We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights for a family wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The service you get at this small independant hotel is far superior to many 5* chains! Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly team who were always polite and attentive. We even got a call from the Duty Manager just 10 minutes after checking-out on Sunday to say that my husband had left his phone charger in the room, so we were able to swiftly pop back and collect it - much appreciated!
We were part of a large wedding party. The ceremony was held in the beautifully decorated room at Broughton House (former home of the artist, E.A. Hornel) and a short walk from the Selkirk Arms although they did also provide transport. The dinner and entertainment provided by the staff at the hotel was excellent! Superb food followed by a very personalised formula of dancing, quiz, games and disco dancing that kept the party going until 1am. Everything seemed to run like clockwork and great fun was had by all. Thanks to Douglas, Chris and the team for your hard work....it could not have been better and the bride and groom will most certainly have many special memories to treasure.
The twin beds in our first floor room were very comfortable too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed for one night after visiting David Coulthards museum in neighbouring Twynholme and in our conversation with the museum attendant we mentioned we were staying the night at the Selkirk Arms. He said that was the best hotel in the area and we would enjoy our stay. However we were a bit disappointed with our stay, as the room we got was in an 18th century converted cottage in the garden (complete with a plug in air freshner).
At best it could be classed as quaint. However we thought it was rather basic and not very comfortable. We were glad we were moving on the next day as one night was enough.
Apart from that we had an excellent dinner served in the bar. But again we were let down with the breakfast as we were given smoked bacon. I asked if it could be changed for unsmoked and was told that they did not do unsmoked as smoked was the most popular, which I find hard to believe. It must be the only hotel in Scotland that does not serve unsmoked. Apart from that it was a very nice hotel and seemed to be very busy with the locals which is always a good recommendation.The staff where lovely and friendly and I would stay there again, except I would ask for a room inside the hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank edward b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We loved staying at this lovely independent hotel.The service was excellent and very friendly
The food was delicious and the bedroom and other areas have been recently refurbished
It made us wonder why we spend time in nameless faceless chain hotels and we intend to stay in more small hotels with character.
There is a lot to see in this beautiful part of Scotland and we will definitely return. The gift shops were delightful and the red kite feeding was quite amazing.
The main event was two nights stargazing with the passionate expert Steve Owens who has a real gift for concise and understandable answers to all manner of questions !
We were astounded by info on the universe and loved learning about the stars
It was perfectly pitched for the guests who were mainly novices
No complaints at all and a great birthday gift for my husband

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a special stargazing weekend organized by the Selkirk Arms. We met astronomer Steve Owens and, as well as indoor discussions, we had two visits to the Galloway Park (hot chocolate much appreciated) to introduce us to the stars, the Milky and the distant galaxies beyond. The highlight was being able to see four moons of Jupiter through his special telescope.

Our rooms were very comfortable and the group were given the use of a private sitting room. Breakfast and dinner were included and the food was deliciousand beautifully presented with plenty of choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annexe where we had our own private sitting room - too bad we were so busy we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RH1447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We have just spent a marvellous weekend here on the hotel's 'Stargazing in Galloway' package. Our tour leader was the eminent astronomer Steve Owens. On Friday and Saturday evening, after a delicious meal, we headed out by coach to a dark sky location where Steve pointed out important stars and galaxies I have never seen our Milky Way so clearly. These outings were truly memorable and add another dimension to the night sky when you know what to look for. On returning to the hotel, over drinks in the bar, Steve was happy to answer our many questions with infinite patience and humour. Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff and we chose to enjoy the local Museums and Art Galleries during the the day however there are many other attractions around this area as well to suit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank organdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I stayed at the Selkirk arms whilst on business.

The evening menu - excellent quality food at reasonable prices! I highly recommend the Selkirk burger and the ice cream dessert!
Breakfast - Cooked to order. I prefer breakfast buffet's (as I like to load up for the day and skip lunch!) but the quality of the friend breakfast more than made up for that!
Service - reception offered to help me with baggage.
The room - hmmmm. I had a twin room and whilst it was spacious enough for my purposes and the bed was comfortable, the hotel had recently been redecorating some nearby rooms and the smell of fresh paint was quite strong! I appreciate that redecoration must sometimes take place in business time, the smell was quite strong!

The smell taken out of the equation however, I would strongly recommend staying at the Selkirk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ITTravellingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This is our favourite place to eat in Dumfries and Galloway. Here for lunch today and as always great tasty food, well cooked and presented. The service is always very friendly and efficient and you can always rely on a really good dessert! Great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
123 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
141 reviews
6.2 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
112 reviews
19.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range: £89 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, all rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing