We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rattra Cottage

front of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of cottage
dining kitchen kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
front of cottage
dining kitchen
kitchen
bunkroom
downstairs bedroom
twin bedroom
sitting room
sitting room
sun room
sun room
upstairs bathroom
outside
kirkcudbright in spring
the harbour
the castle round the corner
local beach
kirkcudbright in bloom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hereford6...
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is well equipped, comfortable and surprisingly large. The two bedrooms and two TV's are most welcome. It is very centrally placed to walk to all the shops and restaurants in the town. Kirkcudbright reflects much of South West Scotland - laidback, quiet and gently appreciative of visitors.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Rattra Cottage can sleep 6 people very comfortably as it has 2 double bedrooms and a bunk room but we also welcome enquiries from couples.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuala94
1 review
“Lovely cottage, cosy and central”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My partner and I stayed in the cottage for 3 night and had a great time the cottage is comfortable, clean and homey. We enjoyed playing the board games they had to offer and was easy to warm the house up even in the winter. Central location just need to go round the corner to get into the town, all the locals in the town were really friendly. Thanks Harry from Nuala and Dale :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Thanks for the review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay out of season and that you got the board games out!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage in peaceful location”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Had a great time here, would strongly recommend a stay at Rattra cottage if you are looking for some peaceful time away with friends, family or spouse. The house was airy, spacious and immaculately presented with a cosy, homely feel. We were pleasantly surprised at how convenient the cottage was for seeing the sights of Kirkcudbright, with the Marina just a minute's walk down a little lane; the co-op and, of course, the local pub were only minutes away too! Good value for money, and I think the house is spacious enough to hold a family of six with ease. We were delighted with our stay here and can't recommend it enough!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2014
Thank you for your glowing review. Glad to hear that Rattra Cottage provided all you needed to enjoy a January break. It certainly is convenient for all amenities so guests can even manage without a car.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zakt_10
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing cottage - will come again!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Rattra Cottage was the perfect place for us in Kirkcudbright. Handy for walks along the river, views of the harbour and access to the country, but also five minutes walk from the pubs and restaurants in the town. The cottage was warm and well-equipped, we especially appreciated the free wi-fi and the dishwasher. Parking off-street was also welcome, though perhaps it would be a challenge for anything above a family saloon. We hiope to be back in the summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of being in the country, though located in the town
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed your winter break at Rattra Cottage. Look forward to welcoming you there again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely Cottage in Lovely Town”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This cottage is great with one bedroom and shower room on the main floor and the family bathroom and 2 additional bedrooms upstairs. My elderly aunt was able to join us because she did not need to use stairs. The kitchen is well equipped and has lovely, light, and a good sized table to accommodate meals. The living room was comfortable and wifi worked well throughout the cottage. I was unfamiliar with the lock on the front door and needed a demonstration as to how to lock it but that was because I'd never encountered a lock like that in Canada. Harry came over quickly and helped me. Thank you. Having a dishwasher while my family visited for the weekend was great!
A few things worth mentioning: the hot water upstairs is hot enough to scald a child, so, don't leave your little ones unattended when bath is filling. I never got the hot water in the kitchen to work but I'm sure that was because of my unfamiliarity with water heating system rather than a malfunction. There is an ant problem in the kitchen that could use serious intervention rather than the ant traps left out. My last concern is about where the neighbour parks his car which really encroaches on your sense of privacy while staying in the cottage. He owns the parking space outside the sun room window and likes to come out and clean the bird droppings a couple of times a day and of course takes his car out too. He was pleasant to me but it just felt intrusive. I kept the sun room curtains closed to block his view into the cottage. He also owns the strip of grass on the far side of the path in the garden and cut the grass while I was there. Again, it felt intrusive. I would recommend putting up an L-shaped privacy fence from the half wall to the rear, along the garden path to ensure a bit of privacy for people enjoying the cottage. Twin bed mattresses upstairs were not that comfortable but I slept fine. These were minor issues and the positives far outweighed the negatives and I strongly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space for families and a great kitchen.
Liked least: Lack of privacy due to closeness of neighbour's parking space.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Rattra Cottage.

We are glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay and that your aunt was able to take advantage of the downstairs bedroom and facilities.

It's a shame that you didn't report the issues of very hot water in the bathroom and lack of hot water in the kitchen because when the next guests informed us of the problems we called the electrician immediately and it was very quickly sorted out.

With regard to the outdoor situation, the set-up is typical of old Kirkcudbright, in that the garden area is open to that of the adjoining property. We have thought about erecting a fence, as you suggest, but are a little reluctant to take measures that might reduce the amount of sunlight hitting the lawn as it is something of a sun-trap.

We are sorry that you found the neighbour's presence intrusive - he is an elderly gentleman who has lived there for many years and is accustomed to having different 'neighbours' every week We will certainly discuss the parking issue with him because his parking space is actually some distance from the sun room window and he shouldn't be so close that guests feel they need to shut the curtains.

We hope you will choose Rattra Cottage again on your next visit to Scotland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely family holiday”
Reviewed 15 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Rattra cottage was just perfect for our holiday. We are a family of four (the children are 12 and 8) and we travelled with my 80-year-old parents, so six of us. The bedrooms are great with plenty of storage space and the beds were very comfortable. Having a double room and shower room downstairs was perfect with older people who can't manage the stairs and the sun room was an added bonus. The fact that the children could watch a dvd in there on a rainy day while we were in the living room playing cards, reading or watching the other television was brilliant. The kitchen has everything you need and there is plenty of space for six.

Kirkudbright is lovely, small but with everything you need within walking distance and the people are incredibly friendly. We were there at the time of the tattoo and that was great fun, the rain made no difference.

All in all we had a lovely holiday and I would recommend Rattra Cottage. We would really like to go back and had we had more holiday we would have made it two weeks instead of one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom3561
Sandbach, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable stay perfect for all the family.”
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Clean and very comfortable cottage, would recomend to all age groups.
Close to all facilities that you would require,ie pool, shops, harbour, restaurants, outdoor persuits, beaches, wildlife park, gardens and many more other atractions in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: I love the area nothing to say hear.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing