We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and well-run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I organised a 3-night trip for a group of 29 and we were able to fill the hotel, which was ideal. They were extremely helpful from my first enquiry and during the months of sorting the arrangements, Joanna in particular being so enthusiastic and encouraging. On arrival Douglas, the owner/manager came onto our bus to welcome us and the friendly and welcoming atmosphere was continued with all rooms having a handwritten 'welcome'card and a mini box of excellent local chocs! The hotel is small enough for the service to be really personal and Douglas was very much on hand. The food was also excellent, with well thought-out dinner menus for our group, which we ordered in the mornings. Everyone was very impressed and full of praise for the dinners as well as the hearty breakfast. The wine list included plenty of reasonably priced wines. Most rooms had been refurbished and were very comfortable. The hotel displayed pictures from local galleries which made quite a talking point. Kircudbright is a pretty little town, known for its artists, beside the River Dee, with a number of places of interest in the town as well as in the area. Strongly recommended for an enjoyable visit to a little known part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milbyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed two nights over the Spring Bank Holiday as it was my husband's birthday on one of the days. The room was very clean and comfortable and the food was excellent. What really makes this small hotel stand out is the friendliness and dedication to service of the staff and the owners. We have been staying at this hotel for more years than I care to remember and it really does keep improving. We can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portlanders3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed two nights over the Easter Bank Holiday. The room was small, but very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. The food is the same in the bistro and restaurant - and is excellent. The quality is really good, with locally sourced ingredients, including really tasty and tender steaks and superb fish, all at very reasonable prices. The wine list is small, but with an interesting range, and is again very reasonably priced. Overall, a really comfortable and friendly place to stay in a nice area - will definately pay another visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We must first say thanks for the reviews on TripAdvisor! We selected this hotel at short notice because of the fabulous reviews on the site. They were all right! We stayed for three nights this week. It was a real treat to stay at this little hotel. The staff were really friendly, the place was spotlessly clean and the food was fabulous. The photos on the Flickr site are a really good representation of how lovely it all is! The free wifi was a bit slow but it worked and was easy to connect to. As real geeks we even liked the fact that there was a geocache hidden in the lovely garden (if you don't know what that means then check out www.geocaching.com). We will recommend this place to anyone visiting the area. Thanks a lot.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gordonmckinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We were delighted to discover this small Hotel, and endorse the favourable comments of others. The room was well-equipped and comfortable and the restaurant menu was a tribute to caring preparation of locally-sourced ingredients. The Galloway Beef duo was a memorable experience - my preference always is lamb over beef but this was succulent, delicious and mouth-meltingly good. It was also a pleasure to enjoy real beer(The Grace) in the bar, making an oasis in the Scottish ale desert of McEwans and Tennants.
All the staff were welcoming and efficient, especially Douglas, whose enthusiasm for and knowledge of the area were off the scale. He drew a map so that we could make the most of a short stay - and his recommendations were spot on, especially the Bruce Stone in the forest at Glen Trool. The Raider's Road was closed, so we have at least two reasons to stay again. If we needed a third reason, it would have to be the breakfast. The kipper was substantial and delicious, and the full breakfast a serious threat to an early lunch. Our thanks to The Selkirk Arms for a fine introduction to Galloway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PT167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We spent three nights at the Selkirk Arms over the Easter bank holiday, and felt we needed to add our voices to the many positive reviews. If service is truly outstanding, it can be difficult to notice as it takes place effortlessly around you. A hint of the service in store came when we were a few hours' drive from checking in at Kirkcudbright, and Douglas called to check whether we were close enough for them to keep the kitchen open a little longer – not a call to chasten us for a late arrival, but simply to extend the welcome if we were nearby and hungry (sadly, we weren't close enough). When we arrived, we were given the key to the mini suite – an unexpected surprise, but possibly upgraded since we had booked before the March snows scared away the more informed travellers. The room was warm and cozy, and the local chocolates and card from the owners made us feel right at home. The next morning's breakfast was fantastic - kippers perfectly done. It took until the third breakfast to notice something happening in the background - the staff would check which rooms were dining, then refresh the rooms while we were away. Outstanding service and the staff were never in the way, just right there when you needed them, friendly and professional. We can count on one hand the number of times we've eaten anything other than breakfast at the places we've stayed. However, even if you don't stay at the Selkirk Arms, treat yourself to the restaurant or bistro and enjoy the local scallops. Maybe even do that two or three times like us. Add in the local beer (Grace) and whisky (Bladnoch), and it's hard to move too far afield. Kirkcudbright and the surrounding area have much to offer, but we're only commenting on the Selkirk Arms here. The professionalism and kindness of the staff, the quality of the food and the overall outstanding service are more than enough to commend this hotel, its owners and team.

Room Tip: Room 16 is almost a small flat with a separate living room and two bathrooms - the 'double bed m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Just returned from 1 night stay. Great hotel and service. Didn't eat in restaurant but would next time. Great hotel and bar service with staff only too happy to help. Hotel is making an effort to ensure every need is catered for. Knowledgeable and interested staff including Barr man who made us very welcome. Breakfast was great and rooms clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottishlad31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
124 reviews
19 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
118 reviews
9 mi away
The Market Inn Hotel
The Market Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castle Douglas
91 reviews
19.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range: £95 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, all rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing