We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smiths hotel gretna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smiths hotel gretna”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Have stayed at the smiths now three times can't fault the hotel staff pleasant and helpful excellent rooms fantastic food would recommend the hotel with anyone wanting a relaxing stay will definitely be staying again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulnewcastl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for your continued business Paul, great to hear of repeat guests continually enjoying themselves. all the best Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    291
    161
    71
    41
See reviews for
333
652
13
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Smiths Hotel in Gretna last September for 2 nights when we got married. What a fantastic hotel and our special day was wonderful. Picked up in a vintage Rolls Royce and taken to our venue to be married. The staff at the hotel were very attentive and the service was spot on. Would highly recommend this first class hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: We had a room with a full balcony at the front of the hotel with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks Fran - Sounded like a perfect day - few more months and you'll be back for an anniversary maybe? All the best Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed as wedding guests in a twin room (although a double had been booked?) but as our friends had paid for this etc we didn't want to complain.

The room was large and had a desk area, coffee table and modern ensuite.

Toiletries are provided, which were of a good quality.

The beds were comfy and bedding very clean. The carpet and leather chair were showing signs of wear, although the rest of the room was in better shape.

The maid service was excellent and cleaned the room really well.

Reception were super friendly and attentive, as were all the bar staff and dining staff.

The food was very good, and the drinks served perfectly. The main bar and restaurant consists of little rooms, with curtains to make them more private. Lots of wedding parties were going on and birthdays... But you never felt overwhelmed or cramped by them.

A really nice hotel and a beautiful area to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrShaw2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks you dinsdale, a very pleasant and fair review to read. Glad you had a nivce time at the wedding. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing place to stay, fantastic rooms, lovely staff, beautiful food.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to all of our family and friends. We were originally booked in at the hazledene and after seeing the room we were allocated and subsequently being told that the hazledene could not offer food to us we ha a last minute book in at the smith, the staff were fantasic and very understanding, the room was palatial.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatSte2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Natste, I'm delighted that you ended up staying with us and that your visit turned out so well. Now you know who and where we are theres no reason not to come visit again. Thanks for the review, absolutely delighted with your comments. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I got married in Gretna Green last month. My wedding party stayed at Smiths at Gretna Green. The staff were lovely. Instead of a wedding cake we had a giant Miami Vice cocktail which took us a couple of hours to drink. We hadn't planned it, but it was a nice added extra on the day. My mum and I had our hair and makeup done in the salon and the girls there were lovely. We were very happy with their work. We had a fantastic dinner in the hotel restaurant. I loved it and it rounded off the day nicely. The only negative comment I would make, is that the bedroom we had was a bit dark. Other than that, I must say I had a really good stay at Smiths.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks Laoise - the cocktails are getting some superb feedback of late - cant believe it took you 2 hours to drink though , saying that ,its huge isn't it. good to read your review, all the best Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Basing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Really cool stay! 2 nights whilst we got married. The staff, particularly the wedding planner Carly couldn't of been more helpful (when we booked the wrong 2 days and wedding date!!)
Brilliant restaurant, the Al la carte menu was divine and the BAR! WoW! The effort in to the presentation of the cocktails was amazing. Especially the huge martini glasses which were as tall as my nephew, and the sparkling anvil cocktail. Highly recommend. The bedroom was lovely, bit tatty when you look closely , but nothing to worry about. My only bad things is the "huge" bed is two singles pushed together and you can feel the gap under the sheets, and the towel rail in the bathroom was 2 years over due electrical test

Room Tip: The balcony room is a great choice for the lovely huge window (great for pre wedding pics). The bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post up your comments pinkat, really appreciate it and so good to read that you enjoyed yourself. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shotts, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My boyfriend and I headed down to The Smiths hotel from Glasgow last week for an overnight to celebrate our anniversary. We had contacted the hotel previous after reading many reviews, to see if we would be able to upgrade our room. We got a reply very speedy with a choice of upgrades and settled on The Ash Suite. Due to train times we arrived 2 hours early and asked for a taxi to take us to the outlet so we could kill some time, we were able to leave suitcases with the hotel which was great, no need to carry them around!

When we arrived back and were about to head to the room there was a slight mix up with our package but was quickly sorted. The Ash Suite was absolutely stunning and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to upgrade! The candles were lit, fireplace on, music playing and rose petals on the bed - seriously breathtaking. The package we booked included cocktails and when reception phoned to ask if we wanted them, I have to say, the receptionist was very unhelpful. There was no menu in the room, the list wasn't read out to us and nothing was explained. I eventually had to ask after a very monosyllabic conversation if we had to come down to order. When I found the menu online on my mobile, I phoned back to order to which I was cut short and told I would be passed through to the bar. Very unimpressed.

We had booked dinner for 8 o'clock and arrived around five to. On arrival we were asked if we had seen the menu, to which we replied no, and were sat at the bar - I found this a little strange. The staff came to take our order which I had to then explain that we were booked in at the restaurant and 40 minutes later we were seated. I could understand if it was peak time on a Saturday night and the restaurant was mobbed. Unfortunately it was a Wednesday and there were only two tables of two in the restaurant. The meal we had was absolutely delicious, no complains there - hats off to the chef! On finishing our meal we waited half an hour trying to catch someones attention to receive the bill as there were no staff around, we eventually got another staff member who didn't even work in the restaurant. There was an elderly couple beside us who had asked for a bottle of wine 40 minutes previous and eventually had to cancel it, then asked for coffees, which after half an hour (when we left) they still hadn't received. What we couldn't understand was that there were 3 members of staff on.

We had a bucks fizz breakfast delivered to the room in the morning which was fantastic! No faulting the breakfast, It came on time and was absolutely delicious.

For us, we would definitely like to return to The Smiths as it was one of the loveliest places we have stayed, our suite was completely worth the extra and the food was on point. Unfortunately for us, the service just wasn't at the same standard which was quite frustrating as the hotel is beautiful.

Kind Regards,
Laura and Craig

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if there are any upgrades available, it is worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauramcseveney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi Laura & craig, thanks for the review - I'm sorry to read of your service frustrations on the night you stayed, quite unusual for us to get negatives in this area, so really sorry about that. I cant quite get my head around what happened with the cocktails to be honest and think that something has maybe miscommunicated somewhere - generally the receptionist would indeed make the necessary courtesy calls but really only to give the heads up to the F&B team as to when to expect you, at which time it makes sense to order the cocktails so that they can be made up and enjoyed freshly whilst relaxing in the bar. Anyway, im sure we could have performed or communicated far better on this occasion, so we will share your comments amongst the team. Thanks again for the comments , they all help and I look forward to your return . Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gretna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing