We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2009

The rooms and food were excellent but paying £135 without extra facilities to keep us entertained was a little steep e.g. no gym or pool. Ensure you have a room not facing the motorway, the noise is unbareable and you cannot open the window because of it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pussnoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,441 - 1,447 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2009

we got married in gretna on may the 29 2009 but arrived here on the 28,
originaly we had booked into one of the standard rooms with a balcony but when we arrived we arrived our room was situated over the main entrance to the hotel we asked to be moved and this was accomodated straight away to the other end of the building,
our wedding day was on the friday and tina my beautifull wife was booked into have her hair and make-up done down stairs at the hotel she showered and went off to get sorted out, i then went into the shower but it would not get hot so i rang the reception and they said it would be sorted out while we were getting married,
when we returned from getting married we had our meal in a secluded part of the restaurant by candle light and a bottle of champagne then we retired to our room,
when we got into our room it had not been cleaned neither was the hot water repaired and subsequently my wife broke down in tears,
the cleaners heard her and came to help, they rang reception and told them how upset she was and 10 minutes later we was moved to the rose suite ..... and what a fantastic room this was ,,,, with a free bottle of champagne,
this room was amazing with a 4 poster bed , back to back plasma tv's , glass table and chais, 2 x leather sofas, the bathroom was out of this world it had a seperate shower ,2 x sinks, the bath was huge and there were lights that changed colour and you could put the music on in the bathroom,
as we were there for another 2 nights this made our day the most memorable,
its an amazing experience and wow how i love my wife,
thanx to every one who helped and every one at "one stop weddings"

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bretttina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I stayed here with my girlfriend and family members for my brothers wedding. He booked a wedding package through the hotel and it was fantastic!
A modern and classy hotel with great staff. The organisation of my brothers wedding, right down to the finest detail was faultless.
The rooms are very impressive! As is the food!!
We hope to stay again soon!!!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank jay4750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

My Fiancee and i went to The Smiths Hotel, and we loved it. We are getting married at The Anvil Hall in May next year. Living down south we wanted to view the hotel and chat with the Wedding Coordinator.
Well.... we arrived and the staff were so nice, The hotel is really modern and has free parking which is normally hard to find in this day and age!

The food in the restaurant is amazing and nothing is too much trouble!

I think Gretna was lovely and there are some lovely places to drive around with beautiful sights! I cannot wait for our wedding in May i just hope the service continues!

Thanks to the Smiths for a fab couple of days!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadingEngland01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

I wrote a complaint letter to this hotel, I addressed it to the managing director but I never received a response. It was in relation to a complaint I made against Alison, the Duty Manager. Upon checking in for a one night stay we found the receptionist to be hopeless, she was ignorant, rude and basically didn't care. We complained - Alison strutted out of the back office soon after to "deal with us". When I commented to my friend that the staff were very unfriendly - Alison chased us to the lift and tried to jam her hand in to stop the doors closing when that didn't work she ran up the stairs to catch us and got in my face and challenged me to what the problem was!! Alsion really isn't little so I felt quite threatened. In the end I asked her if she'd ever heard the customer was always right! That shut her up! Walking out was an option but not at the time we arrived with an elderly relative. When dealing with Alison bear in mind - she's like a bull and can charge! This hotel's staff - don't give a damn - they have so many tourists / weddings (obviously) that upsetting one or twenty one doesn't matter to them at all and in fact, I think they relish in the idea.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KatieCook12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We have just returned from Smiths having got married at the Blacksmiths Smiddy in Gretna Green. We stayed for two nights with four friends and what can I say. From the moment we arrived we were impressed. Lovely staff, excellent facilities the rooms were very modern and clean. The buffet breakfast was the best I have had in any hotel.

We had our meal in the restaurant which was first class and all guests were very impressed. The service was again first class and the staff made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone whether it be for a wedding or a short break.

We will certainly be returning for our wedding anniversary.

Jo and Mike

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne_davidson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

with only 5 days notice the staff at Smiths and Gretna Weddings helped us to plan, book and ultimately enjoy our wedding on the 7/6/09. they guided us thro getting a special licence to the finer details of flowers, food , cake, hairdressers and pipers to provide the perfect day. Nothin was too much trouble, the rooms (Ash Suite) and family rooms we booked were beautiful, the fruit, champagne and choccies delicious. The meals (evening, 3 course wedding breakfast, buffet and breakfast) were excellent and superb value for money. Our last minute party of 52 were very impressed with the professionalism and standards of service as were we. Excellent experience all round. dont hesitate to book into this hotel you wont be disappointed. They even repaired the brides nails free of charge !! it was a totally personal experience with great attention to detail. location as great for blacksmiths shop and I literally walked over the road to get married; Lynne even sucessfully ordered the rain to stay away.Thank you Michelle & Lynne.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newlyweds070609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
0.1 mi away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
498 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
449 reviews
1 mi away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range: £64 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing