We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky location”

Tolbooth Art Centre
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quirky location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We visited the Tolbooth on our previous trip and liked the exhibition very much, but this year's was not to our taste. The cafe is good, with homemade cakes and scones, a good choice of books and the video presentation is interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Minichris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Take a few minutes to explore.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We visited with no idea what we had found and were delighted with the experience. Take a few minutes to watch the video about the history of the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzannemonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not a large selection of art, but tastefully presented”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

More a presentation of local artists, some have better skills than others, but a good insight into the scene of the area. Worth 20 minutes of your time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BenPon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor Scottish Hospitality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Well after great people at The Gem, TI in Kirkcudbright , The Stewartry Museum and all the Galleries despite two wild children touching everything we found her the reason for poor Scottish hospitality, receptionist in Tolbooth just couldn't care, we tried so bought nothing in shop and didn't have a coffee and cake. Film show interesting, Gallery worst in town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

The shop and cafe were nice, and the exhibition above was lovely to look round. The audio visual was interesting too about the Artists Town. Just disappointed no-one knew about its use in The Wicker Man film.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tolbooth Art Centre also viewed

Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Tolbooth Art Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing