We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Gretna Hall(Gretna Green)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,535)
Filter reviews
1,535 results
Traveller rating
906
325
180
80
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
906
325
180
80
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthouserose suitewedding packagebar menubalcony roomwedding partieswedding receptionlovely hotelbeauty salonfamily roomwedding nightreception staffanvil hallthe cottagesa la carte menuwedding breakfastamazing wedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
876 - 881 of 1,535 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for work purposes, very modern & contemporary hotel, evening meals were very tasty & high standard, breakfast had a good selection & plentiful, staff are friendly and helpful, plenty of parking, good sized room, clean with a comfortable bed. Light sleepers may wish to request a room at the back as close to motorway but I'm a heavy sleeper so didn't bother me. Will continue to use when in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Cheers for this second review silverbluemotion, glad everything is still ok for your visits. All the best Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Have stayed at the smiths now three times can't fault the hotel staff pleasant and helpful excellent rooms fantastic food would recommend the hotel with anyone wanting a relaxing stay will definitely be staying again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulnewcastl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Many thanks for your continued business Paul, great to hear of repeat guests continually enjoying themselves. all the best Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Smiths Hotel in Gretna last September for 2 nights when we got married. What a fantastic hotel and our special day was wonderful. Picked up in a vintage Rolls Royce and taken to our venue to be married. The staff at the hotel were very attentive and the service was spot on. Would highly recommend this first class hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: We had a room with a full balcony at the front of the hotel with amazing views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thanks Fran - Sounded like a perfect day - few more months and you'll be back for an anniversary maybe? All the best Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed as wedding guests in a twin room (although a double had been booked?) but as our friends had paid for this etc we didn't want to complain.

The room was large and had a desk area, coffee table and modern ensuite.

Toiletries are provided, which were of a good quality.

The beds were comfy and bedding very clean. The carpet and leather chair were showing signs of wear, although the rest of the room was in better shape.

The maid service was excellent and cleaned the room really well.

Reception were super friendly and attentive, as were all the bar staff and dining staff.

The food was very good, and the drinks served perfectly. The main bar and restaurant consists of little rooms, with curtains to make them more private. Lots of wedding parties were going on and birthdays... But you never felt overwhelmed or cramped by them.

A really nice hotel and a beautiful area to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrShaw2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thanks you dinsdale, a very pleasant and fair review to read. Glad you had a nivce time at the wedding. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing place to stay, fantastic rooms, lovely staff, beautiful food.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to all of our family and friends. We were originally booked in at the hazledene and after seeing the room we were allocated and subsequently being told that the hazledene could not offer food to us we ha a last minute book in at the smith, the staff were fantasic and very understanding, the room was palatial.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatSte2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Natste, I'm delighted that you ended up staying with us and that your visit turned out so well. Now you know who and where we are theres no reason not to come visit again. Thanks for the review, absolutely delighted with your comments. Regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews