We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Were moved here after being overbooked at the Royal Hotel. Staff were really helpful, going over and above what was expected. Room was spotless, bright and spacious. Breakfast was lovely. Wish we could have stayed again the next night but unfortunately got moved back to the Royal.

  • Liked — Service from staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjhend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    105
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
74
243
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

Stopped in Kirckudbright on a trip from England to Scotland and found the Selkirk Arms to be a perfect place to stay.
Room was spacious, bathroom a little tiny but ok with tub and shower combination. Hotel website gave impression of the hotel was next to the sea, but that's not true - it's in town centre and all you see is buildings. However, it's a nice and quiet garden perfect to relax after a long days drive, a comfy lounge, a bar/bistro serving pub meals and a restaurant. Had our meal in the bistro and the food was generally very good - even though the fish and chips wasn't the best I've ever had. I'd recommend a burger instead! Staff was nice and service minded, the hotel was a interesting old building and the overall impression was all positive.

  • Liked — It was all good
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead,Tyne and Wear, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

Stayed Bank Holiday weekend 24th-26th May. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The hotel was very busy but the efficient staff dealt with the numbers of non-residents and residents for dinner in either the Bistro or the Restaurant in a professional manner. The quality of the food was excellent with a varied choice.
Breakfast was also an enjoyable experience with plenty of choice and the cooked breakfast set us up for the rest of the day. There were 2 real ales available and these were kept in good condition and were reasonably priced. There was also a good selection of wines.
I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable, value for money break

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere and valur for money.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bob2147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N/LAND
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2008

Hello all.

Myself and my partner required to stay in Kirckcudbright for a one night stay. Late planning on my part and not enough research lead us to this hotel as a last minute booking.

Our experience of the Selkirk hotel was exceptional, for only a 3 star hotel, the standards are clearly 4 stars. This hotel is spot less; we both found the staff were more than friendly and very helpful. Beautiful garden area, lots of space, lovely dinning area, quiet conservatory bar with another bar, this place his bigger than it looks. Parking isn't a problem as there is loads of space around the hotel if theirs is full.

To start with our room, well my partner would have loved to take it home with us. (it’s the small room at the top of the narrow stair case, class). Small, quaint, plenty of storage space, small bathroom, more than adequate for 5 mins in the morning. Very comfortable double bed, pitch black, quiet.... if you like your sleep, you will respect this room.

My breakfast was quality, hagas and black pudding, not my thing, but tasted great. Vast menu, cereal and healthy foods available, tea etc. My partner was respecting the bed...so no breakfast comment.
For our Sunday dinner we both had the beef. We both frequently go out for our Sunday dinners in Northumberland. I would certainly rate this the beef dinner, brilliant gravy; I'm not telling you what they put in the potatoes, but its dam good.

Stopping at this hotel certainly contributed towards our cracking stay in Kirkcudbright, we will stop here again, thank you Selkirk.

Ps

nice touch with the fresh fruit on the stair case

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — only stayed one night
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stupid2tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2008

My husband and I have just been on one of our regular trips to Scotland during which we enjoyed a return visit to the Best Western Selkirk Arms Hotel in Kirkcudbright. Since we visited this hotel last year some improvements have taken place under the new management and we were pleased to note that the staff were still the same friendly, helpful crew. The meals which we enjoyed were excellent. While this hotel is slightly off the main street it has the advantage of a lovely sheltered garden which we enjoyed on the rare occasions that the sun shone! Congratulations to the new owners on creating such a congenial atmosphere - we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2008

Kircudbright is a lovely, small town in Galloway with a good range of upmarket shops and art galleries.
The Selkirk Arms is in a central but quiet location. Having stayed there two years ago, we were hugely impressed by the improvements that the new owner are implementing. The staff are excellent, Betty at reception and Alex in the bar being particularly helpful and friendly.
Our room was one of the newly reburbished ones and was worthy of 'boutique hotel' status..........excellent value for money.
The food was impressive, most locally sourced or produced, and was served in the comfortable Artisan restaurant. Perhaps the service was a little quick as we wanted to linger over our meal.
I would highly recommend this hotel as a destination for a weekend break. It is a comfortable two and a half hour drive from both Glasgow and Edinburgh and is surrounded by beautiful countryside and many tourist attractions.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2008

The staff really are the key in this hotel, so efficient and friendly. Everone including the owners surpassed our expectations. Lovely room with bathroom to match. Food was really good, breakfast, lunch and dinner! The Hotel had a great atmosphere also, both in bar and restaurant. Will return for sure.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank kilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
115 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
102 reviews
19.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 14 in Kirkcudbright
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Property: The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, all rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing