We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”
Review of Linthorpe B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcudbright
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linthorpe B&B
Ranked #7 of 14 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We very much enjoyed our short stay. Sue makes a real effort to welcome you and ensure that you are happy with everything. Anything that we ate was home made or of high quality for other reasons. We especially enjoyed the hot smoked trout at breakfast. I would definitely stay here again and was sorry that I could not take the fishing lessons that are on offer. The bedrooms are very comfortable and the area is beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CF y Flia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppydoo100, Owner at Linthorpe B&B, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review, we enjoyed having you and your family here to stay. perhaps next time a fishing trip would be a good excuse to spend longer in beautiful Galloway.
Sue & Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
35
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My wife and I spent two very enjoyable days at Linthorpe in October 2013 courtesy of Sue and Simon.
The accommodation is very comfortable and the food excellent: we had dinner on both nights and the meals were top notch. We very much liked the local sourcing of the ingredients (some as local as their garden!) and the attention to detail.
We had Spey casting lessons with Sue and were grateful to her for her skilful tuition, which was a model of clarity and patience! I just wish we had had more time!
We thoroughly recommend Linthorpe as a B&B in this beautiful area of Scotland, Sue's first class tuition (she also showed us some of her magnificent wools which were a joy) and, last but not least, Simon's excellent bread!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AABUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent a thoroughly enjoyable holiday 14th to 21st September 2013. We were made very welcome by Simon and Sue MacNiven. The accommodation was very comfortable, and the food excellent with a good choice available for both breakfast and evening meal..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seahorse705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppydoo100, Owner at Linthorpe B&B, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, it is such a shame that the weather was so wet for your stay especially as both before and after it has been so good this year. At least you managed to get out and about for part of it and enjoy the lovely surroundings.

I hope you will enjoy living in the area.

Regards

Sue & Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Everything we could have expected was provided in abundance. A friendly welcome, lovely room, quiet surroundings, wonderful breakfast. Nice part of Scotland; we were sorry not to be able to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppydoo100, Owner at Linthorpe B&B, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review, I am glad we provided a nice stay for you and lived up to your expectations. Perhaps next time you will be able to stay longer and explore beautiful Dumfries & Galloway in all it's varied glory.

The garden will be at its very best in Spring when the rhodies will be out.

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay with Sue and Simon during a fishing course. We can heartily vouch for other guests' appreciation of the warm welcome, lovely surroundings, spacious & comfortable room and delicious breakfast. Kicking ourselves that we didn't book dinner, (we had a very nice pub meal at the Star Hotel). Sue and Simon are great hosts, but also respectively, great experts and inspirational on all kinds of wool crafts and bread-making.

Sue's patient and insightful fishing lessons have given me lots more confidence and I hope that I can develop until the next time we go back for more casting (and casting on).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lainiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppydoo100, Owner at Linthorpe B&B, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review, it means a lot to us that we have provided a quality stay and high class fishing tuition, I hope the "boys" rated their stay too.
Many thanks

Sue & Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just back from a short break that included fishing tuition from Sue. Great room and food - loved the fresh eggs and home made bread. Also did two half days fishing tuition which was a superb introduction to the sport for my self and son. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callyamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppydoo100, Owner at Linthorpe B&B, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review, All of the lovely comments prove to us that we are providing what people most want. It is great for me to bring new people into the sport of fly fishing and you would be welcome back any time.

Thank you

Sue & Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I can't say enough about our stay. My daughter made a valiant attempt to consume every strawberry available from the garden, but couldn't keep up with production. Had dinner one night and again a very high standard maintained, breakfast was varied and cooked to order. Rooms were large, comfortable and every effort was made to make us feel welcome. I had booked as part of a couple of days of casting tuition and again no disapointments. Instruction was clear concise and to the point. I learned a few tricks to help with casting problems that I can use to identify and correct any problems that may develop in the future. I would recommend to anyone as the top end of the B&B experience.

Room Tip: I don't think they have a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppydoo100, Owner at Linthorpe B&B, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it is great for us that you have taken the time to write this and so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the fishing tuition of value, hopefully you will have time to come back again.

Regards

Sue & Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
2.4 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
465 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
78 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
198 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blaven Bed & Breakfast
Blaven Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
36 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthorpe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthorpe B&B

Property: Linthorpe B&B
Address: Linthorpe Arden Road | Twynholm, Kirkcudbright DG6 4PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the small village of Twynholm we are in the heart of Galloway countryside. There are stunning uninterrupted views from the guest lounge which is large and beautifully furnished and has a lovely wood burner for chilly evenings. The bedrooms are large and comfortable with clean modern bathrooms. We offer locally sourced food in our evening meals which are all home cooked. We also use our own organically grown vegetables when in season and our own eggs. All bread, biscuits and cakes are homemade too. We often have home caught and smoked trout for breakfast and guests who come fishing have the option of having their trout smoked to take home. We have wifi access but guests need to have their own laptop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Linthorpe B&B Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing