We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chattan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcudbright
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chattan House
Ranked #6 of 16 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
Gullane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic accommodation. Situated in a great spot overlooking Kirkcudbright. Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Owners are very kind and helpful. A relaxing breakfast and minutes from the town centre. Will definitely be back in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChattanHouse, Owner at Chattan House, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for valued review. Love having families here. It was a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights as we were visiting family in the area and were pleased with our choice of B&B. We were made to feel very welcome and the Burn's room was very large and comfortable. It was nice to have access to the dining room where tea, coffee and fresh milk was available, as well as the seating areas outside. We saw some red squirrels on our last morning when we were admiring the fantastic views. The continental style breakfast was more than enough for us. Plenty of cereal to choose from as well as yoghurts, cereal bars, different breads for toasting and fruit. Overall a relaxing and comfortable stay. Thank you!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dustyj44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChattanHouse, Owner at Chattan House, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Lovely to meet you and many thanks for your review. Hope to see you again when you catch up with family here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the JPJones room which was comfortable. Breakfasts were fine and the location next to woods great for walking. Of the 2 rooms, this one isn't ensuite, but the bathroom was very nice with a good bathtub. Delya picked us up at the bus stop and aslo brought us to Dumfries the day we left since she was going there! All in all, a fine experience. Jack

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsklepowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChattanHouse, Owner at Chattan House, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thanks for the review. Hope you found all your family connections in our bonnie Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed as a family of four in the Burns Room, which was spacious, clean and comfortable. The host was very friendly and accommodating. The b&b is located close to the town and the room had a lovely view over the river and town. We chose the healthy option breakfast which was exceptionally good with a large choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChattanHouse, Owner at Chattan House, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
It is always lovely to have a family in the Burns room. Thank you for your review they are so helpful to us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the John Paul Jones room from 16th Sept for 4 nights. The b&b is a lovely place to stay. Delya is a fabulous host; very friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean and comfy. Could not have chosen a better place to stay. Would definitely recommend this b&b if you are planning a trip to Kirkcudbright.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue5631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChattanHouse, Owner at Chattan House, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hi Sue
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kirkcudbright is a lovely place to stay and tour the S W of Scotland from.
Hope to see you again.
Delya Wilkinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Delya is an excellent host and combined with an extremely spacious and comfy bedroom, lots of ideas about where to visit, even washing very wet cycling gear covered in mud this is an excellent place to stay in very friendly and interesting Kircudbright. Only a short walk into town, beautiful gardens complete with red squirrels to watch while eating breakfast. A lovely area, perhaps sometimes bypassed by motorways, stunning scenery and very friendly people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChattanHouse, Owner at Chattan House, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Really good to meet you both. Glad you enjoyed the Chattan House experience!
Delya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay so that we could take part in the Galloway ReCycle sportive and this modern and spacious B&B near to the town centre was the perfect choice. We had a lovely and very large room with great views over Kirkcudbright. The continental breakfast included plenty of choices and suited us perfectly and we were made to feel very welcome by Delya, our very friendly and helpful host.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuileann77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChattanHouse, Owner at Chattan House, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Great to have cyclists around again. Wish I could do 100 miles! Great weekend run by the Rotary.
Thanks for your review. Delya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
0.3 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.0 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#1 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorlee Guest House
Anchorlee Guest House
#4 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattan House

Property: Chattan House
Address: 28 Woodlands Avenue, Kirkcudbright DG6 4BP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chattan House is a 2 roomed B&B with both rooms having beautiful views over Kirkcudbright the Artists' Town of Scotland. Built on 3 levels there are steps up to the B&B level where a large balcony is available to enjoy the views. If you have heavy cases we can take them up the back stairs for you on our lift. Each room has a view. The spacious Burns Room is ensuite and can be a family, a double room.The John Paul Jones Room is also a spacious double and does have a sofa bed for occasional use or for a child. This room is across the hall from the other room and its own large private bathroom, which has a bath and separate shower.The dining room looks out across the garden and if you are lucky you may see a red squirrel in the garden as we back onto Barrhill wood.There is an artists studio in the garden that visiting artists can use when staying at Chattan House.Free WIFI is available.There are 2 options for breakfast a non cooked healthy option and a cooked option,the former is included and the cooked is £5 per head for a large one booked 24 hours in advance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chattan House Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing