stay! 2 nights whilst we got married. The staff, particularly the wedding planner Carly couldn't of been more helpful (when we booked the wrong 2 days and wedding date!!)
Brilliant restaurant, the Al la carte menu was divine and the BAR! WoW! The effort in to the presentation of the cocktails was amazing. Especially the huge martini glasses which were as tall as my nephew, and the sparkling anvil cocktail. Highly recommend. The bedroom was lovely, bit tatty when you look closely , but nothing to worry about. My only bad things is the "huge" bed is two singles pushed together and you can feel the gap under the sheets, and the towel rail in the bathroom was 2 years over due electrical test

Room Tip: The balcony room is a great choice for the lovely huge window (great for pre wedding pics). The bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post up your comments pinkat, really appreciate it and so good to read that you enjoyed yourself. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    291
    161
    71
    41
See reviews for
333
652
13
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shotts, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My boyfriend and I headed down to The Smiths hotel from Glasgow last week for an overnight to celebrate our anniversary. We had contacted the hotel previous after reading many reviews, to see if we would be able to upgrade our room. We got a reply very speedy with a choice of upgrades and settled on The Ash Suite. Due to train times we arrived 2 hours early and asked for a taxi to take us to the outlet so we could kill some time, we were able to leave suitcases with the hotel which was great, no need to carry them around!

When we arrived back and were about to head to the room there was a slight mix up with our package but was quickly sorted. The Ash Suite was absolutely stunning and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to upgrade! The candles were lit, fireplace on, music playing and rose petals on the bed - seriously breathtaking. The package we booked included cocktails and when reception phoned to ask if we wanted them, I have to say, the receptionist was very unhelpful. There was no menu in the room, the list wasn't read out to us and nothing was explained. I eventually had to ask after a very monosyllabic conversation if we had to come down to order. When I found the menu online on my mobile, I phoned back to order to which I was cut short and told I would be passed through to the bar. Very unimpressed.

We had booked dinner for 8 o'clock and arrived around five to. On arrival we were asked if we had seen the menu, to which we replied no, and were sat at the bar - I found this a little strange. The staff came to take our order which I had to then explain that we were booked in at the restaurant and 40 minutes later we were seated. I could understand if it was peak time on a Saturday night and the restaurant was mobbed. Unfortunately it was a Wednesday and there were only two tables of two in the restaurant. The meal we had was absolutely delicious, no complains there - hats off to the chef! On finishing our meal we waited half an hour trying to catch someones attention to receive the bill as there were no staff around, we eventually got another staff member who didn't even work in the restaurant. There was an elderly couple beside us who had asked for a bottle of wine 40 minutes previous and eventually had to cancel it, then asked for coffees, which after half an hour (when we left) they still hadn't received. What we couldn't understand was that there were 3 members of staff on.

We had a bucks fizz breakfast delivered to the room in the morning which was fantastic! No faulting the breakfast, It came on time and was absolutely delicious.

For us, we would definitely like to return to The Smiths as it was one of the loveliest places we have stayed, our suite was completely worth the extra and the food was on point. Unfortunately for us, the service just wasn't at the same standard which was quite frustrating as the hotel is beautiful.

Kind Regards,
Laura and Craig

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if there are any upgrades available, it is worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauramcseveney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Laura & craig, thanks for the review - I'm sorry to read of your service frustrations on the night you stayed, quite unusual for us to get negatives in this area, so really sorry about that. I cant quite get my head around what happened with the cocktails to be honest and think that something has maybe miscommunicated somewhere - generally the receptionist would indeed make the necessary courtesy calls but really only to give the heads up to the F&B team as to when to expect you, at which time it makes sense to order the cocktails so that they can be made up and enjoyed freshly whilst relaxing in the bar. Anyway, im sure we could have performed or communicated far better on this occasion, so we will share your comments amongst the team. Thanks again for the comments , they all help and I look forward to your return . Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was the perfect hotel to check into After a hard day on Ben Nevis. It was also the night before our wedding, and we had ordered the extra romantic package, which included cocktails on arrival, rose petals, candles and a Buck's Fizz breakfast. The room, a standard double, was really nice, spacious and with nice touches like dressing gowns and a proper selection of teas and coffee. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening as we arrived rather late, but breakfast the next morning was very good, with a great selection of foods on offer. This seems to be the place many wedding parties stay, and I visited the little salon before we left...pricey but the girls in there were very nice. We wished we were staying longer than one night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoulaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Ben Nevis, the night before your wedding...Are you mad loula!!!!. Actually that sounds amazing, Scafel then onto Snowdon for honeymoon then hey.. Really glad you enjoyed your stay. Best regards Darren,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great location in Gretna Green; we had a lovely stay and our friends wedding went to plan. The Beauty Salon is super had hair and make-up the morning of the wedding and the girls where more than happy to touch up any loose ends in the afternoon as quite windy on the day. The room was small but adequate for a short stay. It was quite warm and stuffy in the room and to open the window would have meant enduring the staff smoking below and the smell entering the room and the noise of the motorway traffic. There was a stain down the sink in the bathroom that reception informed me was hair dye (it looked like blood); there was fluff and crisps on the floor so the room could have been hoovered more thoroughly. The mattress was hard but that's down to personal preference, this may suite some people. My only other complaint was the waiting on staff in the restaurant we had to constantly ask for items to be replaced at the breakfast buffet on both mornings; and not just the cooked items which you appreciate being fresh but also plates, milk, croissants, cutlery.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JaneSH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
What a very disappointing review, I'm so sorry we didn't meet your expectations Jane, truly I am. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We would like to share our wonderful experience with the Smiths Hotel for our recent wedding.
Wow what a wonderful hotel your staff run!
From our initial meet and greet with our assigned wedding planner (I cant remember her name) but she wore glasses?
Well she was fantastic with us and explained everything in great detail.
Very professional, friendly and understanding of our every need.

The day went perfect with no problems at all, The post wedding greeting was very professional and made my wife and I feel extremely important.
Nothing was hurried and everything was explained patiently about how our evening could be arranged.
I would like to give a big thankyou to your Bulgarian organisor Svev? (I apologise for not knowing your staff members names).
And also the bar staff who helped as much as possible when my music amplifier failed to operate.
Not a single thing was missed by all of your tremendous staff.
Oue bridal suite 3rd floor 50 was absolutely stunning very clean and beatifully set up I felt like a footballer and we just didnt want to leave.
We would now like to spend our 1st year anniversary with you so many thanks once again.

Kind regards
Mr & Mrs McFarland
Cardiff

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
good one Paul, great comments about the staff and hotel , I'm delighted with that. be more than happy to have you back , don't wait for anniversary, come anytime you like. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It was a pleasure to stay in the no 6 Bensmoor suite cottage..they was lovely and clean.. Had two bedrooms + two bathrooms .. TV in each bedroom.. And one in the living room. .. Also had small kitchen.. The cottage was Very spacious ..
The breakfast at the smiths was delicious.. And with lots of options.
Would recommend the smiths to anyone...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for this Lorraine, happy to hear that you enjoyed the cottage. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel and only thing I would say is could be doing with a freshen up in some areas (stairs and hallways) but didn't affect our stay at all, great staff, value, food, drinks and overall stay:) would definitely go back and would recommend

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grosart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
thanks for the post grosart, really appreciate the recommendation. all the best Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing