We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wE'LL BE bACK”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fludha Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcudbright
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fludha Guest House
Ranked #1 of 16 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
“wE'LL BE bACK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Excellent stay in comfortable quiet room.'
Public rooms have the same high quality furniture and fixtures.
Dining facilities first class with the chefs freshly-caught seafood unbeatable.
All superbly overseen under the experienced eye of Jackie.
We will ceratinly be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ossy708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
90
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Fludha, strange name, is a private guest house on the main road into Kirkcudbright, Parking is excellent. The bedrooms & bathrooms are large, clean and luxurious. Meals, breakfast & optional dinner, are really good with an attractive choice. The new manager Jackie is an experienced local hotelier, assisted by Ashleigh & Chef John, and will help ensure a great visit. We visited on a 'first impressions' basis for just a couple of nights and stayed the week! If you want attention to detail, hospitality and excellence, do visit. It is an excellent place. We will be back when visiting our relatives in the area. We paid £50 per person per night for B&B and it was worth it. Think more small bespoke hotel than B&B.Thank you Fludha!

Room Tip: Each room has its own character - go for the style of bed/s you want - good selection. Front rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This guest house has recently re-opened and was a real joy to stay in. We had a very large and comfortable bedroom with a vast bathroom. The house is set in lovely grounds with a view over the river. Jackie, who is now running the guest house, is a fountain of knowledge about the town and the area. It is an excellent place to base yourself for a holiday in Galloway.

the breakfast menu is comprehensive, including an excellent fruit salad, a range of fish dishes and a traditional cooked breakfast. All the food is freshly cooked. We shall certainly use it again.

Room Tip: We choose the best room, which is at the back and very quiet, but the view was limited. the rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at Fludha about three years ago and enjoyed our visit so much that when we were passing the area again it was our first consideration for our overnight stay. In addition to making an excellent base for holidaying in the local area this guest house is well located for a stop en route to or from the ferry ports at Cairnryan

Fludha is in an elevated position with views from some rooms to the River Dee. All the rooms are a good size and decorated and furnished to a very high standard. We stayed in Room 6 on our recent visit and in addition to a king-size bed the room had a very comfortable settee. The ensuite was equipped with a large shower cubicle with a very relaxing monsoon shower head. In addition to the large flat screen TV there was a DVD player in the room and in reception there was a large selection of complementary DVDs. Also provided in reception was an "honour bar" with a small selection of drinks.

An extensive choice of dishes was available for breakfast ranging from Haggis to salmon and the quality of the food was great.

Fludha has recently reopened under new management and Jackie, our host, could not have done more to help make our stay comfortable. The high standards we experienced first time around have certainly been maintained.

This will not be our last visit to this great place.

Room Tip: Room 1 avoids having to use the stairs. Room 6 has views over the garden to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We couldnt find anywhere to stay in Kirkcudbright to watch the Tattoo as we left it to the day before (The good owner of another establishment advised us that it had just re-opened and we could at least try....THANKS for the kindness)

Anyway, this guest house was amazing, really stunning decor and furnishings. The views were amazing along with the grounds.
The welcome Steve and Jackie was warm and low key, plenty of warmth but without dumping us at the room straight away, nor being overbearing, it was just right.
Breakfast, well, it was just what we wanted....lovely.

The only downside was we couldnt stay longer as we needed to get back urgently or we would have stayed a few days longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms have something differant to offer, check the website to see each one. Any would be gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mark_and_shaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
1.1 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorlee Guest House
Anchorlee Guest House
#4 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fludha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fludha Guest House

Property: Fludha Guest House
Address: Fludha Tongland Road, Kirkcudbright DG6 4UU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Hotel Class:5 star — Fludha Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Fludha Guest House Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing