We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“second time not so good”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was are second visit and we were not to impressed with the room.it was an upgrade from a budget twin room,(would like to have seen budget room ) The room was decorated nicely but a electric heater on the wall that kept clicking on and off all night.The bathroom was freezing (i know the weather was windy but)the draught coming through the window was awful.the shower was not that brilliant either.As we were staying two nights we ask if they could do something about the window as we were out all day.Well you got to laugh they rolled a towel up and put it on the window ledge.!!!!! I could have done that. Food in the bar was nice the breakfast not so nice.Maybe next time try somewhere else.

Room Tip: WE were on the road not to busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornishpastyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    106
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
75
243
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

short stay in cold windy February but the hotel was so warm, friendly and welcoming. any request dealt with promptly and with a smile.and the food was pretty good too. the place forvthe locals too to enjoy an evening of good food with good company. the room too was clean and warm. heartily recommend

Room Tip: if you want total silence at night chose the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lushrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

If you are thinking of having your Christmas party there and there is the slightest chance you may need to cancel then don't bother. Once they have your money, NO matter what your problem they won't refund you!!! They tell you to sign a piece of paper which they tell you is a receipt and then tell you it's a contract whne you try to get your money back!!
GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE (THINK NOT)

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
It's a real shame that you couldn't make it to our party night and I'm sorry you have had to vent your spleen on Tripadvisor without experiencing It. I'm afraid our booking policy is pretty clear cut - payment in full required 4 weeks prior to the event and this is non refundable in case of cancellations. Now I think you cancelled about 4 days before your party night and we really have no chance of re selling that space. We are just trying to protect the business and the 27 staff we employ - imagine if 4 days before 20 people decided to cancel and we had no cancellation policy in place - we would loose a considerable chunk of revenue despite having bought in the foodstuffs, hats, crackers, napkins, staffing rotas, liquor stock etc. Sorry to be a bah humbug on this issue and sorry that you felt the only comeback was to join Tripadvisor and give us a good old dissing !!! Hoping it has made you feel better. Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had another lovely meal in the recently refurbed restaurant.It is now less formal and more relaxing.Douglas and Chris always give their guests a warm welcome, Douglas always looks the part in his kilt. All the staff are friendly but professional.There is a good choice of food which changes with the seasons.If you like a local bitter then try the Selkirk Grace which is brewed specially for the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We arrived at 3.30pm on Friday afternoon just on the chance of a room. We were met on reception by Alistair who showed us to a fantastic room overlooking the gardens at the front of the hotel. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. It was cold when we first entered the bedroom but Alistair put the heating on & by the time we got our luggage, it was warm & cosy.
We ate in the Bar as the restaurant was fully booked by local diners and the residents.I can recommend the burger,one of the best I've tasted.My wife had the haddock tartlet with poached egg which was also excellent.
The bar staff were very good and the service was speedy even though it was very busy.
The draught beers were in excellent condition and very drinkable,and there is a good choice of wine available as well as numerous Malt whiskies to choose from.
The bed was very comfy and just the right firmness for us,almost as good as our own bed! Definatley a good nights sleep.
Breakfast the following morning is the usual choice of cereals,porridge and fruit.Orange juice or smoothies and tea and coffee.The cooked breakfast is to die for. Excellent quality local produce. They don't skimp on the portions either and we couldn't finish it all sadly.
All the staff at The Selkirk were very friendly and not intrusive like some corporate faceless hotel chain.
All in all, a fantastic nights stay,totally faultless, great value and we would recommend to any body travelling the Dumfries and Galloway peninsula. A little extra thank-you to Sue on reception for pointing us down the coastal road back to Dumfries. A great drive through spectacular countryside and some lovely little finds along the way.
We will be back one day, many thanks Selkirk Arms Hotel.

Room Tip: See if you can book Room 20 overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Our second stay in this exceptional hotel in two years. The food is prepared with care and attention to detail, in a great friendly atmosphere from all staff. Our room in the annexe was comfy, warm and inviting, with everything needed for an enjoyable stay. The owner's constant vigilance and observation of customers needs obviously pay off with a happy and informal atmosphere around the hotel. I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakesman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here knowing that we loved the area and having eaten in the restaurant (which is excellent) before. The room was very good and the provision of guides to suitable local walks was a very nice addition. Despite our arriving wet and bedraggled and with two dogs in a similar state all the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. An absolutely wonderful place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
115 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
102 reviews
19.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
353 reviews
8.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Property: The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, all rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing