We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not much wrong with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not much wrong with this hotel”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Although a bit dated this is a very clean and comfortable hotel situated within easy reach of shops and cafes. The food was excellent and with a very good variety. plenty for all. even for vegetarians. the service was quick and very friendly. My room was clean and comfortable and of ample size for one person, room was equiped with kettle, tea and coffe and also had a TV.
I felt a bit let down that the dining room was closed at night and we had to have dinner in the lounge bar, seats were a bit uncomfortable. Other than that everything else was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. I did and it certainly was quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohjings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    105
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
73
241
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
142 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

To be honest difficult to answer that question! So what's wrong?- nothing realy - If you want to stay in Kirkcudbright (and area) I think you will be hard pressed to find a better hotel. I guess the bedroom accommodation varies. "The singles" we peeped into were small and to no outlook. On the other hand some rooms appeared large and well appointed - so make sure you get a good room - see room tips from others.

The bed was comfortable and we did not experience any noise problems. Breakfast was a very good Scottish Breakfast. The meal menu was varied but perhaps a little light on vegetarian option.

Room Tip: Room 20 overlooks the garden and is a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northumberlandscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Arrived at this hotel with our 13 year old son (who was certainly not keen to have a weekend away with his mum and dad and, in his words, "nothing to do but stay in an old persons hotel") How wrong he was! I cannot praise the hotel enough. The staff were extremely warm and welcoming and deserve the highest praise. The whole ambience of the hotel is lovely. The food was just sublime - especially the Cullen Skink! My husband also enjoyed the local beer! The staff could not do enough to make our stay special and also advised on the best places to visit so that our son could be entertained. We spent Saturday morning and early afternoon at an outdoor activity centre, enjoying segway, archery and reverse jeep steering. During the afternoon we made our way to the Kite Trail and arrived in time for feeding! Amazing sight watching over 100 kites in a feeding frenzy! All in all a great weekend away and we will certainly return. In fact on the way home our son commented "that was a great weekend, can we go again"........praise indeed!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jill764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We booked 2 nights in a twin bedded mini suite with seperate living room with TV/DVD,ensuite bath and shower via Travel Zoo.
We were allocated a ground floor twin without a living room or bath. The room was very basic, dated and dark with a low ceiling, pine furniture and a plug in air freshener. It overlooks the path, as well as the dinning room and smokers congregated outside the window. The curtains need to be closed all the time as there is no privacy.The noise from the guests above was also a problem. On a positive note the room was clean but has seen better days.
The breakfast was well presented and varied with good quality ingredients. However, we waited over 50 minutes for a cooked breakfast.
The staff were all very pleasant.
We were very disappointed with the standard of the accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Arghhh... our mistake completely - we missed your original request for a twin bedded suite booking and allocated you a twin room.... I'm so cross that we messed this up after having had such a good run of feedback. I am going to get in touch with you directly as hands up this is our fault and we need to see if we can make amends. Sincere apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull England
Level Contributor
358 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We last visited in November 2012 and the hotel ,staff, food and beer where of their normal excellent standard.
I would like to pay my upmost respects to all the management and staff here they cannot be faulted.
We as normal greatly enjoyed our stay at this gem of a hotel.
We had booked to go back between Xmas and New Year but unfortunatly my mother was diagnosed with bone cancer and is now terminal and completly bed ridden. The card and kind sentiments we received from the hotel on informing them of our cancellation will live with us both forever.
This is the kindest ,nicest hotel i have ever found.
I strongly recommend it to you all.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithGHullEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We have just returned from an overnight at this hotel and for a 3 star it was excellent, we can't find a single thing negative to say about it . The service, food and general ambience were just perfect. We have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels which would be hard pushed to beat this one. It's not the Ritz and isn't posh but I have never felt so at home anywhere and the chef is to be complimented on his wonderful food. I had the chef's take on Cullen Skink as a main it was pure bliss. If I have to pick out the best feature of this hotel it's the staff who were welcoming, attentive and friendly. It was a really nice experience. Well done Selkirk Arms we will be back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are over the moon that you felt so at home and relaxed. We have a great team both out front and in the Kitchen. They all work extremely hard and our sole objective is to make our customers happy. We too are looking forward to your return visit. You'll see a slight change in the main restaurant as we are refurbishing it in March. Thanks again
CHRIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The overall memories of my stay are all about the warmth of the welcome, the high quality of every single encounter I had with every single member of staff, and the quality of the food and service. The hotel room I had was not particularly special, and the bathroom was basic and fairly dated, but this hotel deserves the highest of praise for the way it looks after all guests.

All members of staff obviously enjoy working there, and the owner/managers lead their team by example with both efficiency and friendliness. Nothing is too much trouble, and it felt as if we had gone to stay with friends that we hadn't seen for a while.

The food in the restaurant is great, and the locals obviously rate the place highly, as it was always busy. Special offers during certain months offer great value for money, and I can highly recommend this as a great place to stay when exploring the pleasant town of Kirkcudbright.

Room Tip: The rooms do vary, so perhaps a discussion with the management will help you to decide which is best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttravellingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback - we have a great team and we are very proud of them. it makes our and their day when we receive such praise. Thank you for coming.
CHRIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
6.2 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Property: The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, 60% of rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing