We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and good foods” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and good foods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

We picked this hotel because of its excellent reviews and were quite happy with our stay. The staff were friendly and obliging and the hotel itself clean and comfortable, the public areas and restaurant were nicely decorated, if a bit dated, and there was a buzz about the place on an evening as locals came to eat etc. The food was good, although perhaps not quite as fabulous as some reviews state, with attention paid to presentation. We stayed for 2 nights and used the restaurant for both choosing the taster menu one night - the ecclefechan tart is definitely worth a try if like us you haven't encountered it before, but we were disappointed with the strawberry and white chocolate popcorn tower from the main menu as some of the corn hadn't popped and was inedible. We also thought that the portions were a bit generous for the taster menu when we expected only taster size plates but that isn't a complaint more an observation.

We stayed in a junior suite room which was quirky with a separate lounge and extra bathroom. It was the same price as a standard room I think and meant that one of us could go to bed or relax in the bedroom while one watched TV so it worked well for us. The room was clean with good facilities but again the decor was dated. The bed was very comfortable with quality linen and we both slept very well.

The area itself is pretty and laid back. Most of the towns are quaint but lacking in facilities. If you are blessed with good weather there is probably lots to see and do out of doors but unfortunately we weren't so we took in loads of galleries in the area instead.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golferDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    102
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
72
236
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Larkhall, Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

I stayed at the Selkirk Arms Hotel whilst down the South West on business last week. I could not fault it. The service from all staff was excellent. So efficient and friendly. The hotel was exceptionally clean and even had free wifi despite the fact that it was in the back of beyonds. Location was so peaceful, bed very comfy and the room had a radiator which I could adjust to suit my liking. The only slightly less positive comment I would make was that the food was a bit bland. It was well presented and consisted of local produce however I didn't think it was particularly tasty. I had the sea bass and scallops on the first night and fish and chips on the second night. Will however definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneMarie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed here for two nights in April 2011 and were very happy with the hotel. We had a large room that looked out over the hotel garden (Room 20, I think). The room was comfortable, clean and quiet and you could open the windows. The shower was a little feeble but there was a bath as well and plenty of hot water. The staff were pleasant and the breakfast excellent. Although the Selkirk Arms is a little more expensive than other hotels in Kirkcudbright, we booked it because of favourable reviews on Trip Advisor and the facilities it offered compared with the alternatives. We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and apologise for the water pressure in the shower. We are in the process of refurbishing our bathrooms and hope to have the shower pressure fixed by the end of the year. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Stayed for the weekend on a photography course and we were impressed by the very pleasant atmosphere here and attentive staff.
The room was good, we were glad to have our pet dog welcomed to the hotel, it means a lot to many people who enjoy rural breaks with their dogs.
We were with a large group and the function rooms and timing of the meals and breaks for coffee were spot on. I would recommend the hotel and would return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitandpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thank you for such a glowing report. I am delighted you all enjoyed yourselves. There seemed to be a super mix of folk on Philip Dunn's photography course and you were blessed with glorious sunshine. ( I'd love to say that's how it always is here !! ). Again delighted you all enjoyed the food, we have a great team in both the kitchen and front of house and they all get a huge boost when we get positive feedback. Thank you for coming and we hope we will welcome you back in the not too distant future. Chris Walker ( Co-owner )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed on a special 3 day offer. We had not visited the area before as we tend to go to the Lakes however the trip exceeded all expectations on all fronts. The scenery is beautiful and Kirkcudbright is delightful. The hotel is also well situated for RSPB site at Mersehead. Douglas McDavid [co-owner- I think] was very helpful, gave us details on Red Kite Trail which we also highly recommend. The quality and choice of Food is superb, ALL staff were truly very friendly and helpful, can't say I could say that for any other hotel I have ever stayed in! This Hotel is "a little Treasure". We will go back, no doubt.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardsFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

We stayed for mini break of 3 nights. Had not travelled in that area before as always went to Lakes but have to stay the scenery is beautiful, lots of nice walks and if you are a bird watcher the hotel is not too far from RSPB sites and also the Red Kite Trial. Douglas McDavid will willingly give you all info on that. The food is also to be highly recommended. All in all a very enjoyable experience, it.'s truly a little gem we will be going back for more no doubt.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardsSandbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

Stayed for the night with friends for a surprise dinner, service from arrival until departure second to none, nothing was too much trouble. Dinner was as good as it gets, in a lovely dining room. Bedroom was warm and bed extremely comfortable.
Kirkcudbright was at its best in the sunshine, a historical town with excellent shops and galleries.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LockerbieChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
19.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
18.7 mi away
Kirroughtree House Hotel
Kirroughtree House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Property: The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, 60% of rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing