We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Scottish Wecome, Great Local Fayre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Good Scottish Wecome, Great Local Fayre”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We got a warm welcome from the charming staff and were shown to our nice clean, warm room. Try for Room 3 its the same price as the others but is a cosy suite with a small sitting room as you go in on your right, a separate bathroom and nice old fashioned bedroom. The lounge Bar serves excellent food in a bright and friendly setting, the freshly landed fish and seafood, local steak and breakfasts are simply scrumptious. My Favorite was the Fish in Batter with Chips and Peas - it was outstanding.

Room Tip: Room 3 is an old worldy suite in the cottage - same price as other double rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at The Selkirk Arms Hotel.
We hope we will be able to welcome you back before too long.
Yours sincerely
CHRIS
Chris Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    109
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
79
244
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed one night in the Selkirk Arms and wished we could have stayed longer. It was cold and wet outside but the hotel was warm and welcoming. We were shown to our room which was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent with a wide choice. Hope we will return before too long.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I found this hotel, which i stayed in last week, a nice base to explore Kirkcudbright, a gorgeous little town situated on the Solway coast line. As it was just after Christmas, I took a chance and didn't book.. I was lucky as they had a number of people staying. As I was travelling solo I asked what they had, I was offered number 9 room for £59, it had a small entrance hall which gave entry to a bathroom and bedroom. The bedroom had a small double nicly made up and a desk area with luggage base. One thing lacking was tea & coffee facilitys, sometimes I'd expect in even the most basic hotel. Also upon retiring too bed, I thought I'd open the sash window a jar for a little fresh air, but as there were no weights attached it would not stay open, not a big problem in winter, but come summer...
The bed proved to be good, and I slept well.
I had eaten dinner in the bar, which was tasty and well presented by friendly staff. They also have a couple of well kept real ales on tap.
Breakfast was help yourself to cereals, followed by a choice of cooked options. I chose the Scottish breakfast, with a poached egg, sausage, bacon, fried tomato, mushrooms, hash brown, black pudding & haggis with toast on the side. It was tasty but I could not finish it all because it was a really dry dish, across the border they always serve baked beans with a breakfast, I missed them more than ever on this occasion!
I've rated 4 stars as the plus points, friendly welcome, great evening food etc.. more than outweigh the few points I've mentioned, which could be sorted out fairly easy, as a result I would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you for your glowing write up. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Just coming back to you on a couple of pointers - tea and coffee making facilities are in the dressing table draw in your room - every room does have tea and coffee making facilities and secondly you need only have asked for beans - we keep an emergency can up our sleeves. Brilliant point on the window - thank you - joiner phoned and re hanging hopefully will happen early next week.
All the very best for 2012 - thank you for your honest and appreciated feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.
CHRIS WALKER
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

we didnt book,just arrived we were shown two rooms a smaller one which had been refurbished and the garden room which was bigger but not yet been refurb.we choose the garden room(num 20) nice room but does need updating.the only concern was that the fans for the kitchen were very loud in the room,but when cookin was done the fans went off. the staff were all very freindly.and the food was very good.shame the weather was so bad.

Room Tip: the garden room because it overlooked the garden not the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishpastyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We arrived in the middle of a downpour and were immediately welcomed and shown to a lovely(and warm) bedroom and then had an excellent meal with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NORMA1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We have stayed in the Selkirk Arms several times now and visited many occasions in the past to enjoy the excellent restaurant and bar.

We visit twice a year as we love the area but equally look forward to our visits to the Selkirk Arms. Great food and beer, a lovely homely atmosphere and friendly, welcoming staff who would do any hotel proud. Breakfast is the best I have ever had anywhere, the Selkirk cooked breakfast requires a hearty appetite indeed!

Douglas and Chris have done a wonderful job with the Selkirk and long may it continue to thrive. Car park always seems full - what more can we say!

If it sounds as if we love this hotel and the staff it's because we do, they always make us feel special.

And by the way - no, we were not paid to write this review!!

Room Tip: Don't expect five star accommodation, be realistic and you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed here under a 3 night break special offer. We have a small dog and found only 4 establishments in the Kirkcudbright area that would allow dogs, so we were pleased that the Selkirk arms Hotel was one of them. We telephoned and asked for a quiet room and Joanne was very helpful and patient with us as we discussed our best options. We settled on Garden annex room 2 after listening to her advice.

When we arrived we were shown to the room. We were disappointed in that it was tired and was, in our opinion, in need of refurbishment. We went back to the reception and asked if there were other rooms available. The gentleman there told us they were fully booked but did have 2 rooms at the front of the hotel either of which that they would swap our room for. We were shown rooms 5 and 6 which had been refurbished and indeed they were much nicer and more comfortable rooms. He was perfectly fair and pointed out that these rooms were above the Sports Bar of the hotel and faced the road so would be noisier than the first room in the garden annex we were offered. He said that the bar closed at 11pm and they had installed some soundproofing to the rooms floor to minimise the transfer of sound into the room from the bar below. We were torn but with so few establishments allowing dogs in Kirkcudbright, we decided to accept room 6 and see how we got on.

It was possible to hear the sounds from the bar but as promised it did close around 11pm. However the noise from vehicles using the road at the front of the hotel was by far the most disturbing. This is a residential area but the road does appear to serve as access to the local school and the harbour by some traffic. The windows were single glazed wooden sash type of some age and served as little barrier to the noise from passing vehicles. This building is quite likely “listed” and if so there will be planning restrictions as to what materials can be used for its windows. If that is the case it may not be possible to fit plastic doubled glazed sealed units to cut down on the road noise but surely some form of secondary glazing could be installed (as I have found in many similar old hotels). We did find the traffic noise to be a problem and so wore ear plugs to get to and remain asleep.

The following day we did check out the other hotels and B&Bs that took dogs but frankly they didn’t match the quality of all of the other aspects of the Selkirk Arms Hotel, so, despite the noise problem we decided to stay for the full 3 night break. We ate in the bar the first night and the food was very nice indeed. I had eaten here some years before on a number of occasions and the food on this visit was still excellent. I’ve eaten more hotel breakfasts over the last 40 years than I could reasonably count but we did enjoy the Selkirk Arms breakfasts. Would we return? Perhaps, if the quieter garden annex room had been refurbished giving us the best of both worlds of quiet room and excellent service.

So to summarise, we both love this little town. The Selkirk Arms Hotel being a town hotel does have its limitations in that it will never have outstanding views and has to cope with the restrictions and disabilities of space and traffic; however we found the service to be excellent and staff to be friendly and very helpful and understanding of its limitations.

Room Tip: Front rooms are noisy with traffic and the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BulieandJob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your honest feedback. I'm delighted you enjoyed our food, service and indeed the town of Kirkcudbright. I do know that Joanna did try her hardest to give you the quietest room ( Room 2 ) in the cottage and I am sorry that you were disappointed with this room. We are slowly working our way round the room refurbishments and it is this very reason that we currently offer such competitive rates ( 3 nights for £99 ) in order to be good value for money. The secondary glazing is certainly an option and something that we are going to look into - thank you for the suggestion.
Once again thank you for choosing The Selkirk Arms Hotel and thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely
CHRIS
Chris Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
414 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
81 reviews
23.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
83 reviews
17.3 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
112 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Property: The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, all rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing