We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't get better personal service than here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

As an extended family of 17 (all ages) we got together at the Selkirk Arms to celebrate my Dad's 88th birthday and it was the perfect venue. The Burns room gave us a private gathering room , Douglas McDavid and all his staff made us very welcome and the whole event was wonderful . The food was excellent and a selected limited menu kept everything simple. It was good value with accommodation reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WigtownshireFourplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for The Selkirk Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

we really enjoyed our couple of nights in this friendly and 'old fashioned', in the best possible sense of the phrase, hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Visited here for lunch and was not disappointed. The food was excellent - hot and served quickly. the staff were very pleasant and attentive. Will definitely come here again when in Kirkcudbright.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WOLFACHMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Have just returned from a weekend staying at the Selkirk Arms. This was my first stay there and I am already planning my next. The room (8) was absolutely fine, although beds a bit soft. The facilities are fantastic and the link with the local art gallery is great and makes the walls throughout the hotel really interesting. Food is generous and beautifully cooked. The 3 course dinner is excellent and would given any city-based expensive restaurant a run for its money. Staff are 100% friendly, helpful and attentive in every way. Really a fantastic place, well done everyone at the Selkirk Arms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieKateGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Wow - what can we say - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Your review is on the staff notice board and has given the team a real boost. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely
CHRIS
Chris Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed with a group, US and Canadians, several rooms, in January, 2012. Our entire group had an excellent time here. Douglas, an owner, was available early morning to late night and aims to please!! He and his entire staff would move mountains to ensure that everyone has a wonderful stay at his hotel!! He arranged a Scottish night meal and entertainment for the group that was outstanding! Excellent food. The rooms are very nicely furnished, average size, and comfortable. Rooms are very clean, modern bathroom, no problems with noise, or sleeping. Breakfast was delicious, and the staff accommodated all special requests, and were prompt and friendly. Beautiful garden, quiet and relaxing. Short walk to all the shopping in town, which was excellent. There are two bars, some locals stopped in and were very friendly. The attitude of the staff makes this place outstanding!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchellsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased you all enjoyed the trip.
We hope to see you all again soon.
Best wishes
Douglas
Owner / Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed here on a weekend photography course and was very happy with all aspects of the hotel. Staff were all very helpful and welcoming, especially the owner, Douglas. My room was very comfortable with lovely modern bathroom. Food was very good at breakfast and dinner and plentiful - if anything, perhaps too plentiful. The hotel is clearly very popular locally and there a really good atmosphere in the very busy bar and dining room right through the weekend. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Kirkcudbright is a peaceful small town so even a room on the street at the front was very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwfr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

we stayed for three nights.this is a warm and snug hotel.everyone was welcoming and helpful. we enjoyed good food in comfortable surroundings and would have no hesitation in recommending it .

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
122 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
139 reviews
6.2 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
112 reviews
19.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range: £85 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, all rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing