We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swelligance...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fludha Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcudbright
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fludha Guest House
Ranked #1 of 16 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Swelligance...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Very nice Bed and Breakfast which sits quite high up within its own beautifully tended gardens. The house overlooks the Dee Estuary with some great views, and is fairly close to the town centre.
From the moment we arrived we were made feel very welcome by the Manager Jackie who showed us round the public areas and to our room No. 5
The room itself it tastefully decorated, well appointed and very clean with keen attention to detail with no shortage of tea/ coffee etc or complimentary toiletries as in other places. Bed was super comfortable.
There was also a large flat screen TV in the room
There is also a honesty bar where you can buy wines / spirits/ mixers etc.
Breakfast is freshly cooked , individually to order and well cooked, no rock hard eggs, dried out bacon here!!
There was not an evening meal service being offered during our stay but this did not inconvenience us during our stay.
I must compliment them particularly on the freshly made fruit salad during breakfast that they provided which was absolutely fantastic.
In summary the best B&B I have ever stayed in which would put many a hotel to shame, a real credit to Jackie and her team for their hard work in providing both an excellent environment and a showcase to customer service.
I would not hesitate to recommend this place to others and would certainly use Fludha again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandals_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
90
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Jackie went out of her way to make us welcome. We've stayed in many B&Bs but this was by far the best. Jackie not only advised us about where to go for a meal but took the time out of her busy day to run us to the town in her car so we could buy tickets for "Maggie's Walk" and organise a meal. We followed Jackie's instructions and had a lovely walk back along the Dee.

The guest house is spotless with very good sized rooms, comfy beds and lovely soft linens. It was like home from home with the huge flat screen TV. I loved the older style 'brown' quality furniture. Far better than the mass produced furniture we usually encounter. There was a wide choice of beverages, some yummy shortbread and water beside the bone china cups and saucers. I understand there was an honesty bar downstairs. The bath was huge with a plentiful supply of hot water. Hubby said the shower was amazing.

There was a great choice of food on offer at breakfast including a lovely array of fresh soft fruits as well as tempting locally produced Scottish fayre. Again, the quality of crockery was super making breakfast extra special. Jackie came in to speak to everyone and make them feel at home.

I would strongly advise anyone looking for that 'special something' to give this 5 Star establishment a try. You will be in for a treat.

Room Tip: The views at the front are quite wonderful. However we stayed in the large suite at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eveteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

wonderful guest house in kirkcudbright, the fludha is perched on a hill overlooking the dee estuary and a 10 min walk along the riverside path takes you to the centre of the town. top quality furnishings and beautiful rooms with great views and a breakfast that was top notch,special mention for the host jackie who made us feel welcome and gave us a choice of rooms we stayed in room 6 which was lovely. would highly recommend the fludha.

Room Tip: rooms are all nice but if pushed no 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac8156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We received one of the best welcomes ever from Jackie. The guest house was so comfortable where we enjoyed an excellent standard of service. The breakfast choice was delicious and varied. The gardens and views made the location perfect for our visit to Kirkudbright, We shall return

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SmiffyKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

So good to see this excellent B & B back in business and setting the standard for comfort and service. We stayed for five nights and received a warm welcome from manager Jackie who made sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Facilities are first class with big rooms and bathrooms, spacious guest dining room and a separate lounge. An extensive breakfast menu insures no guest will leave hungry. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. 2 and 4 have very large bathrooms, but all are well above average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophieknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Excellent rooms and breakfast. We had room 2 - lovely big bathroom. The place is a short walk from town, which we knew anyway and were prepared for. It has well-tended gardens and gives views over the hills and the River Dee.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TakerOfPics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We recently stayed at Fludha for two nights, from we arrived until we left everything was excellent. Loads of space to park right outside the front door. we received a warm welcome from Jackie who not only showed us to our room - but ensured we were familiar with the location of the dining room, sitting room and honesty bar (you don't see that very often!) Our room was spotless, spacious and well appointed with beautiful views over Fludha's immaculate gardens and onwards to the River Dee. Stunning bathroom - with a huge bath and a separate shower. Tea and coffee making facilities with ample supplies - ad shortbread. The breakfast was excellent - with a huge choice from fresh fruit and yoghurt to smoked salmon and kippers.
Jackie has an extensive knowledge of the area and was able to provide lots of advice above and beyond that you'd normally expect from your host.

Room Tip: Room two offers both a shower and a bath - not every room does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkcudbright
1.1 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorlee Guest House
Anchorlee Guest House
#4 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fludha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fludha Guest House

Property: Fludha Guest House
Address: Fludha Tongland Road, Kirkcudbright DG6 4UU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Hotel Class:5 star — Fludha Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Fludha Guest House Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing