We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not quite as expected”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Barcloy Milk House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Milk House Living Area Milk House Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Milk House Living Area
Milk House Living Area
Milk House Living Area
Milk House Kitchen
Milk House Kitchen/dining
Milk House Kitchen
Milk House Kitchen
Milk House Terrace
Milk House Double Bedroom
Milk House
Kirkcudbright Tattoo in August
Climbing Barcloy Hill in High Summer
Kirkcudbright
Maggie's Tour of Old Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright
Eva and Sophie
on the Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janet t
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not quite as expected”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

All in all a nice quiet property, we stayed as a party of 6 with 1 extra bed for our 10 year old (which turned out to be a mattress on the floor)
My father who's disabled found the rugs on the wooden floor highly slippery & the large one was curled up along the edges.
The main bed fell apart when I sat on it so I had to put the base back together again before bed.
Nice enough despite its faults, wouldn't recommend the cot which was sticky taped & very rickety.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise C
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic location, lots to do, beautiful house!”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family (including 2 young children) have had a brilliant stay at Barcloy Milk House. There's rolling hills all around, so peaceful. However, its also very close to the town and beautiful bays. We loved staying on the farm, we even helped feed the lambs. The cats just let themselves in, the kids loved it! We already want to come back and will be booking to come in the Summer for certain.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trupti J
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage !!!!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our stay at Barcloy Milk House. The cottage was absolutely beautiful, with fantastic views and peaceful. It was fully furnished, clean and comfortable and the welcome goodies and home made caramel shortcakes were a pleasure! Isobel and her family and their pets were very friendly. My children made friends with Isobel's children and they would spend the evenings playing and chatting. Just one thing to note that the when you enter the postcode in sat-nav, it will take you to someone else's farm (Marks Farm). But the Barcloy Milk House was very easy to find as Isobel had provided me with perfect directions for the cottage. There is a sign posted outside it's main drive on the B727 road so no problemo!!! We will definately return back for another holiday. Thank you Isobel and family for a wonderful stay at the Barcloy Milk House !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the cottage itself
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2011 for a stay in August 2010

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: General beauty inside and out, and the charming cats
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing