We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my father for one of their sky-watching weekends. Everything was really well organised and all the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Douglas made an excellent host for the weekend and was very enthusiastic and made sure everything ran smoothly. Steve, the astronomer employed by the hotel for the weekend was enthusiastic and knowledgeable and gave excellent talks.

The rooms were comfortable, and clean. We had single rooms at no supplement, and on arrival we were informed that one of the rooms had been upgraded due to a problem with one of the rooms originally allocated. I have never come across a hotel so generous with the number of tea bags, coffee sachets and portions of milk left in the rooms. The only downside is that the rooms on the side of the hotel overlook a passageway or roof - not a problem for us but may be to some.

The food was fresh and of a high quality and the menu gave a good variety to choose from. The cooked breakfast was delicious.

The hotel is close to the town centre and the town is surrounded by beautiful contryside and the roads in the area are quiet. The hotel has a small car park but if full there is plenty of free on-road parking.

The only downside was the one thing outside the control of the hotel - the weather! Everything which the hotel had control over was just right.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    103
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
72
238
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Muirkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Friendly and attentive service provided by Robbie, the food was lovely, super pudding menu to round off our lunch and a little espresso shot to keep me awake on the drive home.
I would recommend highly, very enjoyable and a super garden to sit in on a sunny day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOldChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Checked in after getting married in Gretna Green the day before. Well sign posted on the way in to Kirkcudbright and found the carpark immediately.
Staff were exceptionally friendly and the food was just amazing (you have the same menu in the bar and the restaurant so you won't miss out if you prefer more casual dining)

The room was also excellent. The top floor had two rooms but one was obviously a bit small so they've put a couch and tv in there and you have that as well including the landing between them all to yourself. It was like having a small flat rather than a hotel room.

The beergarden was also beautiful and well maintained. All in all a great hotel and can definately recommend.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in room 16 which had the landing and extra tv room. Right at the top of the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned to Lancashire after an overnight stay with our little wesite dog Alfie.
From the moment we entered the hotel the greeting from Alistair was marvellous. He showed us to our room and nothing was too much bother.
The room was perfect. Very clean with a comfy bed.
The staff are excellent and very polite.
The best thing about the whole stay was dinner........... Posh fish and chips came out wrapped in paper with a wedge of lemon on the top..... amazing.
Breakfast the next morning was outstanding and so was the service.
The lady on reception, Joanna was very friendly and even showed us some of the other rooms for when you return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed there with family in the "cottage" which meant we had a sitting room in one of the rooms which was nice. Local chocolates in the room on the first night and a bottle of water daily as well as the usual tea and coffee in each room.The building is old and the floors are all wonky. Breakfasts where good, I had all three options on our 3 days. Nice smoothie. There was also a fruit cocktail as well as fresh fruit. We ate 2 nights in the restaurant and had a nice meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvH0lidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I much prefer small independently owned hotels when I want to chill. This is one of the best. Charming rooms, good food, good beers, wines and spirits and very friendly staff. It is the sort of place you relax in immediately.

The town, Kirkcudbright, is a lovely place with a lot of artists. There are also many attractions nearby.

Proof of the pudding. We are going back in 6 weeks.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have good views but that does not matter as there is plenty to see within a few mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsweddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumbria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Booked here on the day and got the last room in the hotel. This room involved navigating a narrow set of stairs with an overhanging ledge near the top - mind your head.. The room was as described (cosy) and clean. It seemed a little expensive but made up for it in terms of the high standard of (a very well organised, friendly) service and the top quality breakfast.

We took up the option of an evening meal. The rabbit terrine starter was very tender, the surf & turf was a little average, and the duck breast and deserts were top notch. Dining is either in the bar area or the more formal dinning room, both of which are very presentable.

Would recommend for a relaxed weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSBsMIssus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
6.2 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Property: The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, 60% of rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing