We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Happy Returns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2008

My husband and I have just been on one of our regular trips to Scotland during which we enjoyed a return visit to the Best Western Selkirk Arms Hotel in Kirkcudbright. Since we visited this hotel last year some improvements have taken place under the new management and we were pleased to note that the staff were still the same friendly, helpful crew. The meals which we enjoyed were excellent. While this hotel is slightly off the main street it has the advantage of a lovely sheltered garden which we enjoyed on the rare occasions that the sun shone! Congratulations to the new owners on creating such a congenial atmosphere - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2008

Kircudbright is a lovely, small town in Galloway with a good range of upmarket shops and art galleries.
The Selkirk Arms is in a central but quiet location. Having stayed there two years ago, we were hugely impressed by the improvements that the new owner are implementing. The staff are excellent, Betty at reception and Alex in the bar being particularly helpful and friendly.
Our room was one of the newly reburbished ones and was worthy of 'boutique hotel' status..........excellent value for money.
The food was impressive, most locally sourced or produced, and was served in the comfortable Artisan restaurant. Perhaps the service was a little quick as we wanted to linger over our meal.
I would highly recommend this hotel as a destination for a weekend break. It is a comfortable two and a half hour drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh and is surrounded by beautiful countryside and many tourist attractions.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank JennyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

The staff really are the key in this hotel, so efficient and friendly. Everone including the owners surpassed our expectations. Lovely room with bathroom to match. Food was really good, breakfast, lunch and dinner! The Hotel had a great atmosphere also, both in bar and restaurant. Will return for sure.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank kilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

This was the best New Years Eve Celebration that we have ever attended, the whole New Years Eve break from start to finish was fantastic. Douglas McDavid and his partner John Walker did us proud.

We have known Douglas from his days as manager of the Cally Palace at Gatehouse of Fleet, as we visit there on a regular basis at Easter, so we fully expected it to be a very professional and well organised celebration, and we were not disappointed.

The weather was miserable, but the warmth of the welcome and the service from everyone who looked after us more than made up for it.

We were welcomed on arrival of the afternoon of the 30th, with mulled wine and shortbread, followed by an evening reception of Kier Royal and canapes, the evening meal which followed lived up to expectations, with enough choice to please eveyone.

Although the weather did not improve the following day , we entertained ourselves doing the prizewinning puzzles the Duncan was known for at the Cally. Leaving us plenty of time to beautify ourselves for the evenings celebration. This did not disappoint, with champagne and canapes to begin, followed by a delicious buffet meal, John even wore tarten trews to be in keeping with the evening. The musical entertainment was great, with everyone joining in the dancing, and the young piper who played at 12-00 pm made the finish of the year just right.

The following day was started by a late brunch, which began at 10.00am, and finished at 1-00pm, this allowed for locals who would normally eat lunch there to be catered for. The afternoon, was spent doing Douglas's treasure hunt, with his usual fiendish clues, dressed in warm clothes and macs as the weather had not improved. This enabled us to build up an appetite for yet another of chef Johns excellent dinners, and provide us with my husbands favorite sweet, Ecclefeccan tart, finishing the evening of course by the prize giving, one of our party won a lovely box of chocolates.

The bedrooms were warm and comfortable, one of our party was in one of the new refubished rooms which was done very tastefully, and they are planning to continue this process until all the rooms are of the same standard.

One of the nice touches, was also that in each bedroom, was a miniture of whisky and the same of brandy, together with a copy of Robert Burns poetry.

The following morning after a hearty breakfast we said our goodbyes, but not before we had put in a reservation for next year, we can strongly recommend the Selkirk Arms with out reservation, but if you want to join the celebrations next year, you will need to be quick, as there are only three rooms left, as most people who were there have already booked for next year. I THINK THAT SAYS IT ALL

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Granniewhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2007

Lucky enough to spend a long weekend in one of the newly refurbished double bedrooms. I really liked the flat screen tv and the power shower was fab. The furniture and soft furnishings are very in keeping with the hotel style and are very comfortable.

According to the staff they are halfway through an extensive refurbishment programme for all the rooms so look forward to returning again soon.

The food continues to be excellent - especially the haggis and tattie scone tower. You really must try it! The fish and chips in newspaper is also worth a try as it is delicious.

Vist soon - this is a gem of a hotel in beautiful Kirkcudbright

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank McCloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2007

douglas mcd. has made this hotel a very pleasant place for a stay while in Galloway

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fifigordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2007

Staying in the area for business, but looking forward to visiting in the Spring for a long leisurely weekend.
Staff very friendly and helpful, quite important as a woman travelling alone.
Ate in the Bistro which had a great atmosphere, certainly get the feeling that this is the place to be in town, judging by the number of locals who were in.
Food very nicely presented, large portions and staff knowledgeable about the dishes. The blue cheese ice cream is to die for! Think they should make this availabe as a takeaway option.
My room was very nice (No 20 overlooking the garden) and advised that they are doing up all of the rooms in the next few months.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MarinerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
124 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castle Douglas
89 reviews
6.1 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
116 reviews
19.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range: £87 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, all rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing