We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all respects”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent in all respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed for two nights as a mid week break. Room has been recently refurbished, excellent beds, room clean, excellent shower, good toiletries and tea/ coffee facilities. Food was first class and garden a delight, staff professional and pleasant, food excellent and the garden a delight.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmcarthur33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    103
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
72
238
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Spent four nights here with my wife and her parents. Chris and Douglas and the team couldn't have been more helpful and attentive. Especially patient with my elderly in-laws! Rooms very good if a bit quirky(bouncy floor in room 2! ). Food was excellent, but I hope they change the menu on a regular basis as it is a little small ; that being no detriment to the quality. Would certainly stay here again. Well done Selkirk Arms!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1& 2 are in the cottage right by the entrance, so are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irbylegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have just enjoyed an overnight stay at this hotel,a very enjoyable stay it was too, friendly staff, lovely refurbished room comfy bed ,good bathroom facilities,the food was excellant,I can recommend the roast beef, melts in your mouth delicious,a really good menu,we ate our meal in the restaurant, but the lounge bar was comfortable and meals are served there too.The Burns Room is just right for after dinner coffee and liquer.We stayed in room two which is in seperate from the main building , very quiet.We shall certainly stay at The Selkirk Arms again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have to say that dinner and breakfast are really good....
However i was put in room 9 with en suite extractor fan noise and staff talking/smoking in the outside corridor at 11.30pm...
Room itself is comfortable though. Wifi iffy...but this will improve as town gets fibre.

Location is excellent for this lovely town...

Room Tip: NOT room 9!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheesygrinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay. Apologies for the fan noise and the staff chatter - in our defence it was the hottest day of the year topping 30 degrees and I think all windows were wide open and the cellar cooling fans were working overtime. Delighted you enjoyed the food and location and apologies we fell short with outside noise - although we do say that the sunshine spends the winter in Kirkcudbright it doesn't usually top 30 !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

A family group of 12, we had lunch at the Selkirk Arms to celebrate a 60th Birthday in May this year. Everything was just perfect, from the initial response of the staff to a telephone booking, their courtesy in consulting us on alternative arrangements made necessary by the late booking of a funeral on the same day, our reception on the day, the excellent food and the slick service. And there was even a card from the staff! Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asher673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I have been visiting this hotel for 15 years or more but only every couple of years (and wish we could go more often). Most of the staff have worked there all this time but a new management has taken over in the last few years. We were worried that it wouldn't be as good but if anything it is more friendly than ever. The comfort and service is excellent. The food is wonderful and very hearty breakfasts set you up for the day to discover the many delights of this wonderful area of Dumfries and Galloway.

Room Tip: No need to worry about any of the room the whole village goes to sleep quite early and peace and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my father for one of their sky-watching weekends. Everything was really well organised and all the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Douglas made an excellent host for the weekend and was very enthusiastic and made sure everything ran smoothly. Steve, the astronomer employed by the hotel for the weekend was enthusiastic and knowledgeable and gave excellent talks.

The rooms were comfortable, and clean. We had single rooms at no supplement, and on arrival we were informed that one of the rooms had been upgraded due to a problem with one of the rooms originally allocated. I have never come across a hotel so generous with the number of tea bags, coffee sachets and portions of milk left in the rooms. The only downside is that the rooms on the side of the hotel overlook a passageway or roof - not a problem for us but may be to some.

The food was fresh and of a high quality and the menu gave a good variety to choose from. The cooked breakfast was delicious.

The hotel is close to the town centre and the town is surrounded by beautiful contryside and the roads in the area are quiet. The hotel has a small car park but if full there is plenty of free on-road parking.

The only downside was the one thing outside the control of the hotel - the weather! Everything which the hotel had control over was just right.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Creebridge House Hotel
Creebridge House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
6.2 mi away
Murray Arms
Murray Arms
#3 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Property: The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, 60% of rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing