We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We only stayed 5 minutes .....used the toilet then left”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2010

The website is totally misleading - we arrived to find a girl standing outside smoking and blocking the entrance so we walked past to buy some time. The appearance of the hotel looked like a haunted house. Eventually we decided to squeeze pat the smoker and have a look. It was a Sat aftrerbon and the bar was full of the usual Sat afternoon drinkers. Within a minute we realised this wasnt what we thought so back to the car and travelled up the coast to Turnberry for a swanky 5 star night which saved the weekend. Its so true what they say - you pay cheap you pay twice. Turnberry was unbeleivable from the moment we pulled up the concierge took my keys we were spoiled rotten and the breakfast in the grand ballroom overlooking the Ailsa championship course was incredible- Missus estatic - relationship and pride intact - the best £200 Ive ever spent.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank brewster100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2010

Dreadful experience - firstly there was no one to welcome us or show us to our room so we were just handed the room key and told to go upstairs. The room was their most expensive I think; quite shabbily decorated and far from clean (the website for this hotel is incredibly misleading). Admittedly it was a cold night, but the draft from the chimney was freezing, so we stuffed it with newspaper. Then, as we started to relax after our journey from Sussex my husband went into the bathroom to discover a horrible brown sludge in the macerator toilet - it looked as though someone had been sick and the mess had just been left. so he flushed the toilet and as it was evidently blocked it started to overflow onto the bathroom floor. It was disgusting. Now, I know that things can go wrong but the owner dealt with us appallingly - there was no apology in person, they merely sent some poor girl up with a bucket and an offer of £10 off our room. We ended up going to the Best Western in Kirkcudbright and it was fabulous in every respect and only cost £5 more!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank munchkinSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We took a taxi from 8 miles out side Kirkcudbright to have a birthday celebration for my husband the taxi driver was the owner of the Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel we told him we would need a taxi back after our meal he said there would be no problem, we phoned at 10:40 to find his phone switched off, we were told to go round to the hotel and the staff would be able to get him for us(this was the very helpful lady in the Masonic Arms) we asked the girl behind the bar in the Kirkcudbright Bay if she could phone her boss She did, he said he was in bed, i asked her to phone back and tell him this was the couple he had brought in to town for a meal and he told us he would get us back all he said was he was not getting out of bed. As there is two taxi services in Kirkcudbrignt and both advertise 24hrs i could not understand how we could not get one also how someone who knows we havd travelled in with him and we needed a taxi back did not come and collect us. We got a taxi from Castle Douglas sometime later but any one who lives in these parts will know that this would double our costs. So i just wonder if this is how he treats tourists in his taxi how he treats them at his hotel.( Also my husband is 67yrs old with a heart condition)

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
4  Thank hair1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

This beautiful little hotel has a big secret - locally-sourced food of the highest quality served with flair, imagination and considerable charm. It seems that nothing is too much trouble. Try the gorgeous Kirkcudbright Queenie Scallops or the succulent Beltie Beef. Be amazed at the canapes and the glorious puddings, testimony to the skills of chef Peter. Jill is a wonderful hostess and sees that everything runs lke clockwork - I congratulate her on the whole presentataion.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandgousier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

I came across from the US for a family gathering. The celebration's evening meal was held in the hotel's function room. The food was excellent and delightfully different from the norm. The service provided to the twenty of us was of good quality and very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritinNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank utate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Frédéric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
0.2 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
499 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
85 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
112 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel

Address: 25 St. Cuthbert Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range: £72 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing