We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff, needs a lick of paint though” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, needs a lick of paint though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst at a wedding. Arrived late Friday night and the bar/ street was very noisy. Stayed in Room 3 with a small and hard double bed, curtains that let light through in the morning and the noise from outside to contend with. We had a bad night's sleep. Woke up the next day and were about to leave and find another hotel but a bigger room was available that had a much nicer bed so took that. Room 1 also had a bath which was good. Breakfast was good though didn't eat anything else as we were at a wedding on Saturday evening. Bar is small though there is a snug round the back and the conservatory. Staff are lovely, very friendly. Place needs a bit of TLC. Our friends stayed at the Selkirk and its a much nicer hotel. The Kirkcudbright Bay is more of a pub with rooms upstairs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank essjay2730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    43
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
22
57
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

From the outside the Hotel looked a bit tired and in need of some new windows. Inside the Hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. There was a small bar area to the left, a snug at the back and a restaurant in the conservatory which served meals. There was also a beer garden at the back. Our Room was directly above the bar at the front of the hotel. It was very large, nicely decorated and had a new en-suite bathroom fitted. However guests should be aware that this bar is very busy at the weekend and as Room One is directly above the bar a lot of noise could be heard well into the small hours, not to mention the smell of cigarette smoke wafting up to our room from people smoking out at the door below.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant with usual cereals/juice and cooked breakfast was made to order. Compliments to the chef on the delicious homemade bread.

Hotel is very central in Kirkcudbright. Owners were very friendly and helpful. However better to ask for a room at the back to avoid the noisy bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gelascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife & I stayed for 2 nights in Room 1 which is on the first floor.
It's recently had a new en-suite bathroom, nice and clean & lovely shower.
The bedroom is very big & has a 2 seater settee, plenty of tea & coffee & free wifi - very easy to connect.
The downside of this room is that is right above the main bar - the bar closes at 11pm weekdays & midnight Friday & Saturday so expect some noise from there!
Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice & cooked fresh as you ordered
The staff were excellent & the locals in the bar were friendly
I've read some reviews saying the carpets were dirty -it would appear they've had a deep clean because we found them spotless.Some reviews state there were holes in towels - ours were brand new. The owners have had the hotel nearly 2 years and are clearly intent on improving it.
Car parking is on street & free. I found a space right outside the hotel. The location is very central - 300 yards to the harbour,100 yards to Tesco Express, 2 banks across the road,loads of craft shops on adjoining streets
Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before staying with friends nearby. Room was very large and spotless. Breakfast served by friendly staff with varied menu, portions large and of great quality. We had a family evening meal and everyone was very impressed. We observed the fresh fish being delivered to the holt and it did not disappoint. The holt looks a little tired from the outside but the staff make up for it.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 312P_M312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Please do not go on first impressions I.e. perception from outside the hotel. The staff are so helpfull in every way possible. They could not do enough for you. The food was excellent. We will return soon.

Room Tip: I think the main point is the rooms are very good but the staff are the assets to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights , the room was clean and very large , and had a very clean and modern en-suite . The breakfasts were brilliant , and the evening meal we had was fantastic . The portions were huge , and the plates were extremely hot ( take care ) . The only downside was the size of the hotel bar , it is very small , our room was bigger than it , and all the seats were taken by locals.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Called in for lunch on spec and found a warm welcome, with good food and a fair price. We eat in the conservatory which is very tastefully decorated and harmonises with the snug, which is equally comfortable.
The menu is simply and what they serve is fresh. The food seemed to be served by the cook and she was very attentive to our needs.
Although we did not stay at the hotel, it did seem very clean and well organised. There is no on-site car parking, but ample free on-street car parking is available in this very attractive river side town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
0.2 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#4 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
23.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel

Property: Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Address: 25 St. Cuthbert Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing