We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife's best friend got married at the Blacksmiths and held the reception at Smiths , we stayed 2 nights the restaurant was superb a good choice of menu and wines .
Very modern clean room overlooking the countryside .
The wedding reception was in a private room and again the food served was fantastic
Reasonable prices since they have a fairly captive clientele

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Cheers Ian, pleased with you comments and very happy to read of your satisfaction. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just ate the best fish and chips I've ever had in a restaurant. Everything from the presentation to the taste was fantastic...brilliant. Hotel is very modern and bar area very smart. Rooms excellent. I will be using this hotel for my business trips to carlisle in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyjen131199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

AbsolutelyTonyjen, use us as many times as you like - decent room rates always available - booking direct is always best for upgrades, rates etc. The fish and Chips are arguably the most popular bar/lounge dish so good to hear that the registered so favourably with you. all the very best Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I unfortunately did not stop at this hotel, but we decided to try the restaurant, it is a real gem, excellent food, great quality at a reasonable cost, the staff were also very good and could not fault the experience. When I am back in Gretna I will definitely stop at the hotel as it looked very attractive and clean. Excellent all round.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

thanks for this write up about the restaurant experience John, appreciate it. yes, do look at our rates next time youre in the area, be delighted to have you stay over and experience the whole package here at Smiths. all the best darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for work purposes, very modern & contemporary hotel, evening meals were very tasty & high standard, breakfast had a good selection & plentiful, staff are friendly and helpful, plenty of parking, good sized room, clean with a comfortable bed. Light sleepers may wish to request a room at the back as close to motorway but I'm a heavy sleeper so didn't bother me. Will continue to use when in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Cheers for this second review silverbluemotion, glad everything is still ok for your visits. All the best Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Have stayed at the smiths now three times can't fault the hotel staff pleasant and helpful excellent rooms fantastic food would recommend the hotel with anyone wanting a relaxing stay will definitely be staying again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulnewcastl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Many thanks for your continued business Paul, great to hear of repeat guests continually enjoying themselves. all the best Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Smiths Hotel in Gretna last September for 2 nights when we got married. What a fantastic hotel and our special day was wonderful. Picked up in a vintage Rolls Royce and taken to our venue to be married. The staff at the hotel were very attentive and the service was spot on. Would highly recommend this first class hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: We had a room with a full balcony at the front of the hotel with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thanks Fran - Sounded like a perfect day - few more months and you'll be back for an anniversary maybe? All the best Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed as wedding guests in a twin room (although a double had been booked?) but as our friends had paid for this etc we didn't want to complain.

The room was large and had a desk area, coffee table and modern ensuite.

Toiletries are provided, which were of a good quality.

The beds were comfy and bedding very clean. The carpet and leather chair were showing signs of wear, although the rest of the room was in better shape.

The maid service was excellent and cleaned the room really well.

Reception were super friendly and attentive, as were all the bar staff and dining staff.

The food was very good, and the drinks served perfectly. The main bar and restaurant consists of little rooms, with curtains to make them more private. Lots of wedding parties were going on and birthdays... But you never felt overwhelmed or cramped by them.

A really nice hotel and a beautiful area to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrShaw2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thanks you dinsdale, a very pleasant and fair review to read. Glad you had a nivce time at the wedding. Best regards Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
469 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: £84 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing