We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel with great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed one night in the Selkirk Arms (18 March) while visiting a friend for her birthday. I booked it based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. It lived up to the positive reviews. It's a lovely hotel with a beautiful garden. Our room was modern and clean and the receptionist was very welcoming and helpful when we arrived. Dinner in the restaurant was good (excellent portions) and they were happy to put together a special breakfast for me as I am vegetarian. We will definitely go back again and I am more than happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

Paid £98 for one night, a little steep for the small room and freezing bathroom. However, there's a good Bistro bar and Restaurant (breakfast was excellent). Would have been happier if two things hadn't happened. Came back mid-afternoon and no receptionist - stood for ages, eventually went into the bar where we found her serving pints! Secondly, when she did come to reception, rather than giving us our keys, she answered the phone and took a reservation for the Bistro Bar, and I qupte, "Yes, Table one in the Bistro Bar, for two, tonight at six") When we then asked for a reservation in the Bistro Bar she said "We don't do reservations in the Bistro Bar. You'll have to turn up at 5.45 and take your chances". Mmmmmm - could there be one rule for the locals and another for guests?

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank CCCCDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I reviewed this hotel in November 2011 after staying in October . We so enjoyed this hotel ,food and staff we took the Twxmas Break . The hotel lived up to all our memories and we are returning at the end of Febuary and being joined by my brother. Please visit this gem of a hotel you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 1 is an ideal room for a disabled person
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithGHullEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

So glad we managed to meet your expectations from your previous visit. Thank you for your wonderful feedback. All our Tripadvisor reports go on the staff notice board and they are a great boost to our hardworking team. Thank you.
Yours sincerely
CHRIS
Chris Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A warm welcome from the staff and management. Good food in a pleasant bar - there was a function in the restaurant. Room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We got a warm welcome from the charming staff and were shown to our nice clean, warm room. Try for Room 3 its the same price as the others but is a cosy suite with a small sitting room as you go in on your right, a separate bathroom and nice old fashioned bedroom. The lounge Bar serves excellent food in a bright and friendly setting, the freshly landed fish and seafood, local steak and breakfasts are simply scrumptious. My Favorite was the Fish in Batter with Chips and Peas - it was outstanding.

Room Tip: Room 3 is an old worldy suite in the cottage - same price as other double rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at The Selkirk Arms Hotel.
We hope we will be able to welcome you back before too long.
Yours sincerely
CHRIS
Chris Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed one night in the Selkirk Arms and wished we could have stayed longer. It was cold and wet outside but the hotel was warm and welcoming. We were shown to our room which was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent with a wide choice. Hope we will return before too long.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carsony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I found this hotel, which i stayed in last week, a nice base to explore Kirkcudbright, a gorgeous little town situated on the Solway coast line. As it was just after Christmas, I took a chance and didn't book.. I was lucky as they had a number of people staying. As I was travelling solo I asked what they had, I was offered number 9 room for £59, it had a small entrance hall which gave entry to a bathroom and bedroom. The bedroom had a small double nicly made up and a desk area with luggage base. One thing lacking was tea & coffee facilitys, sometimes I'd expect in even the most basic hotel. Also upon retiring too bed, I thought I'd open the sash window a jar for a little fresh air, but as there were no weights attached it would not stay open, not a big problem in winter, but come summer...
The bed proved to be good, and I slept well.
I had eaten dinner in the bar, which was tasty and well presented by friendly staff. They also have a couple of well kept real ales on tap.
Breakfast was help yourself to cereals, followed by a choice of cooked options. I chose the Scottish breakfast, with a poached egg, sausage, bacon, fried tomato, mushrooms, hash brown, black pudding & haggis with toast on the side. It was tasty but I could not finish it all because it was a really dry dish, across the border they always serve baked beans with a breakfast, I missed them more than ever on this occasion!
I've rated 4 stars as the plus points, friendly welcome, great evening food etc.. more than outweigh the few points I've mentioned, which could be sorted out fairly easy, as a result I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you for your glowing write up. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Just coming back to you on a couple of pointers - tea and coffee making facilities are in the dressing table draw in your room - every room does have tea and coffee making facilities and secondly you need only have asked for beans - we keep an emergency can up our sleeves. Brilliant point on the window - thank you - joiner phoned and re hanging hopefully will happen early next week.
All the very best for 2012 - thank you for your honest and appreciated feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.
CHRIS WALKER
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
124 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
117 reviews
9 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castle Douglas
90 reviews
19.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range: £87 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, all rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing