We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change of hotel, with a revisited owner same fantastic quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Change of hotel, with a revisited owner same fantastic quality”
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Myself and my husband are just back from an overnight at the hotel and we enjoyed every second. We have previously stayed at one of the owner's previous hotels which was the Creebridge Hotel in Newton Stewart.
He has transferred all his excellent customer practices and the staff continue to excel at treating you like an old friend. We visited to see the Glasgow Girls art show and while in Kirkcudbright the town were holding their Arts and Crafts weekend and this was all a bonus for us.
The meal at the hotel in the restuarant was superb and good value offering 2 courses for £23 or £28 for all courses.
The hotel does special deals for 2 nights bed an breakfast during June and July for 2 people for £99. This has been so successful we had tried on a oouple of occasions to book for this deal and couldn't get in. We had to just have 1 night (last night) and it surpassed our expectations but then again I wouldn't expect anything else from Chris the co-owner and his tremendous staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsWeatherwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    109
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
79
244
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We spent one night at this hotel - it was comfortable, the room was spacious and well lit. The personal and welcoming service from all the staff could not be faulted.
We ate dinner in the restaurant which was excellent. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The staff were very helpfully. Will return again to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazza186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

As three guys looking to spend five days playing golf in the area, we decided to base ourselves at the Selkirk Arms on the recommendation of friends who had stayed here previously. We could not have chosen better, Douglas booked 5 courses as part of our inclusive package. We ate in the dining room every evening and enjoyed every meal, on retiring to the bar later in evening we worked our way through at least 36 different malt whisky’s, the bar staff even delving down in the cellar to find some more obscure ones to tempt our pallet.
The twin room in the annex was large and well appointed, the single in the older part of the building was very adequate, but be prepared for squeaky floor boards, but this is to be expected in a building of this age. A good sized car park was safely tucked away off the main road, it might struggle to accommodate all in the summer months.
As many people have commented, the staff all work hard to look after guests, Douglas overseeing everything dressed in his kilt is a nice touch, but turning his hand to all aspects of service when necessary, everything worked seamlessly from the front desk through the kitchen to the bar and restaurant staff. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon4golf121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Had a great stay at the Selkirk Arms with friends. Area is amazing for biking and walking. When not biking we spent most of our time watching the world cup in the sports bar, eating Selkirk Burger’s mmmmmmmmmm and meeting some of the locals (very friendly and sociable folk). All staff were brilliant without exception - thanks to Tarn for putting up with the drunken fifers every night. Thanks to all - we had a ball and we will definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandJocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

My husband and I had 2 meals here recently - one in the Bistro and another more formal 3 course dinner in the main Aristas Restaurant. We also had a few drinks in the Sports Bar each evening, during a week long stay in Kirkcudbright (although our accommodation was elsewhere). This is a lovely hotel - and without exception we found all the staff very friendly, welcoming and efficient. It was very clean and tidy and both meals were excellent. There is also a good range of food and drink - both beers and the wine list. I really cannot recommend this highly enough - and my husband and I are already planning a short winter break here! NB - I also had the opportunity to see one of the rooms for a few minutes, courtesy of a receptionist on a quiet evening early in the week, and the cleanliness and facilities in the room were also excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaJoyCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

An excellent place to stay for a small group of friends, with the good standard rooms although bathrooms while satisfactory not quite up to bedrooms and public rooms of Hotel. Service second to none, with facilities for drying wet golf gear offered immediately on arrival. The staff all seem to care about you enjoying your stay and enjoy the environment in which they work.
The food was of an excellent standard and would highly recommend the fish and chips. The beer available also excellent,
Would seek out the Hotel to eat and stay if in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigCountryView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
5.7 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
414 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
81 reviews
23.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
83 reviews
17.3 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
112 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Property: The Selkirk Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Selkirk Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, all rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing