We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another stay in Kirkcudbright”
Review of Gordon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gordon House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 14 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 December 2013

turned up at short notice but got a room and the price was very good. The room was a little on the small side and had a tiny TV. However overall it was value for money. I did eat there and the meal was acceptable.

The breakfast was very good and made up for the meal the night before.

Room Tip: small room but acceptable and clean.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slippery42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Gordon House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing night at the Gordon house. Food was lovely, service was excellent and the live music on the Friday night finished off our stay perfectly. Strongly recommend. We will be back next year! Hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1,233,444,333,221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Decided to go in here for an evening meal some time back. But wish we hadn't bothered! The meal came eventually and someone had got one of the main courses wrong. The whole attitude of the waitress was deplorable, she looked as if she just wanted to be somewhere else (home!) and didn't really care about good service. She was jingling coins in her apron and we got the impression that she was glad to see the back of us.
We will not go back here again for a meal. I cannot comment on the accommodation as this was just a meal out, but this was bad enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 186514MargaretM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the Jazz festival and cannot speak highly enough
of the service we received. The staff were very friendly, the food was great, everything was spotless and the owner Stewart made us feel so welcome. He was on hand at all times during our stay to make our festival break special.
The price of everything was very acceptable and I would recommend anyone to book.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Nice friendly staff, the food was lovely and not badly priced. Back bar needs updating but all round nice place. The choice of drinks could also be better. Looking forward to seeing the garden finished next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerrizhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed here after attending the Wickerman this year - great little hotel - good value. We also had an evening meal here. The manager did warn us before hand that they were short staffed due to some staff calling in sick(think they may have also been at the festival!). So we were well warned that the service might be slower than normal as only 1 member of staff in to do restaurant and bar. So we just settled back relaxed had a few drinks and I must say when the food came it was worth the wait. Good home cooked food - my niece particulary liked the pepper sauce. In fact the only thing that spoilt our night was an incredibly rude table next to us - it was clear from the start that they were just there to complain and we were shocked when they got up and left without paying after their main courses arrived saying they were awful - some of them had not even tried them. The manager dealt with this as well as you could expect.
The next morning we were treated to one of the best breakfasts I have had in hotel it was clear it was local produce - the haggis in particular was lovely - would defintely recomend.
Please take other reviews with a pinch of salt as that was not what we expereinced or witnessed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanneG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Best staff and food around, felt almost at home with the cosy atmosphere,and the log burning fire. Would recommend to any one to stay here.
Read other reviews and think this is lies especially after meeting the manager stewart who was hands on 24 hours a day what a top bloke !!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Taylorvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirkcudbright hotels
0.1 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#1 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchorlee Guest House
Anchorlee Guest House
#3 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
79 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blaven Bed & Breakfast
Blaven Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon House Hotel

Address: 116 High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Price Range: £45 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Gordon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon House Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing