We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grows on you with time, loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Please do not go on first impressions I.e. perception from outside the hotel. The staff are so helpfull in every way possible. They could not do enough for you. The food was excellent. We will return soon.

Room Tip: I think the main point is the rooms are very good but the staff are the assets to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights , the room was clean and very large , and had a very clean and modern en-suite . The breakfasts were brilliant , and the evening meal we had was fantastic . The portions were huge , and the plates were extremely hot ( take care ) . The only downside was the size of the hotel bar , it is very small , our room was bigger than it , and all the seats were taken by locals.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Called in for lunch on spec and found a warm welcome, with good food and a fair price. We eat in the conservatory which is very tastefully decorated and harmonises with the snug, which is equally comfortable.
The menu is simply and what they serve is fresh. The food seemed to be served by the cook and she was very attentive to our needs.
Although we did not stay at the hotel, it did seem very clean and well organised. There is no on-site car parking, but ample free on-street car parking is available in this very attractive river side town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Ignore old reviews of this place prior to second quarter of 2012 as it has been under new ownership since this time.

When we visit Kirkcudbright we always try and have a drink in here for its cosy atmosphere. I also look forward to their Guinness which is always a good pint here. Also in the summer months there is often live local folk music.

Having eaten here on several occasions now we have never left feeling disappointed. The food is consistently good and fresh.

Our most recent meals have been the seafood platter for two which was absolutely yummy. A great healthy snack.

We also recommend the chicken Dublin dish main coarse. It is filled with parma ham and has a lovely chunky crispy bread crumb on the outside. Absolutely yummy.

We also had a dish from the specials board which was the most tender lamb loin in a mint and wine reduction.

The portions are good and service is friendly and relaxed.

The only improvement that could be made is with the lighting in the dining area. It could do with a more ambient or cosy lighting with lamps along the window sill rather than the spot lights on the roof which do catch your eye when seated.

Overall, a great place to eat, drink and relax

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Only went in to this place for a pub lunch as there was not match options open to us when we arrived in the town
The food was what you expect the fish was fresh and the chicken that our little one had was nice and sandweges that my wife had was ok . was told after ordering they did not have any burgers

The staff ware friendly and the place was bissy a wee bit expensive

Now the bad points the hiy chare was filthy and the rest of the clientele ware snobs and did not like the face that a child was in the dining room . we were not felt welcome and if we had the opportunity to go somewhere ells we would have this was no fault of the staff but of the other customers in the place

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

my partner and I ate here ,recommended by a local shop owner..i had fish very fresh would have been beautiful if fat had been hotter as batter was a bit stodgy inside not cooked ..but ..I would have it again as the fish was delicious.my partner had the roast beef dinner lots of beef and nice vedges and a big homemade Yorkshire pudding...other meals looked very good too..what I was impressed with was the welcome we were given on arrival from front of house the owner I think and a smashing waitress nothing was too much bother...would we go back most certainly..meals were at an affordable price and good value.nicely presented...well done you have improved this place 100%

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StranraerRuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

I was here twice in the same week. On both occasions we got a warm welcome, the service was attentive without being too much and the meals were faultless. Really delicious goats cheese and fig tart, scallops and steaks with so much lovely sauce! The food was piping hot and so were the plates! ....something I really like.
Now as I said, the service was good, it really was : the girls and boy were very, very nice, pretty efficient and did do callback to check our meals were fine but this already good service could be improved on by the management. Just a little more observation by the servers is needed: if 1 person has a soup spoon and the other has a fork there's no need to ask who's having soup, just look. Yes, I know, I'm fussy. Simple notes at the time of order mean the cutlery and plates go down more slickly.
Well done everybody, I can see why you were busy on both nights!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank jkitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
0.2 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
509 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
85 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,080 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
441 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castle Douglas
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel

Address: 25 St. Cuthbert Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range: £63 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing