We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Wedding !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dream Wedding !”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We recently got Married at Anvil Hall and had the rest of our celebrations at Smiths Hotel which to sum up in one word was AMAZING ! The Staff , Food & Rooms are all incredible to name just a few things that this fantastic hotel does so well.
All the rooms that our family and friends had which included 3 suits and the Penthouse were perfect !
The Staff are a credit to this hotel nothing was ever to much trouble from the friendly check in with the reception team to the F & B team making sure our glasses were always half full.Mentions must go to Chris & Slav who made sure of wedding breakfast was perfect and Yash for making amazing cocktails over the course of the whole weekend. But a special mention has to go to the Wedding team and Lesley Smith who we booked our special day with many months ago. We could contact her if we needed any questions answered or she would happily give her opinion if we were unsure . Thank you Lesley !
Lastly the Food which was all Fantastic but one of the highlights for me was the Hog Roast which was out of this world !
Well Done and Thank you to the whole Smiths Team keep up the hard work.

Room Tip: The Penthouse is Fantastic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you Ian, what magnificent feedback. I certainly have some characters here and you've named a good few of them in your review, which they'll be delighted about. All the best and good look with married life. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    304
    170
    74
    41
See reviews for
358
683
13
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked a balcony room for my sister in laws wedding. It was amazing! The pillows were so squishy and comfortable, the room was spacious and luxurious! The bed wage HUGE!!! The bathroom treats were lovely, the bath robes could have been softer but were still nice. The food was lovely! My 19month old fell asleep before her dinner could arrive on the day of the wedding so the chef later made her some chicken and chips free of charge, and also warmed her milk before bedtime too every night. The staff were so kind and welcoming, the whole weekend was just magical! I would recommend this hotel to everyone and anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
That's an excellent review Fiona, thank you so much. I never tire of hearing kind words about the staff, they work so hard to make the experience as special as it can be. Thanks again, Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

My wife's best friend got married at the Blacksmiths and held the reception at Smiths , we stayed 2 nights the restaurant was superb a good choice of menu and wines .
Very modern clean room overlooking the countryside .
The wedding reception was in a private room and again the food served was fantastic
Reasonable prices since they have a fairly captive clientele

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Cheers Ian, pleased with you comments and very happy to read of your satisfaction. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just ate the best fish and chips I've ever had in a restaurant. Everything from the presentation to the taste was fantastic...brilliant. Hotel is very modern and bar area very smart. Rooms excellent. I will be using this hotel for my business trips to carlisle in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyjen131199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
AbsolutelyTonyjen, use us as many times as you like - decent room rates always available - booking direct is always best for upgrades, rates etc. The fish and Chips are arguably the most popular bar/lounge dish so good to hear that the registered so favourably with you. all the very best Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torksey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I unfortunately did not stop at this hotel, but we decided to try the restaurant, it is a real gem, excellent food, great quality at a reasonable cost, the staff were also very good and could not fault the experience. When I am back in Gretna I will definitely stop at the hotel as it looked very attractive and clean. Excellent all round.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
thanks for this write up about the restaurant experience John, appreciate it. yes, do look at our rates next time youre in the area, be delighted to have you stay over and experience the whole package here at Smiths. all the best darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for work purposes, very modern & contemporary hotel, evening meals were very tasty & high standard, breakfast had a good selection & plentiful, staff are friendly and helpful, plenty of parking, good sized room, clean with a comfortable bed. Light sleepers may wish to request a room at the back as close to motorway but I'm a heavy sleeper so didn't bother me. Will continue to use when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Cheers for this second review silverbluemotion, glad everything is still ok for your visits. All the best Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Have stayed at the smiths now three times can't fault the hotel staff pleasant and helpful excellent rooms fantastic food would recommend the hotel with anyone wanting a relaxing stay will definitely be staying again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulnewcastl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for your continued business Paul, great to hear of repeat guests continually enjoying themselves. all the best Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
157 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
404 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Property: Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing