We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hand Spinning weekend workshop”
Review of Linthorpe B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcudbright
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linthorpe B&B
Ranked #8 of 14 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I cannot rate this B&B highly enough. I booked in for what I thought would be just a hand spinning workshop but instead received a first class, personalised, all-inclusive weekend of exquisite home made food (fully accomodating food intolerances), ongoing warm and welcoming company, genuine first rate and professional tutoring, and a cozy homely environment to snuggle down in when you want to put your feet up (that is unless the many puzzles get your inquisitive mind pondering; be warned, they're hard to put down!)... However, puzzles completed, I went home feeling thoroughly well fed, truly inspired and already making plans for a return workshop in the spring... Sue and Simon, thank you hugely for a lovely weekend, yours is most definitely a home from home experience...

Room Tip: All rooms are more than generous in size and comfort, and all are quiet...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanetteMcLeodJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Linthorpe B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We very much enjoyed our short stay. Sue makes a real effort to welcome you and ensure that you are happy with everything. Anything that we ate was home made or of high quality for other reasons. We especially enjoyed the hot smoked trout at breakfast. I would definitely stay here again and was sorry that I could not take the fishing lessons that are on offer. The bedrooms are very comfortable and the area is beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CF y Flia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppydoo100, Owner at Linthorpe B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review, we enjoyed having you and your family here to stay. perhaps next time a fishing trip would be a good excuse to spend longer in beautiful Galloway.
Sue & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My wife and I spent two very enjoyable days at Linthorpe in October 2013 courtesy of Sue and Simon.
The accommodation is very comfortable and the food excellent: we had dinner on both nights and the meals were top notch. We very much liked the local sourcing of the ingredients (some as local as their garden!) and the attention to detail.
We had Spey casting lessons with Sue and were grateful to her for her skilful tuition, which was a model of clarity and patience! I just wish we had had more time!
We thoroughly recommend Linthorpe as a B&B in this beautiful area of Scotland, Sue's first class tuition (she also showed us some of her magnificent wools which were a joy) and, last but not least, Simon's excellent bread!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AABUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent a thoroughly enjoyable holiday 14th to 21st September 2013. We were made very welcome by Simon and Sue MacNiven. The accommodation was very comfortable, and the food excellent with a good choice available for both breakfast and evening meal..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seahorse705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppydoo100, Owner at Linthorpe B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, it is such a shame that the weather was so wet for your stay especially as both before and after it has been so good this year. At least you managed to get out and about for part of it and enjoy the lovely surroundings.

I hope you will enjoy living in the area.

Regards

Sue & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Everything we could have expected was provided in abundance. A friendly welcome, lovely room, quiet surroundings, wonderful breakfast. Nice part of Scotland; we were sorry not to be able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppydoo100, Owner at Linthorpe B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review, I am glad we provided a nice stay for you and lived up to your expectations. Perhaps next time you will be able to stay longer and explore beautiful Dumfries & Galloway in all it's varied glory.

The garden will be at its very best in Spring when the rhodies will be out.

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay with Sue and Simon during a fishing course. We can heartily vouch for other guests' appreciation of the warm welcome, lovely surroundings, spacious & comfortable room and delicious breakfast. Kicking ourselves that we didn't book dinner, (we had a very nice pub meal at the Star Hotel). Sue and Simon are great hosts, but also respectively, great experts and inspirational on all kinds of wool crafts and bread-making.

Sue's patient and insightful fishing lessons have given me lots more confidence and I hope that I can develop until the next time we go back for more casting (and casting on).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lainiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppydoo100, Owner at Linthorpe B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review, it means a lot to us that we have provided a quality stay and high class fishing tuition, I hope the "boys" rated their stay too.
Many thanks

Sue & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just back from a short break that included fishing tuition from Sue. Great room and food - loved the fresh eggs and home made bread. Also did two half days fishing tuition which was a superb introduction to the sport for my self and son. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callyamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poppydoo100, Owner at Linthorpe B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review, All of the lovely comments prove to us that we are providing what people most want. It is great for me to bring new people into the sport of fly fishing and you would be welcome back any time.

Thank you

Sue & Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
2.4 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
492 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
431 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blaven Bed & Breakfast
Blaven Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#1 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
206 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
79 reviews
7.9 mi away
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
Auchenlarie Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Castle Douglas
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthorpe B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthorpe B&B

Address: Linthorpe Arden Road | Twynholm, Kirkcudbright DG6 4PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Price Range: £37 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the small village of Twynholm we are in the heart of Galloway countryside. There are stunning uninterrupted views from the guest lounge which is large and beautifully furnished and has a lovely wood burner for chilly evenings. The bedrooms are large and comfortable with clean modern bathrooms. We offer locally sourced food in our evening meals which are all home cooked. We also use our own organically grown vegetables when in season and our own eggs. All bread, biscuits and cakes are homemade too. We often have home caught and smoked trout for breakfast and guests who come fishing have the option of having their trout smoked to take home. We have wifi access but guests need to have their own laptop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Linthorpe B&B Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing