We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
N/LAND
2 reviews
“Pleasantly comfortable”
Reviewed 23 May 2008

Hello all.

Myself and my partner required to stay in Kirckcudbright for a one night stay. Late planning on my part and not enough research lead us to this hotel as a last minute booking.

Our experience of the Selkirk hotel was exceptional, for only a 3 star hotel, the standards are clearly 4 stars. This hotel is spot less; we both found the staff were more than friendly and very helpful. Beautiful garden area, lots of space, lovely dinning area, quiet conservatory bar with another bar, this place his bigger than it looks. Parking isn't a problem as there is loads of space around the hotel if theirs is full.

To start with our room, well my partner would have loved to take it home with us. (it’s the small room at the top of the narrow stair case, class). Small, quaint, plenty of storage space, small bathroom, more than adequate for 5 mins in the morning. Very comfortable double bed, pitch black, quiet.... if you like your sleep, you will respect this room.

My breakfast was quality, hagas and black pudding, not my thing, but tasted great. Vast menu, cereal and healthy foods available, tea etc. My partner was respecting the bed...so no breakfast comment.
For our Sunday dinner we both had the beef. We both frequently go out for our Sunday dinners in Northumberland. I would certainly rate this the beef dinner, brilliant gravy; I'm not telling you what they put in the potatoes, but its dam good.

Stopping at this hotel certainly contributed towards our cracking stay in Kirkcudbright, we will stop here again, thank you Selkirk.

Ps

nice touch with the fresh fruit on the stair case

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — only stayed one night
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stupid2tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    105
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
74
243
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2008

My husband and I have just been on one of our regular trips to Scotland during which we enjoyed a return visit to the Best Western Selkirk Arms Hotel in Kirkcudbright. Since we visited this hotel last year some improvements have taken place under the new management and we were pleased to note that the staff were still the same friendly, helpful crew. The meals which we enjoyed were excellent. While this hotel is slightly off the main street it has the advantage of a lovely sheltered garden which we enjoyed on the rare occasions that the sun shone! Congratulations to the new owners on creating such a congenial atmosphere - we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2008

Kircudbright is a lovely, small town in Galloway with a good range of upmarket shops and art galleries.
The Selkirk Arms is in a central but quiet location. Having stayed there two years ago, we were hugely impressed by the improvements that the new owner are implementing. The staff are excellent, Betty at reception and Alex in the bar being particularly helpful and friendly.
Our room was one of the newly reburbished ones and was worthy of 'boutique hotel' status..........excellent value for money.
The food was impressive, most locally sourced or produced, and was served in the comfortable Artisan restaurant. Perhaps the service was a little quick as we wanted to linger over our meal.
I would highly recommend this hotel as a destination for a weekend break. It is a comfortable two and a half hour drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh and is surrounded by beautiful countryside and many tourist attractions.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2008

The staff really are the key in this hotel, so efficient and friendly. Everone including the owners surpassed our expectations. Lovely room with bathroom to match. Food was really good, breakfast, lunch and dinner! The Hotel had a great atmosphere also, both in bar and restaurant. Will return for sure.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank kilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2008

This was the best New Years Eve Celebration that we have ever attended, the whole New Years Eve break from start to finish was fantastic. Douglas McDavid and his partner John Walker did us proud.

We have known Douglas from his days as manager of the Cally Palace at Gatehouse of Fleet, as we visit there on a regular basis at Easter, so we fully expected it to be a very professional and well organised celebration, and we were not disappointed.

The weather was miserable, but the warmth of the welcome and the service from everyone who looked after us more than made up for it.

We were welcomed on arrival of the afternoon of the 30th, with mulled wine and shortbread, followed by an evening reception of Kier Royal and canapes, the evening meal which followed lived up to expectations, with enough choice to please eveyone.

Although the weather did not improve the following day , we entertained ourselves doing the prizewinning puzzles the Duncan was known for at the Cally. Leaving us plenty of time to beautify ourselves for the evenings celebration. This did not disappoint, with champagne and canapes to begin, followed by a delicious buffet meal, John even wore tarten trews to be in keeping with the evening. The musical entertainment was great, with everyone joining in the dancing, and the young piper who played at 12-00 pm made the finish of the year just right.

The following day was started by a late brunch, which began at 10.00am, and finished at 1-00pm, this allowed for locals who would normally eat lunch there to be catered for. The afternoon, was spent doing Douglas's treasure hunt, with his usual fiendish clues, dressed in warm clothes and macs as the weather had not improved. This enabled us to build up an appetite for yet another of chef Johns excellent dinners, and provide us with my husbands favorite sweet, Ecclefeccan tart, finishing the evening of course by the prize giving, one of our party won a lovely box of chocolates.

The bedrooms were warm and comfortable, one of our party was in one of the new refubished rooms which was done very tastefully, and they are planning to continue this process until all the rooms are of the same standard.

One of the nice touches, was also that in each bedroom, was a miniture of whisky and the same of brandy, together with a copy of Robert Burns poetry.

The following morning after a hearty breakfast we said our goodbyes, but not before we had put in a reservation for next year, we can strongly recommend the Selkirk Arms with out reservation, but if you want to join the celebrations next year, you will need to be quick, as there are only three rooms left, as most people who were there have already booked for next year. I THINK THAT SAYS IT ALL

  • Liked — Excellnce of the food, and frienlyness and service of the staff
  • Disliked — The only possible fault that we could find, was that some of the meat (ie. fillet steak) portions were too large
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Granniewhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2007

Lucky enough to spend a long weekend in one of the newly refurbished double bedrooms. I really liked the flat screen tv and the power shower was fab. The furniture and soft furnishings are very in keeping with the hotel style and are very comfortable.

According to the staff they are halfway through an extensive refurbishment programme for all the rooms so look forward to returning again soon.

The food continues to be excellent - especially the haggis and tattie scone tower. You really must try it! The fish and chips in newspaper is also worth a try as it is delicious.

Vist soon - this is a gem of a hotel in beautiful Kirkcudbright

  • Liked — The beautiful bedroom
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank McCloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prestwick
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2007

douglas mcd. has made this hotel a very pleasant place for a stay while in Galloway

  • Liked — great
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fifigordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
115 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
102 reviews
19.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
352 reviews
8.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Property: The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, all rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing